We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very bad policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very bad policy”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is a quite good hotel, in central location with great front desk employees. The hotel has a policy that a guest can check in on the official check in time of 2.00pm. Traveling on a night flight from the US, I arrived at the hotel at 9.00 am and upon confirmation that a room is avilable I requested to check in early. I was told that I will have to pay additional fee of 60 Euros. Upon doing the reservation, I had requested an early check in time and never been informed that there is an additional fee for that privilege. Petty nickel and dime policy, they took my sixty euros but they lost me as a future guest. During 2012 I will visit Lisbon on 6 additional occasions, but will never stay at this hotel. I have never had this experience at any hotel but here at the Sofitel Hotel .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eldad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,464
    1,117
    248
    67
    41
See reviews for
672
2,060
256
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Beatiful bedroom, fantastic the king-size bed and near the city center.
But the best is the breakfast, fantastic!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was there last weekend for a long weekend with my boyfriend. (It was to celebrate his birthday.) We both travel a lot and have stayed in many good hotels and we were very happy (even slightly surprised) that the service was impeccable and they did bend over backwards to make it a special trip for us. Thanks to all the hotel staff for doing such a good job:

- Front of house were extremely friendly and helpful
- Rooms were clean and nice touch of turndown service with Baci chocolate at night
- We were given a beautiful room with a balcony which was a sun trap - lovely
- The location is great for exploring Lisbon and for getting food
- My boyfriend had some sparkling wine and cake delivered to the room for his birthday!

All in all a great place to stay. A couple of tips about Lisbon and nothing to do with the hotel:
- if you take a taxi from/to the airport, it should only cost around EU15. We were 'fleeced' by the taxi driver from the airport who charged us EU25! I wasn't quick enough to notice there was a meter in the taxi
- Lisbon is huge and there are lots to see. Full of history and character. Plan your trip well. We were there for 4 days and still didn't get to see everything.
- Be careful of your belonging esp in crowded place

Enjoy if you're planning a trip soon!
-

Room Tip: If you can get it, room 820 is amazing! It has a balcony which faces the back of the hotel. Slight n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeCCTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It was good in general - but should be better. The garage is "far" and they take a long time to get the car (and they forgot to bring it once, what made us late for a visit at a wine producing site). The dinner was confusing, with much less waiters than needed. The hotel was being reformed and there were men outside the window (and nobody told us during reservation). The decoration of the room could be better. On the other hand, the room has very good mirrors, the bed is perfect, it is very clean and the staff is very nice. The service over the internet, with e-mails sent before you arrive, is outstanding. The price is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Still, not in the heart of Lisboa, coz` Lisboa, in my view, has several hearts, such as Bairro Alto and Alfama. Both are easily within reach by walking for 10-15 minutes. The staff at the hotel are uttrermost attentive and friendly. We stayed in a superior room which indeed was delicate. The breakfast is served in a elegant restaurant dislaying a unique atmosphere. There is a great variety of food, fruits and drinks. The cost is pretty high though; 19 euros pr. pers. Still, worth it. But you will be able to find cafès nearby, more reasonably price. We paid 103 euros pr night for a double superior room - then breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikissimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Location is great. 15 minutes to the sea. Metro and shops around in walking distance. Taxi always there. helpful stuff. Service great. Room very nice considering other european hotels in south. This hotel is worth it. i've been there three times and next time i am in lisbon for business trip i go to this one for sure. the only disadvantage is the traffic jam in rush hours, so the time to get out of the center doubles. parking has to be an adventure. on the other hand, you can take a walk to the sea or eat in one of plenty restaurants nearby without transportation. and one more thing, this guys know what is the service and it is nice to see things hapenning without asking for it ... and this is not always true in south european hotels even if they have 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilipZamboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights with our 10 year old daughter and my mother in law. Lovely welcome and very friendly staff. We had had some problems with our travel agents before arriving but the staff were very accommodating and we think that we were given superior rooms on the fourth floor, although it was not the hotels mistake!

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent, a very good choice each morning with a special selection for Valentines Day. I don't think we would have paid extra for the breakfast though as there were 4 of us, that would have been an expensive option. We enjoyed the Bar and found that to be really comfortable and relaxing and good value. A pre dinner bottle of wine with a selection of almonds and olives for 17Euro, a lovely start to an evening out.

I think the only downside for us was that the views from each of the rooms were disappointing, ours a side street but my mother in laws looked over a scruffy internal yard. I imagine that the rooms on lower floors would be quite dark. Coffee machines in the room were quite smart, but for tea drinkers a straightforward kettle would be preferable.

All in all though we would recommend this hotel, great central location, easy walking distance to main squares and transport around the city,and it has good bar areas with great staff.

Room Tip: Go higher up to get better views and natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
877 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,216 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing