We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location...lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“good location...lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

From the moment we stepped into the hotel (as with every Sofitel we've stayed in), front desk service shined. They were working on the exterior, but, didn't hear any noise throughout our stay. Smallish, but very nice room. Great breakfast choices with the option to have omelettes served as well. Just wish they had a better fitness and, perhaps a spa area. Other than that, good quality, and easy walk to just about anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bongomoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    1,045
    229
    59
    37
See reviews for
614
1,923
240
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

I read in other reviews that people had some doubts about this particular Sofitel. I was happy as with all other Sofitels though. They had clearly renovated my bathroom very recently and were now working on the outside of the hotel. Internet was for free with the arrangement I bought at booking.com. Somewhat annoying that you getted logged out all the time and need to re-enter your password. But better than paying € 20 per day. One downside that Sofitel Lisbon shares with many other hotels in this city: the gym is minuscule. I could keep myself busy for thirty minutes, then I had to leave because of Claustrofobia.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Is a 5 start hotel and you got all the servicies you are expecting from it. I went to lisbon by car and when I told the reception that the underground parking entrance is not so easy, they immediately called for a driver that brought the car to the parking level.
You got what you pay for, you pay a lot, but you definitevely get a lot.
In an excellent position, you can walk to the city center and appreciate all of the Lisbon's restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gian_Andrea71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked a room at Sofitel Liberdade Lisboa and the good surprises begun a week before our trip. The staff contacted us by e-mail asking for preferences (newspaper, types of rooms and views, for example) and we informed them about our wedding anniversary during our stay.
As we arrived in our room, complimentary champagne, sweets and flowers were waiting. The room had a gorgeous city view, overlooking São Jorge's castle. Rooms are not big, but well planned. Bathroom was good. Good water pressure and L'Occitane shampoos and conditioners are available. A complimentary bedside bottle of water is replaced every time the room is made and a chocolate from Bacci is available too. A Bose alarm clock with iPhone / iPod is in the desk, by the window.Staff was outstanding and the concierge is really nice and helpful, making arrangements for tours and restaurant advices / reservations. Wi-fi is complimentary, what, unfortunatly, is rare nowadays on luxury hotels. Breakfast is very good. Lots of choices including champagne, salmon, and good French cheese and breads (well, it is Sofitel, isn't it). We did not went to the restaurant next to the lobby, nor did any of other things link spa or massage. The hotel is very well located, two blocks from Restauradores square and
a short walk from Chiado, Alta and Baixa, great neighborhoods for restaurants, shopping, nightlife and walking around looking fort great buildings and views. Subway is at reach at Restauradores square and trains for Sintra are near at Rossio's square.
The only negative thing to be said about was that they do not warn during the booking process that the building's facade is under renovation, blocking some of the view with scaffolding and a protection net.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avecarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location with excellent service staff. The only negative was the free/included bottled water policy. Upon check-in I was informed specifically that bottled water was included. The bellman who brought my bags to my room also said that unlimited bottled water was included. Unfortunately, none of them explained that only the bottled water on the bedside table was included, and not the cold ones in the mini fridge, at 3 euros per bottle! Stayed for five nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeatseaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The room is very comfortable and nicely decorated. All their staff is very friendly and helpful. Melissa from Front Desk was extremely helpful on showing us where to visit, and when I had an allergic reaction to the feather bedding she offered to change out all the bedding. They are currently doing their remodeling but other than the scaffolding, there was no loud noise or disruption at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#49 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing