We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but hotel could use a refresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #44 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice this past month - first stay of five nights and second stay of one night. Best part of the hotel is the location. Its right in the middle of the Avenida Liberdade and located just a couple of minutes walk from tons of restaurants, tapas bars and cafes. The area is very safe to walk along even at night. And the service at the hotel is fabulous particularly Jose at Reception and the porter Nelson. However, I feel like the rooms need some updating. We were in a luxury room in the first stay which we found small, also we had a balcony but the door didn't work! After repeated requests to Housekeeping, we finally gave up on using the balcony. Also, there was a lack of storage in the room, which makes it a struggle to put away stuff and only two power plug outlets. We also had a problem with the safe on the third day and someone had to come and fix it. Finally, there is a real shortage of English TV channels - we only had BBC and CNN, along with Sky Sports which I think is absurd. I understand that the Sofitel is a French chain, but they do have a lot of English-speaking guests and should cater to them as well. Just a bunch of things that could have been much better. The wifi did work well and was free which is a plus. On the second stay, we were in the same category but stayed on a lower floor without a balcony and actually thought this room was much larger and more easy to move around, with two people and lots of luggage. We loved Lisbon and will definitely be back. Just not maybe at the Sofitel. We were at the Intercontinental in Porto for 4 days and loved that hotel, this one not so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

Nonetheless, we understand that we have not met all your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the Hotel services.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 4,081 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel for 2 nights at the start of our vacation and 2 nights ending our vacation. The staff was amazing.....professional, friendly, accommodating! A special shout out to Ailton who helped us out with our extra evening in Lisbon! It is a beautiful city with so much to take in. At the Sofitel you couldn't get more central to everything the city has to offer......restaurants, shopping, historic attractions! On Easter Sunday, when we expected the city to be quiet, the streets were alive with big screen TVs set up throughout to watch their football tournament. Go Benfica!! Can't wait to come back to explore more of Portugal and will definitely come back to the Sofitel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zlady1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding to our location and service provided by our Ambassadors, special from Ailton who made your experience truly memorable.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Located on Avenida Liberdade directly in front of Avenida metro station but still walkable to all central Lisbon attractions. A couple of excellent nearby restaurants including AdLib (in Sofitel itself), Rubro and a small very local restaurant in the back streets behind the Sofitel called Quermesse. Fantastic and helpful staff at the Sofitel made the experience even better..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cgmewatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our prestigious location.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As you may and can expect from a Sofitel, it is a hotel of high quality. First of all the location is ideal. Situated on the middle/down part of the Av. da Liberdade and therefore walking distance to most of the places to visit. Also at 20m of the entrance of the Metro and nearby a bus and tram stop. Rooms are cosy and clean and personnel is very friendly. Beds are perfect and nights are very quiet.

If I have to find one, the only negative point I personally could find is that there is no nice place at the hotel to sit outside to profit from the good weather so you need always to get outside for that.

A rather pricy hotel (compared to others) but you get quality for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen Cl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and preference for Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us.
Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent Service, Clean Rooms, Very Professional, Great Location, Everything Accessible around the hotel, Good food for room service, Very good staff, Well Trained. Five star hotel which deserves the value of money paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reda_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comment in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and our room facilities with the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in April. The room was clean, if a little noisy due to street noise from below, the bed was very comfortable, the turn down service a nice touch. The staff were very pleasant, friendly, polite knowledgeable & helpful. I had a reaction to the tree pollen on arrival & the concierge spontaneously brought me a bottle of mineral water and glass to try to ease my coughing for which I was very grateful. The hotel seems to be aimed at business travellers although there were couples & families staying too. It is centrally located with plenty of bars, restaurants, cafés, patisseries and designer shops nearly. It is quick and easy to walk into the centre of Lisbon from the hotel & the nearest Metro station (Avenida) is opposite the front doors. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would return if ever visiting Lisbon in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience overall and especially pleased to know that you enjoyed 4 nights of comfort in our “MyBeds” and that the service provided by our Ambassadors met your expectations. Thank you for your comments!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend and quite enjoyed it.
The hotel is located in a quiet area along a beautiful avenue... but is only a 5-10 minute walk from the water and the more tourist areas - so overall a perfect location.
The ambiance inside the hotel is very relaxing and comfortable; the staff are all extremely friendly, helpful, and aren't too over-the-top with the whole faux-French experience that Sofitel's are known for peddling. Check in and check out were a breeze, and the service in the restaurant for breakfast was great.
I booked a 'luxury' room if I recall correctly, which had a view over the avenue and a window which opened fully - the latter is definitely a treat, particularly as the weather outside was quite nice and it seemed a shame to sit in air conditioning. The room was of course spotless and the bed very comfortable.
My 'silver' Club Accorhotels was actually recognised, with a free drink in the bar offered (standard) as well as a treat in the room from the kitchen (not standard and quite nice).
Only downside for me was the room service menu - I ate a sandwich off of it whilst sat in the bar at one point - probably the worst sandwich I've ever had at a hotel (or any restaurant). Reminded me a bit of a store bought one.
On the whole highly recommend this hotel - the staff are great, the rooms are comfortable, and the location is top notch. I will use again.

Room Tip: The 'luxury' rooms overlooking avenue are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comment in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and our room facilities with the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your
recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,853 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#59 of 255 in Lisbon
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £114 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing