We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD STAY, GREAT LOCATION.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Ranked #60 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD STAY, GREAT LOCATION.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four days during the beginning of June. The hotel was clean, staff are polite and rooms are modern.Our room was a good size, with a mini fridge, large bathroom, two single beds, balcony and dressing table - our room also got cleaned and beds made each day. We also had our breakfast included in the price and there was fruit, pastries, meats, cereals and the coffee machine is excellent. This hotel is located a few steps away from the metro station and is only a few stops away from the central area. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    706
    109
    15
    8
See reviews for
338
591
99
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here as a single traveler for 10 nights on my first visit to Portugal and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was very modern and convenient. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is a great grocery store a short distance away and a convenient red line metro station directly in front of the hotel. Breakfast was generous and tasty. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A clean and very reasonably priced hotel. Although not central to town, the MRT station is right across the street with a ten minute journey to the city and less than 30 minutes to the airport. Breakfast is adequate although with limited choice. Wifi was free. Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful in directing me to all visitor attractions. If I return to the beautiful city of Lisbon I would book this hotel again for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Principe Lisboa on two different occasions in July, 2014. I was quite satisfied with the hotel, with three minor caveats, two of which are outside the control of the hotel.

The room was a good size, with a large TV and a small desk. The bathroom was excellent – not cramped at all with a shower – good water pressure and no problem with hot water. Breakfast was good. In addition to the usual cheese and meat slices and pastries (including excellent pasteis de nata if you get there early enough) they had a very good and varied fruit bowl. The people who worked in the breakfast room kept the food topped up, and bussed the tables immediately. Never had a problem getting a table or finding food trays empty. There was a small refrigerator in both rooms I had, which did not double as a mini-bar. I prefer it that way.

Both rooms I was in had a balcony with a table and two comfortable chairs. There's no view to speak of but it's great to sit outside in the relative cool of the evening and have a glass of wine, and a snack on the balcony. You can buy snacks at El Cortes Ingles around the corner and keep them in the fridge. I'm not sure all rooms have balconies, so ask.

There is a tiny bar on the ground floor that I never really saw anybody use.

The free wi-fi worked great.

The front desk staff were polite and helpful, and fully fluent in English.

Caveat 1: The room safe is the old fashioned kind where you need to get the lock and key from the front desk (no charge, but a 20 Euro deposit). I hate these safes. The last thing I want is to be responsible for not losing the safe key when I am out.

Caveat 2: There is no decent place to eat near the hotel. There are a couple of early-closing not-very-impressive cafes but other than that, not much.

Caveat 3: On paper the location looks excellent, and for the most part it is. It is at the end of the red metro line which means you can get to and from the airport and the Oriente train station without a metro transfer, and it is also on the blue line which gets you right downtown, and to the Rossio and St. Apolonia train stations, in a couple of stops. The picture on the website suggests that the metro entrance is right across the street, which it is. However that entrance is to the red line, and there are no lifts or elevators up the considerable distance to the street. The elevators and lifts are at the very other end of the station, on the blue line/El Cortes Ingles side. The sidewalks in all of Lisbon are uneven, and occasionally broken, cobblestone. In short, they are rubbish to walk on (very attractive though). Also there is almost no such thing as level ground in Lisbon outside the downtown tourist areas. So the above ground walk from the blue line/El Cortes Ingles side is not easy for people with walking difficulties (me). For the fully ambulatory it should be no problem.

Overall, good hotel, good value, location fine if you're not mobility impaired. I probably wouldn't stay there again because of my mobility issues, but if the city ever put escalators on the red line side, I'd stay there again, no problem. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FormerlyBCBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great facilities (comfortable, modern room with a lovely little surprise balcony off of it and solid wifi) and very helpful staff. Breakfast was also decent. However, we chose to change hotels due to location. True, it is easily accessible to city center via metro, but if you more enjoy walking a city, this may not be the place for you. It's a good 20+ min walk to Baixa, Barrio Alto, and Chiado where we found ourselves spending time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eaa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on our short break in lisbon. What a lovely place.. Big rooms with lovely decor.
I was pleasantly surprised with the rooms considering we got the room at considerably low price - great deal!
The location could not have been better, it's bang outside the metro station. It takes about 7-10 minutes to the city centre. There is a direct bus to Belem. Arriving from the airport is also very easy.
The front desk is very helpful, friendly and speaks good English. They helped us happily on how to commute, which bus to take, where to eat etc.
The breakfast has a good variety too..
I would definitely recommend this place and would return back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RemyaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for a 5 day visit.

The respect ion staff were prompt and responsive to our requests. They were helpful for finding what was on in the city.

The room was comfortable and convenient. Good size, bath, shower and bidet refurbished not long ago judging by the quality and standard of the fittings.

Breakfast exceptional, lots of fresh fruit readily available and good choice of breads. Gluten free catered for and no limit to the amounts.

The bar was inexpensive and produced simple meals at good price.

Good location opposite metro line which runs directly to the airport (25 mins) and five minute walk to park, Gulbenkian museum ( great for food). And El Corte Inglais department store.

Great little hotel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#65 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miraparque
Hotel Miraparque
#79 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Fenix Garden
HF Fenix Garden
#61 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#59 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Lisboa

Property: Hotel Principe Lisboa
Address: Av. Duque de Avila, 201 | City Center, Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#43 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Lisboa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Principe Lisboa provides contemporary rooms with a friendly and multilingual staff. The hotel is situated right in front of Sao Sebastiao metro station, just 4 stops away from the historical centre (blue line), and direct line to the Airport (red line), giving easy and fast access to all corners of the city. The elegant and modern guestrooms of the hotel have been refurbished in 2013 and feature LED TVs with Satellite reception, minibar, a functional and silent air-conditioning. The private bathrooms come with shower, complimentary bathroom amenities and a hairdryer. Hi speed Wi-Fi internet is available for free in the entire hotel (rooms and public areas). Nearby, a few steps from the hotel, you may find the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation's Park and Museum, the El Corte Ingles department store, Park Edward VII, the Marques de Pombal Square and the Saldanha Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Lisboa Hotel
Principe Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing