We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost near excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cooltour Lisbon

Cooltour Lisbon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.69*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Knights Templar Historical Tour from Lisbon
Ranked #28 of 465 Tours in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cooltour Lisbon is a young and dynamic tour company with one main purpose: to show the real Portugal in a genuine and passionate way. Our core business is unique 9 seat van tours but we also organize cultural tours, outdoor activities and all kind of teambuilding events for companies. Our approach to culture is always complemented with recreational and funny relaxed moments, with a very genuine and innovating touch. We have a team of extraordinary tour guides, with constant concern for client welfare and their experience during the tour. We speak eight languages (Portuguese, English, Spanish, French, Romanian, German, Italian and Flemish) as we don't want to miss anything of what we have to tell. We pick our clients up at the hotel free of charge and our vans are modern with maximum comfort and safety. Inside the minivans we offer free WIFI. We want to give the best treatment possible to our customers, either you're travelling in family or a business traveler seeking an exclusive high-quality tour in sailboat and light aircraft. We invite everyone to know and discover everything Portugal has to offer. We guarantee the unraveling of all the imaginary around the Portuguese Heritage, from Palaces and Castles to unique Gastronomy and Hospitality,Rivers, Valleys and Beaches, an endless number of natural parks and mountains, all with the same denominator: the beauty and charm that surrounds Portugal. Portugal and more specifically Lisbon, is a mandatory European destination, that won the prize for Europe's Leading City Break Destination in 2009 and 2010. In recent years Lisbon hits several top-10 ranking for the most beautiful cities and unmissable destinations worldwide.So what are you waiting for? Come and ride with us, definitely the Coolest tours in Portugal!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost near excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was our first time in Lisboa and we were excited for our wine tour with this company. Unfortunately, the wine tour was cancelled last minute halfway our trip, just after lunch time. However, they made it up by showing us to two wine stores in Evora where we had our wine tastings. Must say, it's not what we are expecting, but the tour guide Edgar and the scenic sites we were showed pretty much covered the slight mishap of our adventure.

We arrived in Porto last night and tried booking the Douro wine tour thru Edgar's recommendation. Sadly, the company couldn't accommodate our req Saturday trip due to their staff training. We were offered Sunday, but we flight back to NYC that day. The guy we spoke to last night was nice and apologetic, even suggested to use other company as he felt bad. We understood their situation, at least he's being honest.

Nevertheless, this is a very good company and we hope on our next visit to Porto or Lisboa again, they can accommodate us with our wine tour request, so we can give them our far excellence review!

A highly recommendable tour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feriguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooltour_lx, Public Relations Manager at Cooltour Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for your warm words. We would like to make a small observation. We don't recall to cancel a wine tour. We remember to decline a Into the Wine Cooltour because we didn't availability so we suggested our Évora Tour that is partially a wine tour with tastings. Anyway we're sorry that you didn't had your initial desire but we always try to find the best way to compensate our clients. Évora is just gorgeous and the scenic sites are great.
Regarding the situation with Cooltour Oporto, it was just an unfortunate timing. We promise you to give a discount for all of your trouble and specially we look forward to show and give you great moments in our company. See you soon!

Renato Pais - Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    66
    10
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, null, Serbia
1 review
“Unforgettable day in Sintra...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Me and my brother went with Cooltour to Sintra, Cabo da Roca and Cascais. Sintra is magical little town with gorgeous palaces, but Cabo da Roca took our breath away. The whole experience was beautiful but our guide Edgar made our day unforgettable. He was friendly and funny but also well knowledged, and we learned a lot. If you want to see the heart of the Portugal, find Cooltour, ask for Edgar and enjoy in one of the most beautiful day in your life.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooltour_lx, Public Relations Manager at Cooltour Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi!

Thank you so much for choosing our services. We are absolutely thrilled to see that you had a great day in our company. Sintra is indeed a gem, small town but with so much to offer, a beautiful place, romantic and mysterious. We would love to have you on board real soon, so we will be waiting for your return and to show you more of our country!

Renato Pais - Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Had a great time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My parents and I went on 3 tours: Fatima (guided by Michaela), Evora and Arrabida (both guided by Leonara). Personally, I enjoyed the Arrabida tour the most despite the dull grey weather we experienced that day, as I am more of a natural landscape sort of traveller. The place with the 3 pools was really interesting/exciting! I also enjoyed Nazare and Obidus very much, wish we had more time to soak in the scenes at those places. The guides were warm, considerate, friendly and informative; they completed the already beautiful tours with history, stories and updates on current events. Would be great if there were more tours that focused on natural landscape or even camping! Would definitely recommend CoolTours to my friends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ngeowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooltour_lx, Public Relations Manager at Cooltour Lisbon, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you on board with us! Unfortunately you went to Arrábida in an ugly day, it's just wonderful to see that natural and green area in a clear day. We recommend you next time you visit us to do the Douro Valley tour with Cooltour Oporto, we are also established in the North of Portugal and there's amazing landscapes and beautiful sceneries. See you next time!

Renato Pais - Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly informative guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I travelled on the Knights Templar day trip. The guide, Madelena was very good. She was friendly and had really good knowledge and obviously enjoyed sharing Portugal with us.

There was only 5 in the group, which was great! Madalena was able to adjust the tour a little to reflect the interests of the group.

The only downside was that one of the castles was closed for repair so we couldn't go inside - but obviously this is not the fault of the tour company!

I would thoroughly recommend this tour company, and particularly Madalena as a guide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooltour_lx, Public Relations Manager at Cooltour Lisbon, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for choosing our services! We are glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed our Templars Tour. We are sorry you didn't have the opportunity to see Almourol Castle from inside which is an iconic monument. See you soon for more Cooltours!

Renato Pais - Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“certificate of excellence?? what a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

They MAY be a great tour company ONLY if they dont cancel on you LAST minute!

Booked through viator and was supposed to take my knights templar tour today, nov 15 2013.
Yesterday, got an email from miguel condeco, their rep. stating my tour has been cancelled due to lack of participants.

No offer of alternative tours. Just stated that i should call viator for a refund. This is highly unprofessional to not offer any alternatives even when i called them, moreso to cancel my tour 1 day PRIOR.

I also took insidelisbon tours and even though i was the only participant on 1 trip, they still did it as they have a contract with viator. Not my fault if there are no other participants. That's business!

What a joke this company is!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank supatight080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooltour_lx, Public Relations Manager at Cooltour Lisbon, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We were waiting for Tripadvisor to reconsider maintaining this 'review' but since we've been ignored we don't have other solution than to respond to this 'customer'. Apparently this gentleman acted accordingly to TA guidelines which we found difficult to comprehend.

First, you started on a bad note. In the title you refer that our Certificate of Excellence is a «joke». Is this an ‘appropriate content’, is this kind of language acceptable? Does this follow the guidelines and I quote: “general discussion that does not detail a substantial experience will not be posted”? Moreover and indirectly we feel it’s a despise towards TRIPADVISOR award that we earned with merit this year. By the way you refer another company in your 'review' and we would like to know if that’s acceptable too. For us it’s just disrespectful and despicable behavior. And also makes us wonder if there's not a serious lack of fair play in all of this.

In OUR guidelines we clearly state that we only start our tours with a MINIMUM of 2 persons. We offer alternatives and we also make sure the person is entitled to get a refund, in this case from Viator. But Viator is a free-sale operator. So… they sell and the client has to contact us 48h prior to the tour (although we accept last minute bookings for the sake of good reason) to inform us where they’re staying at, schedule pick-up, check availability, etc., which you didn’t. We didn’t have availability for other tours so we couldn’t offer other alternatives unfortunately. Also in Viator Booking Voucher it is strongly advised to READ the conditions of the supplier, where you could find our general conditions.

This situation is not new for us. Fortunately the vast majority of our possible clients understand this situation and never react this way.

Do you really think we have a twisted pleasure in turning down customers? We love what we do and do it proudly. To show our country and take our clients to unforgettable trips is what keeps us going passionately every day. But in the end of the day it is a business. We can’t take only one person in our van tours because it wouldn’t be rentable. I think you are reasonable enough to understand this. Or not.

In short, if a review is just an opinion then everything is allowed provided the customer has an ‘interaction’ (we exchanged an e-mail...) with a company. But we think a review is much more than that. It’s about saying relevant and important information for future customers. It’s not about pouring one’s frustration and taint a company’s reputation just because they want to.

Renato Pais - Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooltour Lisbon also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cooltour Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing