We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #185 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were informed that there had been a problem with their reservation department and that they had no room for us. They appeared to have been aware of this for some time but had not contacted us to let me know. I had even contacted them to reserve parking after the booking and they confirmed the parking! They offered an alternative hotel which was far away on the outskirts of Lisbon and not at all suitable. Other than that, they offered no help and very little apology. Luckily, in the end we made our own arrangements to stay down the road at the Lisboa Plaza, which was great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2007

I was very pleased with the value and friendliness at Principe Real. It's a great location for sightseeing Lisbon - just a few minutes from the middle of both Baxia and Barrio Alto. Close to luxury hotels like the Sofitel and handy for the metro. Granted, people who can't handle a few hundred yards up a steep incline shoudl think twice - though a taxi is an option.

Quiet side street - some of the neighboring buildings a bit run down but all very safe. Quiet fellow residents in this fairly small prvate hotel. They gave me a suite, very roomy, clean, simply furnished, though I had only booked a single room. Breakfast was great - English cooked as well as cold cuts and continental fare.

Most of all, since I was traveling alone to fit in some sightseeing en route to a bsiness meeting, I appreciated the friendliness of all the staff. They were great with recommendations and directions, clearly keen to be customer-friendly. Yet more personal than the professionally customer-friendly Ritz Carlton where I stayed next.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmaxwellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

A lovely experience. The views from 501 on the top floor afford stunning views over the city. The balcony catches the afternoon sun. The suite of rooms is immaculately clean, the staff friendly and courteous. Breakfast is delightful and includes fresh rolls and cooked as well as cold food served at the table. If you are elderly you may find the climb up the hill tiring so take a taxi, which is cheap. Otherwise you are a 5 minute walk from the centre of the city. Some may find the mattress a bit firm but it suited us. Altogether a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

The Principe Real has nice rooms with a modern design. The staff is very friendly and helpful, in particular the lady that was on duty at the reception when we arrived (the fourth star is due to her). The room was reasonably clean and in good shape. Numerous small restaurants and cafes are in short walking distance from the Principe Real. The Jardim Botanico (botanical garden) is just around the corner, although the gate is sometimes closed and you have to walk to the main entrance further away from the hotel. They have a PC with free internet access in the lobby, but no internet access in the guest rooms.

Cons: No breakfast buffet; the breakfast is a la carte. We found the selection rather poor compared to the other hotels in Portugal we stayed in, and some of the items (sausage, fruit salad) were not fresh. On some mornings the waiter was very busy and therefore it took some time to get served. The hotel is located approximately in the middle between the Avenida da Liberdade and the Bairro Alto, so both the climb up from the Avenida to the hotel or from the hotel up to the Bairro Alto are pretty steep and strenuous if you are not in good shape. So whereever you go, you can't avoid climbing up a hill. Think about going by public transport? Think again and prepare for a climb!

Our room was pretty small and, facing the street, we had to keep the windows closed all the time to avoid the street noise. Our bed was very small for two people. When we asked for a room with a larger bed (which they hadn't because they were booked up) the staff was very helpful and arranged for a second bed to be placed in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Billetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

Recently stayed here and I was very happy with the service and accomodations. We checked in on a Friday and they had upgraded us from a double room to a top floor suite - no explanation why and of course we did not ask, but the views of the city and the castle were wonderful. Rooms were very modern and clean, a/c worked great (it was in the 90s in Lisbon that weekend), maid service was also excellent, as was front desk assistance. Daily breakfast was delicious, with a wide range of choices.

Also a great location, as it was just a short (but steep) walk up the hill to the nightlife of Bairro Alto. If you don't want to (or can't) walk hills, this might not be the hotel for you, but for my money I was very pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cryfireSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Totally renovated from the previous hotel with its historic aura and fine antique furnishings and atmosphere, which I treasured on earlier visits to Lisbon, the newly reopened and modernized Hotel Principe Real is still a gem. The rooms are bright and very well kept up, furniture attractive, bathroom large and sparkling clean with tub, shower and bidet, and, in our case, a sitting room with fridge and large tv, a place delightful to stay in when not busy in town. For breakfast, there was a copious menu with delicious eggs and bacon, breads and rolls, cheese and cold cuts, etc., etc., with bottles of water and a bottle of good vin mousseux available for those requiring a special eye opener. Service was ***** quality from the personable manager, Sr. Malveiro, and the entire staff. Except for an occasional chambermaid, just about everyone spoke and understood excellent English. During the period we stayed there, some 10 days between March 15 and 31, our daily rate was 105 Euros, including that nice breakfast and sparkling eye-opener. An example of the helpful attitutude prevailing there: finding upon arrival that I had left my 12+ prescription drugs at home, I shared my problem with the hotel manager. He and the young woman who was the receptionist worked for a good hour to locate a doctor to come to the hotel to interview me and issue new prescriptions. Then (by now it was 7 pm) they persuaded a nearby pharmacy to stay open especially to dispense all these medications, so that I never missed a beat in taking these. Whatever question was posed to them regarding problems, travel advice or anything else, there was a speedy, friendly, helpful response. My wife and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Lisbon!

PS: I am 77 years old but I managed the streets and staircases of Old Lisbon without trouble, just adjusting my speed. Public transportation -- buses and streetcars are available within five to eight minutes walk up the street and the Metro/Underground/Subway, whatever one calls it, is a five to eight minute walk down the street to the broad boulevard, where there are also buses. FYI, the Port Wine Institute, offering over 300 varieties for consumption in a pleasant surrounding , is a short bus ride or perhaps a 15 minute walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank melvinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2006

The Principe Real now belongs to the Belver chain. It has been updated to a **** boutique hotel. The rooms are typical, modern yet with nice antique furniture. All conveniences, such as bathrobes, supplied, although sometimes (bathroom) the *** still shine through. Plasma TV, good internet connection (charge); excellent air condition. Very friendly staff. No breakfast buffet, but a fee a la carte order service - that has its advantages. The hotel is in one of the hilly typical neighborhoods close to the center, and a great spot for the better sort of tourists, but while it is only minutes from the Liberdade ave., it is NOT for those with problems with walink - you have to walk up the steep hills; there is no public transport, and one doesn't always want to take a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Mundial
#99 of 255 in Lisbon
3,460 reviews
SANA Executive Hotel
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#145 of 255 in Lisbon
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
315 reviews
Hotel Florida
#114 of 255 in Lisbon
1,145 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#166 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#122 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing