We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Principe Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #190 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“very good small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

a little old and need restoration but service and location keep it preferable.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlparslanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    83
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
44
73
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Mancheser england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed at the Principal for 3 nights, arriving on Saturday morning. As all guide books say 'behind the graffiti facade.....' anyway, the hotel was brilliant, just what we wanted. Spotlessly clean and staff very courteous, polite and helpful. The breakfast was brilliant, serving champagne every morning (or Bucks Fiz) with a long list of every type of cooked or cold food as required, individually served until 12.00noon! We have really been spoiled now. The area was in the old quarters, which is what we wanted, with two ways of getting into the square at Av. Liberdade below. We found that going through the Railway Station up two lots of escalatores was the best way of getting up the hill and so worth while as that area was wonderful. The little narrow cobbbled streets at night in the Bairro Alto area were wonderful, with Fado music coming from bars and restaurants. Wine tasting was out of this world, the list goes on...... We enjoyed Lisbon so much, it was better than expected and the atmosphere was brilliant, THE PEOPLE WONDERFUL. Loved the trams. My advise is to wear comfy shoes and go back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heljim778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Throughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and despite the positive comments we had read we were still overwhelmed at the value for money this hotel gave us.

The room was HUGE with a seperate seating area, 3 balconies, massive bathroom and plenty of storage space which overall gave a very spacious feeling. Spotlessly clean and the best, biggest and fluffiest towels ever!

Breakfast was amazing and service very swift. The individual bread baskets were filled with freshly baked (they were still warm) muffins, croissants and various breads. Our favorite accompanyment were the fresh fruit salads, pankakes and cereals with a glass of champaigne to wash it down with (seriously!).

Staff were very friendly and upojn arrival we were given a personal map with all the highlights pointed out to us and how was best to get to them. The hotel is up a hill but it's a very picturesque walk past a small park and through winding streets.

Value for money wise, I do not believe that this can be beaten. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Stayed there for a week and except for a bed that was a bit too hard - we really enjoyed it.

Especially the girl managing the front desk was fantastic, giving advice and tips and sorting everything out before we even noticed they needed to be sorted. So great to se people excelling in what they do. The night portier was a bit silent, but not unfriendly.

The brakfast is great, table service and champagne and the best eggs I've had since Raffles.

Situated in between Bairro Alto and Restauradores, almost everything is within walking distance and if you need to move farther afield taxis are cheap in Lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaaregarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

The best hotel of our trip!
I spent too much time reading reviews of different hotels in Lisbon and when I was about to book the Botanic Hotel, I came across this one and couldn't be happier.
We were upgraded to a suite. The room was clean, confortable and spacious, with a separate sitting area. The bed was really confotmable, the shower was great and the hotel provided nice toiletries.
The staff was very nice and helpful, always ready to answer our questions and provide suggestions.
Breakfast was really good, a la carte, and not some buffet with eggs that have been sitting there for some time. All is prepared when you order, and they had pancakes! Plus, they give you a nice basket of bread and muffins (we actually took some with us, which later served as a snacks ;)
The area is really close to Barrio Alto and Baixa, and a couple of minutes from the metro and other train stations where you can take the tram to Belem or the train to Sintra. One thing to note is that, like most of Lisbon, the hotel is up a hill. We felt safe coming back late at night, as there are always people walking around. Also, the hotel is close to a plaza that has a small craft market in the weekend.
Finally, they offer free access to the web at the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Helpful staff provide good an polite service. Pleasant accommodation in a good location adjacent to the botanical gardens. This hotel is located in a hilly street. Quite a nice selection of breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hotel is very good located on a hill nearby all the Lisbon shops and city centre. The service is great, helped me out whenever I had any questions or needed a taxi - even at night when the internet did not work, they helped out.
Only "bad" thing about this hotel is that it is sometimes a bit noisy as all the floors have tiles - but I could survive.
Breakfast is a la carte, really great food and very fresh - lots of choices.

I would recommend this to anyone - I would go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Hotel Florida
#101 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Hotel Acores Lisboa
#68 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botanico Hotel
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Hotel Alegria
#133 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Arsenal Suites
Lisbon Arsenal Suites
#165 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Property: Hotel Principe Real
Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#121 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing