We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's like coming home”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Sofitel on the Avenida in Lisbon is a uniquely special place. The staff are the warmest and most welcoming people I've ever encountered in a hotel. It's hugely comfortable there and really, it's like coming home, so much so that it's hard to leave the hotel to visit Lisbon! Very highly recommended.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dairine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to read that our hotel is like a home to you and that you have truly appreciated your time with us. Your contentment and comfort is our utmost reward, as we are constantly striving to achieve maximum satisfaction during your stay whilst keeping in mind that our aim is to surpass your expectations. Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    1,087
    236
    64
    41
See reviews for
643
2,010
252
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sofitel Liberdad is located almost near the old center. Even the building is quite new renovated outside, inside the hotel has an old style flavour.

Location
- close to the center within 1 km but not in the old city center
- easy catch by buss or metro - both having station in front of hotel

Rooms
- looks nice, not so large but elegant and confortable (especialy te bed has a super mattress)
- bit strange is bath because it entrance looks like a 2 doors wordrobe and has no window and no ventilation
- also the carpets and furnitures looks bit old, but stil in good conditions

Breakfast
- one of the best I ever had in Europe (best I had only in Moevenpick Amsterdam)
- you can have even free Sparkling wine at the breakfast :)

Staff
- all time they smile and they are very friendly and try to help you (more then formal, this peoples are realy frendly and relaxed, not only obligation of they job)

What to improve:
- hotel need a renovation inside in order to make it bit modern
- rooms are not very large but this can't be changed

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emanuelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr. Emanuel,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and quality of our breakfast. Nevetheless, we have taken note of your feedback in regards to areas of improvement and will surely takem them into consideration for future developments.

We are extremely proud that you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

A fantastic value for a weary hotel much in need of an update but in a great location. A stroll on the Avenida or a short walk to the railroad or across the plaza from the Metro confirms what a good deal this hotel provides for travelers who want some by gone luxury. The bar is fun, the concierge staff good and the rooms are tidy. But the mattress was tired as was the arm chair and carpets. Nice amenities!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Sofitel Lisbon, we were treated like a favoured regular even though I had never even been to the city before and we were only there for 1 night! We were checked in smoothly, and the manager had given us what he believed to be one of the best rooms in the hotel, and indeed when we went in it was a sight to behold. A personalised letter, some delicious fruit cocktails left on the bureau, before we discovered a wonderfully spacious terrace that gave us views of Lisbons castle and the streets below. The bed was fantastic as always with the myBed concept, and clean modern furnishings and ambient lighting throughout. The bath once we got the hang of the rain shower was also refreshing after a day wandering around the quaint city streets. Room service was also excellent.

The location itself is excellent, with the hopon/off bus (all three rival companies!) 2 minutes walk away, with the main center and its shops only 5 – 10 minutes away, as well as major landmarks such as the Santa Justa elevadore. The coast was at a snails pace no more than a 20 minute enjoyable walk through pedestrianised streets.

Sofitel is a great brand which we always try and stay in, and this hotel I would say is up there with the best in Europe, if not the best encountered so far.

Thanks once again for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapoleonSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Attentive staff but the property is in desperate need of a total re do. The furniture looks like its the original inventory that started out when the hotel was built 20 years ago. My room had only one chair when there was evidently 2 to begin with, and it wasn't even near the reading light. The heating unit malfunctioned and required two visits from the technician to fix. Great location though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The moment you arrive at the sofitel Lisbon you are welcomed by a most friendly and charming staff. Being a frequent sofitel customer we were upgraded from a luxury room to junior suite. The suite was spacious and equipped with luxurious amenities and the usual comfy mybed. Housekeeping is very good, quiet and the room is very clean. Getting a glimps at the other rooms, i can't understand the criticism about the room size. Given the fact that you are in downtown densely constructed Lisbon, the size of the rooms is absolutely reasonable. Even the admittedly small gym is well equipped and in excellent condition. The hotel may be an older property in the sofitel chain, but knowing it from stays years ago, it has been renovated with much effort, a sense for details and modernity, while keeping the charm of the Building. An asset as found in all sofitels is again the staff. Omnipresent if you need help, but descreet to make you feel at home, they are more then just friendly. If there is one thing, that could be improved, then maybe the coordination of the staff at the restaurant. They are as friendly as the rest, but obviously not guided properly, as the service seemed rather hectical even with few guests presents and the tone among them seemed a bit unfriendly. All in all wie will sure come back and if you are looking for downtown luxury in Lisbon, then the sofitel should be your Choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Sofitel was a perfect base from which to explore Lisbon.

We had an excellent welcome and every staff member that we came across were polite and helpful.

The room although a little small (almost to be expected in the city centre) had everything that we could possibly need and was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast we fantastic with fresh baked breads and proper freshly squeezed juices etc.

A first rate excellent experience and would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukwouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 246 in Lisbon
980 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 246 in Lisbon
821 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#53 of 246 in Lisbon
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,651 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 246 in Lisbon
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing