We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #183 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The best hotel of our trip!
I spent too much time reading reviews of different hotels in Lisbon and when I was about to book the Botanic Hotel, I came across this one and couldn't be happier.
We were upgraded to a suite. The room was clean, confortable and spacious, with a separate sitting area. The bed was really confotmable, the shower was great and the hotel provided nice toiletries.
The staff was very nice and helpful, always ready to answer our questions and provide suggestions.
Breakfast was really good, a la carte, and not some buffet with eggs that have been sitting there for some time. All is prepared when you order, and they had pancakes! Plus, they give you a nice basket of bread and muffins (we actually took some with us, which later served as a snacks ;)
The area is really close to Barrio Alto and Baixa, and a couple of minutes from the metro and other train stations where you can take the tram to Belem or the train to Sintra. One thing to note is that, like most of Lisbon, the hotel is up a hill. We felt safe coming back late at night, as there are always people walking around. Also, the hotel is close to a plaza that has a small craft market in the weekend.
Finally, they offer free access to the web at the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principe Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

Helpful staff provide good an polite service. Pleasant accommodation in a good location adjacent to the botanical gardens. This hotel is located in a hilly street. Quite a nice selection of breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hotel is very good located on a hill nearby all the Lisbon shops and city centre. The service is great, helped me out whenever I had any questions or needed a taxi - even at night when the internet did not work, they helped out.
Only "bad" thing about this hotel is that it is sometimes a bit noisy as all the floors have tiles - but I could survive.
Breakfast is a la carte, really great food and very fresh - lots of choices.

I would recommend this to anyone - I would go back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

As the last hotel on a 3 week southern Iberian trip, this place was a surprising charmer on every front. The different staff, from beginning to end during our short 2 day stay, were earnestly friendly and helpful.

The room was designed in a boutique fashion, comfortable, and with a stunning view of Lisbon. The glass door allowed us to go out and soak in more of the view from our own balcony. The room at night was very quiet, with no street noise at all on the back side where the view is. The only noises were (with the window open) a random barking dog and a late night wining cat, but in a city the size of Lisbon, that was nothing.

The hotel sits far up a hill, within close walking distance of the lively Bairro Alto nightllfe area, and also close to the center of daytime activity downtown. The hike up the hill from the center gets the blood going and the heart pumping. Lisbon's many hills make for good exercise.

The price was reasonable. Internet was available for free, and was high speed.

To top it all off, the staff person on duty when we left for the airport, saw us to the cab and waved goodbye as if we were old friends, even though we'd barely exchanged words. We will definitely book this place on a return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Knikarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We had an excellent 4 day stay at The Hotel Principe Real. Upon arrival the chap on reception was very welcoming and helpful, speaking very good English. He showed us to our room which was clean, very comfy and nicely decorated. The breakfast was far above average with a very good choice of breakfast food available. Add to that the location of the hotel, it all added to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mootsmanuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

A group of us stayed at this hotel to celebrate the new year.
The hotel is situtated in the Barrio Alto area of the city, very close to small restaurants and the main square.
The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english.
My room 502 was a very large suite with the bathroom having a separate bath and shower. The views from the lounge and the bedroom over the roof tops were fantastic, especially so in the evening.
The breakfast menu is extensive including hot pastries and even champagne!
I would certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We had booked to stay in a suite, but when we turned up they had over booked and had no room for us.

The hotel staff were not apologetic, but keen to blame the management as "all hotels in Lisbon did this!". They were far too keen to make sure we left the hotel and went tot the alternative hotel they had arranged (which was totally unsuitable).

Do check any alternative hotels before accepting their recommendations! - Do not stay at the Amazonia!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank MarkE106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
SANA Executive Hotel
#98 of 253 in Lisbon
523 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#142 of 253 in Lisbon
416 reviews
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#169 of 253 in Lisbon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mundial
#100 of 253 in Lisbon
3,424 reviews
Hotel Florida
#109 of 253 in Lisbon
1,136 reviews
Hotel 3K Madrid
#168 of 253 in Lisbon
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#120 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing