We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

2nd time very good hotel
Very good breakfast a little bit pricey 25 eur (high quality buffet)
Great service and staff very nice and helpful
Highly recommended
Good location
Room modern a little small (european size) but well equiped
Good quality / price

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,467
    1,120
    249
    67
    41
See reviews for
672
2,065
256
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lisbon Sofitel, and it was very enjoyable. The room was extremely well appointed (room type was Superior One King Bed) and spacious with a sitting area and the bathroom had everything you could possibly need, all of very high quality. The room was totally quiet, and the bed very comfortable. The hotel is within easy reach of all city amenities.

The hotel was not cheap, but not outrageous for a luxury city centre establishment.

However, the best aspect was the friendly helpfulness of the front desk staff, with none of the snootiness sometimes found in this sort of hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior room may have been larger than the average - perhaps best to ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuralramblerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of the Drink, East of the Swamp
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Avenida da Liberdade reminds us of Chicago's North Michigan Avenue, but with a huge grassy median with flowering shrubs and lots of shade trees. Nearby upscale stores add to the flavor; these include Emperor Armani, Gucci, Prada, Louis Vitton, and Mount Blanc.

The Sofitel staff was warm and welcoming, helping us feel at home instantly. Our suite was luxuriously appointed and the huge bathroom was stellar (once we figured out the light switches.) I requested that the safe be moved from its location on a shelf just inches above the floor (Really!) to a shelf at eye level, where we could stand up while using it.

We enjoyed the hotel's AdLib restaurant for fine dining, and shared an excellent pizza at the Tivoli Forum, which has a busy food court that gets jammed with locals at lunch time. It's a short walk across the Boulevard and a bit to the left. The tab was about 11 Euros with two diet Cokes.

I suspect that everyone on Sofitel's staff wears orthopedic back braces under their uniforms, because they spend so much time bending over backwards to make sure that guests are happy and taken care of. Mid-day, when guests arrive to check in, they are met by a door-person wearing a top hat!

Yes, we would love to return to Sofitel.

Here's a final suggestions for visitors to Lisbon, no matter where you stay. If you take a taxi to the airport from your hotel, let the hotel order it, and request an estimate from the driver before getting in. Sofitel's front desk clerk estimated a 10-Euro charge, which is appropriate and also what I counted on. But the driver who picked us up at 4:45 a.m. said, after he arrived at the airport, "Impossible! Not at this time of the morning!" With no estimate from him to rely on, we paid 23 Euros for us and two suitcases. We took our small carryon bags with us in the taxi so we would not be charged for four bags, and thanks to the driver's attitude, I did not tip him, did not round up.

Room Tip: Request a Boulevard view (front).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryAt27N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Compared with other Sofitel hotels I felt this was a little ordinary. The feeling is a little gloomy and cramped both in reception and in the room. I was travelling alone and for me the room was fine, but with two of us in a double room that size it would be a bit of a challenge and the bathroom is definitely for one only. The breakfast was ok but not great and over priced so I left a little underwhelmed with Sofitel Lisbon.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Overall: Excellent quality hotel which is centrally located, with well-trained friendly staff who acknowledge and look after platinum accor members. Great Hermes products are provided.

Suite: As a platinum accor member we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. The Suite was essentially 2 rooms combined, with one room being a lounge area. A bottle of Evian water is provided every day – a nice touch nowadays (we notice a lot of hotels don't provide water / slippers (Sofitel provides slippers too!) in this dire economic climate). Housekeeping were great, however, one day we arrived back from a long day of sightseeing and shipping and found our rooms weren't made up – apparently someone had changed our signs (on both doors mind you as we had a corner suite) from 'make up room' to 'do not disturb'…we will have to give the maids the benefit of the doubt, but this slightly peeved off the wife.



Location: Great location within walking distance to a lot of attractions (eg. number 28 tram is a short walk away and the main square and shopping streets are) (and a short tram ride away to Belem – where the Cathedral, Belem tower, monument to explorers, and famous Belem custard tart patisserie are), subway (which was easy and cheap to navigate – we even took a train to Sintra (this place is beautiful and it is a great day trip – a must do if you visit Lisbon). In addition, it is around a €10-12 cab ride from the airport which is convenient.



Check in: The suite wasn't available when we arrived – to be fair we arrived early in the morning. The bell boy kindly assisted us in bringing our bags down to the bathrooms located downstairs so we could change into something more comfortable to explore the city (shorts and t shirts – the weather in Lisbon was perfect when we were there high 20s/low 30s). The Concierge was very knowledgeable and has great English and provided us with a detailed overview of the sights and sounds in the immediate area. I do however recall confirming with a lady behind reception (who appeared to be senior – she was wearing a suit) where to catch the number 28 from – she actually confirmed the wrong details. Lesson people: Do not catch the number 28 from the stop in the square (where you catch the trams to get to Belem), catch the number 28 tram from around the corner of the square (further away from the hotel, follow the tram tracks!)– you will notice that the 28 tram doesn't stop in the square!



Gym: The only disappointing thing about this hotel was the gym – or lack of gym equipment. I should qualify this statement by noting that based on our stays in Europe it is fair to say that a lot of luxury 5 star hotels in Europe do not have well equipped gyms (compared to the US/Australia). Apples and filtered water are provided here – feast/drink away my fellow health nuts!



Dining: One morning we were lazy and decided to try the buffet breaky in the hotel (as opposed to having a local breaky)– it was excellent (and we have had man..many breakys around the world). Great selection of food, made to order eggs (order from table), fresh fruits the works. Expect to pay around €30 per person, quite standard. If you are on a budget, or have just plain run out of Euros, try the local coffee shops next to the hotel (if looking at the hotel to the left), they offer a range of pastries and freshly squeezed OJ to suit a shoe string budget. For dinner we found this local hangout (best described as a pub/restaurant) behind the hotel to the left of the park) which served local food – we recommend the special beef: 2 steaks, covered in fried sunny side eggs, ham and tomato rice and vegetables! Yum- we love local food. Also, there's this nice gelato place on the main street near H&M, Zara etc, can't remember the name of it but the gelato was excellent but exxy!



Extras: As usual we were given 2 welcoming drinks at the bar (the bar man was very nice and allowed us to use this coupon to redeem cocktails) – he deserves a special mention, very nice chap!



3 types of glasses of ports (and a large bottle of mineral water) were waiting for us in our suite (young, 10 and 20 aged port) this accompanied a tasting platter of desserts – all which was nice.



I had read about free coffee etc in the morning, but was only offered (and saw) these facilities on the last day of our stay – fyi it's opposite the front desk.



Wi-Fi was free for us, it was a bit temperamental but it did the job.

Highlights: Belem's custard tarts are amazing – Dun tats (Chinese) yum cha custard tarts are based on these, but pale in comparison. St Georges castle was great, what a view. Sintra is worth the train ride out, however, it is worth cautioning those travellers who are unfit, there are some seriously hilly walking paths here (although you can pay a nominal fee for a mini bus to take you up the hill – but what's the fun in that, you miss out on the beautiful scenary)

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high level facing the tree lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2TravelML8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

GENERAL
The facade of this hotel is nothing special, but is is located in the middle of the Avenida Liberdade, which makes it easy to walk out and be in the middle of it. 3 blocks down is an Elevador, which takes you to the Bairro Alto. Walking down the Avenida takes you to the Baixa.
Definitely a 5 star hotel, because of the correct service and small attentions. Nothing to complain about.
RECEPTION
Reception area is nice, spacious and with helpful staff. Being a big chain the obvious question is if you would like an upgrade at the cost of (in this case) € 30,- per night. We had a superior room, which was fine.
RESTAURANT
We only had breakfast, it is very good, of course with lots of sweet pastry, all kinds of fresh fruits. Croissants and some assorted bread. Eggs can be ordered. If not included in the room rate, you can easily walk out and find a decent place to have a cheaper breakfast.
ROOMS
We had a superior room (703), which was spacious, nicely decorated, a small desk with chair and 2 armchairs. Plenty of space in a closet, a safe and a free bottle of water every night. Coffee and tea making facilities. Bathroom was spacious enough, a rainshower over the bath and indeed a bit complicated to work. Why not a separate shower, but definitely not a showstopper. Beds were absolutely super, but only if you like soft beds.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 703, a superior room. Ask for a room on one of the highest floors, facing Avenida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for one night in a superior room , which was small and showing its age. It's an expensive area and the hotel is expensive for Lisbon. We chose to stay here as it is convenient for the Metro and airport and we had liked their restaurant on previous stay in Lisbon. However the restaurant had I thought lost it edge- could have been great but food not hot enough and at times too salty. The shower was the most complicated I have seen anywhere, and I have stayed in plenty of hotels. I was wakened at night by the noisy lift. It was fine for a night but would not go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one far from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
881 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,217 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing