We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iran
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have been stayed for one week in this hotel in Dec.
It located on the Liberdade Str. which is the best touristic area in Lisbon. It is about 5 min walk to downtown and less than 15 min to main attractions of Lisbon.Also there is a metro station just in front of hotel.So I believe it is the best location.
We have booked superior room which have been upgraded to Deluxe room by hotel as free.It is big enough for 3 people with an extra bed for our son.Extra bed also was free.
Staff are so helpful and all fluent in English.
Breakfast is OK but not something special.You can also order an egg dish plus bacon or ... as included in the breakfast price ( 17 Euro per person and free for kids ).
We have ordered 3 time our dinner by room service which were really great in service and quick delivery.
Adlib restaurant of the hotel is also serving good quality food with great ambiance.Although it is somehow expensive specially in Lisbon which the price of restaurants are lower than other European countries.
Concierge has arranged a private tour to Sintra ( a world heritage UNESCO city ) for us with acceptable price which was really great. Sintra is about 40 km from Lisbon with very nice attractions specially Pena Castle.


Concierge

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Payam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    1,045
    229
    59
    37
See reviews for
614
1,923
240
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

After a whole week at the hotel, it's highlight is the location, right in front of a subway station and at a walking distance from many significant touristic places of interest.
My husband and I stayed at this sterling suite, last floor, with a huge terrace facing Liberdade Av., Castle of São Jorge and Eduardo VI's Park. Besides that, two bathrooms with delicate Hermès bathing products completed the scenario.
A good Continental breakfast is served at the ground floor and service is really courteous (thank you Claudia).
The hotel offers a bed service called "My Bed", which I don't recommend because it's a huge feather blanket that makes you sweat all night long.
We only had one problem at check out: a more expensive type of breakfast was charged, which was immediately repaired by the hotel staff.
Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank united90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaukkala, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Location: very good - easy navigate around town
Staff: Very good attitude and professional touch.
Room: Not very big and only one quite small window so you not get much natural light. Tv is a little bit old style and almost every second channel is blind channel. You can`t find hairdryer or wineglasses also. Housekeeping will help you quite quickly.

Room Tip: Avoid front side rooms - lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in! The rooms are clean and tidy and the bathrooms are very spacous! The hotel does great breakfast and is in a good location- within walking distance to all the sights! Have Fun!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipglossqueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Certinly there are cheaper hotels, however I recommend staying there for its great position. A A taxi from airport took only 15 min and cost 12 EUR including tip. Many of tourist attractions are within 15-20 min from this hotel and there are many excellent restaurants and shops in this area. The rooms are on the small side but we recieved excellent service. I would recommend having breakfast in this hotel it was first class. I will stay there if I visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunchaser56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel having found a good rate online. We found it well-located for accessing the neighborhoods and sights of Lisbon. The hotel is very near the Metro and an airport bus stop. The room was quite small, but very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable - pillow top mattress with good linens - which is important to us. The hotel noted our request for a quiet room and we had no street noise during the night. The hotel is an older Sofitel property and shows some signs of age, but overall is comfortable. The front desk, bar, and restaurant service was good. We did not have the breakfast. There are many pastelaria's within walking distance. We did, however, eat dinner in the restaurant on the first night when we were too tired to go out. Some items were very good (sea bass, breads) while others were just okay (pork). Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Compared with other hotels, room rate at this hotel is relatively higher, however I highly recommended to stay there considering time savings. Though I took a taxi from airport, it took only 15 min and cost 12 EUR including tip. Many of tourist attractions can be arrived within 15-20 min from this hotel, and there are many restraints and shops in this area. The room is so good with good service. I would like to recomend having breakfast in this hotel. I will stay there when I visit Lisbon again.

Room Tip: Location and Good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#49 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing