We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel to recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #132 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hotel to recommend!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

At walking distance from the old city center and as good as next to Metro station Avenida this hotel is perfect for visiting Lissabon. Although you should not give it at the outside the rooms are very nice and specious. Large and very clean bathroom although it could use a bit of a facelift (used watertaps, loose toiletseat) otherwise spotless and very clean.
All personel (reception, breakfast/restaurant and poolside bar) were very helpfull and extremly friendly.
Breakfast is ok however during our 4 days stay it was every morning the same, a little change/day would be welcome (eg. scrambled eggs vs boiled eggs, a different kind of cheese, ...)
The big airco units on the parking in front of the hotel can be a bit noisy.

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Mr. "BrunoDW",

Thank you for sharing your recente stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Jardim.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff very helpfull.
Rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire hotel team.

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    607
    219
    59
    17
See reviews for
242
406
45
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel to very high standards. May not look great from the outside, but is completely new in the inside, tastefully decorated. Large room with view and private terrace. Great breakfast with lots of variety including pastels! Being just off the avenida and having a pool to jump into half day through was great!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank blueale2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent stay experience at Tivoli Hotel.

We are all very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Lisbon and that our team met your expectations.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Tivoli!

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Tivoli Jardim for 4 nights and we loved the place. The room was spotless and well layed out. Lighting was ok, the shower in the bathroom took a bit of used too.

The view from the balcony was not very exciting. So I did not bother sitting out as the chairs were un-comfortable.
The noise from air conditioners next door was a nuisance as they were on late into the night.

Travel from the airport took about 15mins and cost about 18euro. It has a taxi rank outside.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We only had breakfast one morning in the hotel and it was VERY EXPENSIVE and you are not told this beforehand. Breakfast was not that great and was really a waste of money.

So I would advise eating out for breakfast, but the cafes are about 10mins walk into the old town.

The hotel is located about a 10min walk from the old town, but the hop-on / off bus stops quite close to the hotel (I think it was stop 4). The swimming pool is not massive and all the sun beds were taken, but sitting under the trees reading was nice. I don't know is it is any good for kids as I don't have any.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the air conditioners / garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2203312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear "2203312 "

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Jardim.

We are sorry that the brekafast price did not meet your expectations.
I can, however, assure you that we give special attention to our breakfast service, so as to provide a range of quality products which are fitting for a hotel of our status.
For this reason, I will be sharing your comments with the team responsible so as ensure ongoing improvement.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Tivoli Jardim

Kind Regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

In june I spent a couple of days in the hotel as we were there for a conference. The rooms are clean, bed ok, all sockets operate and wireless network in all rooms. They are moderately spacious, but essentially have all mod'com's as one would expect. The lighting is a bit limited but that's the case with most hotelrooms. It's just down the road of the old center Baixa, so a walk downtown is a definite yes. There's a very trendy Sushi restaurant downstairs, but a wee bit pricey, judging from all the Ferrari' and Porsche's I saw in the parking lot at diner time. I'd recommend it to stay a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koenraad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear "Koenraad V"

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Jardim.

We are glad that we meet your expectations and that you found the hotel location very conveniente.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Hotel Tivoli Jardim !

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prüm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed with our 3 kids during the summerholidays in the Hotel Jardim. It takes you around 15 minutes by taxi, which was only 15 Euros, from the airport.
Good location; walking distance to the main attractions. We stayed for 3 nights. We went for some sightseeing in the morning and in the afternoon we enjoyed the very nice pool. perfect combination for visiting a city with kids.
Rooms are small but absolutly ok. only one thing which botherd me was the airconditioning from the parking lot just across the hotel. It was a bit loud at night.
Breakfast was very good.
We would probably stay here again; especially when travelling with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear "Mary Q",

Thank you very much for sharing your recent stay experience at Tivoli Hotel.

We are all very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Lisbon and that our team met your expectations.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Tivoli!

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent location - just off the Avenida de Liberdade. Wonderfully helpful front desk staff. Good to have access to the swimming pool at the main Tivoli. But now the rest...

* Room allocation is utterly random.. They don't allocate rooms until you arrive which meant that (desire early booking) our group of four were all on different floors and the most important person in our party ended up with a gloomy first floor room that faced on to a blank wall - she chose to upgrade. On a previous visit, arriving at 10.00 pm, I was given a room by mistake that hadn't been cleaned and made up.

Housekeeping is poorly supervised.. I came back twice to find my room door wide open - as well as those of other rooms in the corridor - and the chambermaid working elsewhere. Seems she left them open so she could hoover them all together!.

Rooms not as attractive as they look. They represent a triumph of design over comfort - which means nowhere to put your toilet bag or even shower gel and sitting on the loo with your knees under your chin because the toilet is so close to the shower. Operarting the shower or even the washbasin tap severely tests your powers of reasoning, as does making a cup of tea usng the Nespresso machine, We were told that we would have to pay 10 euros a day for wifi in the rooms (a bit of a disgrace in a hotel of this rank) unless we signed up to the travel club of which the hotel forms part. Finally, though the hotel is set back from the busy Avenida, be warned that the front of the hotel is quite noisy in hot wreather because of the airconditioning units in neighbourng offices and a generator beside it. Not much relaxing on that balcony you paid extra for.

All in all, not really the comfort one expects from the price and the hotel's ranking.

Room Tip: Check in early to avoid random room allocation. Avoid rooms on the first floor back which face a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear "jc1000",

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Jardim with us.I would like to express my sincere apologies for not being able to reply to you in a timely manner . Our aim and goal is to exceed our guests expectations and surely your report does not reflect that goal. I will personally speak with the head of departments involved and make sure that these inconsistencies do not happen again in the future. I hope you will give us an opportunity to reconquer your confidence in our services. We reiterate our deepest apologies for this oversight and we sincerely hope to have the honor to welcome you back to the Tivoli Jardim Hotel. Best Regards, Rui de Sousa General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

third stay in this hotel, always for business trips. location is great in the center of business disctric. room has always been very quiet. bar is great. this is for the good side.
disappointing is that they will charge you €15 for 24-hours wifi use... which you have now for free in any bed & breakfast! breakfast was very simple and with "cheap" and basic products. service somewhat indifferent. at the bottom line, not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRA_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, General Manager at AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear " SRA 1965"

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Lisboa .

I am glad to hear that you enjoy staying at Tivoli Lisboa during your business visits. Please be awere that the internet servisse is free of charge if you adhere to our Recognition Programe named Global Hotel Alliance. This program will entitled you to several benefits among the alliance around the world. We will be pleased to provide you with all the information during your next visit to Lisbon.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Tivoli Lisboa.

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel

Property: AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Address: Rua Julio Cesar Machado 7-9, Lisbon 1250-135, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Lisbon’s charm from the perfect setting. Where contemporary style meets peace of mind. AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Portugal’s capital, conveniently close to shopping, attractions and more. Sip cocktails atop the city in a sky bar at the sister hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa. Wake up muscles in the morning at our state-of-the-art AVANIFIT fitness centre. Culture, romance and adventure right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Jardim Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Jardim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing