We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but with a pricetag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel but with a pricetag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

A great hotel, perfectly located to explore this wonderful city. Friendly staff that really make an effort to make you feel at home. Nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's definitely worth the money, but the prices are a bit higher than many of the other hotels nearby. I'd say it's best choice for a business trip, also because of the great meeting facilities. If it's for a personal stay, I guess it's a matter of taste although it certainly will not be a disappointment staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreSpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mr. Andre Speek,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your business trip in our hotel and that you appreciated our location, service provided by our staff, room facilities and our breakfast. We are pleased to know that we made you feel at home and that we assured you comfort and well being throughout your stay. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    1,048
    229
    60
    38
See reviews for
617
1,930
240
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Sofitel for my birthday celebrations and the hospitality we received from the whole hotel team was amazing! The best service ever in a city centre hotel! The breakfast is cooked to perfection, the room service is very prompt. The guest relations manager and the Golden Keys concierge really went out of their way to accommodate every request we had. A big thank you to all of you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfiedwiththebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to comment about your experience.

It was a pleasure to welcome you on this very special occasion. We do our very best to make sure you enjoy a unique and memorable stay with us in our hotel and in consequence we are very glad to know that you appreciated our breakfast, room service as well as the service provided by our concierge and guest relations. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality as much as we enjoyed providing you with the quality of service you deserve. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived at this hotel only to be disappointed. After check-in we were showed to our rooms and upon opening the doors we were welcomed by a rather awful smell of mould and mildew. We immidiately made this known to the reception staff and we were then taken around the hotel and shown at least 6 other rooms. One of the rooms which we were going to see got rejected by the reception staff without us even saying anything because as soon as he opened the door, a nasty smell of sewerage came out.

Really disappointed in this hotel. I always thought of Sofitel as a 5 star brand but this hotel totally gave me a different impression of the brand. (PS I am a Platinum Accor Member)

Since we weren't able to find a room that didn't smell we asked to check-out and cancel our reservation, at which time we were informed we had to pay for 1 night of stay (we hadn't even taken our bags up to the rooms)!! This was totally unacceptable and after spending about 30 more minutes with various discussions between management and reception desk they agreed to let us go without a charge!

Afterwards we checked into Four Season Ritz up the road and got the 5 star treatment which we didn't receive at Sofitel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliteAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion in regards to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

It is with great regret that we come to know that we have not met your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced upon your check in, rest assured we have taken the appropriate measures to avoid future occurrences like these. We continuously strive to improve the services and facilities we provide to our Guests, and we would like to thank you once again for the comments you shared, as it helps us in our ongoing efforts to maximize our Guest’s contentment. Your satisfaction and well-being is our utmost priority and it is very important for us that you enjoy your time at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We look forward to have the chance to surpass your expectations at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is perfectly located and a short walk to everything. The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us find restaurants and the like. Rooms are small but have everything we need. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

We were delighted to know that you appreciated our location, facilities and service provided by our staff. It is our pleasure to provide the best service that our Guests deserve, in order to ensure your utmost comfort and satisfaction. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Been at Sofitel for two nights during a business trip to Lisbon. The staff was always very friendly and available to help with any request. The bar has a great selection of cocktails. The breakfast is outstanding! Also the rooms have a great sounds system.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank txxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to tell us about your experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the location, service provided by our staff, the room facilities with special mention to our sound system, selection of cocktails in our Intra-muros Bar and the quality of our breakfast. We take all our Guest’s opinions seriously as all comments assist us in improving our services and facilities to meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#51 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing