We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historie”
Review of Carmo Convent

Carmo Convent
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.27*
and up
Family Tour: Enchanted Lisbon
Ranked #29 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historie”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Being here gives you a great look at the history of Lisboa, the ruins are from the former Igreja that was destroyed by an earthquake.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    614
    133
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very cool, should be a must-see”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth the visit and the 3 euros. Didn't really have high expectations for this, knowing that it was ruins from the 1755 earthquake; it was so neat to see. I like that they've turned it into a museum as well and that you can see the model of what it looked like when completed and you can figure out where you are in the building. It's quite remarkable to see the parts still standing.

Helpful?
Thank wenztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“cutest museum in Lisbon”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Archaeological museum in ruined monastery church is definitely worth of visiting. Although more quality pieces you will find in Museu Nacional de Arqueologia in Belem. But even if you don't like history, you should visit it. How many times you have opportunity to stand in skeleton church, without roof? Entrance fee is 3.5 euros, and 2.5 euros for students. There is a small museum shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ines_de_Castro24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very unusual experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's was marked everywhere as must attraction. With little suspect ( only building skeleton there ) we came inside.
Usually all the buildings renovated but this one just remain as it was 250 years ago after the huge earthquake . Such unusual experience.
The area around is very nice too. With a small park in-front. Near by the oldest shoe shop and Military school.
Very recommended.
Small tip: At the entrance you can buy tickets to other attraction in Lisbon to skip the line.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kipi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It was just one of my usual lack of luck. We went up on the Santa Justa Lift which connects the Baixa to the Rua do Carmo, and approached the ruins of Igreja do Carmo through the bridge from the lift. Noticing the big crane I became suspicious and with good reason. The Church was closed and fenced, because of renovation and/or archaeological research. Despite all of the efforts of the authorities I still enjoyed the remaining view of the skeleton of Carmo Convent, and found something to satisfy my archaeological appetite as well. From the bridge I noticed that two archaeologists are unearthing two other kind of skeletons next to the wall of the church.
Unfortunately because the lack of my Portuguese language knowledge, I never will be able to find out, who was these two people buried next to the church wall.
For those who likes shiver, I attach a photo of this excavation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmo Convent also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Carmo Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing