We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #38 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
miami
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One night in Lisbon”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had one night in Lisbon, between flights from Italy to the US. We picked this hotel for its proximity to the city center and the reputation of the brand, plus we got a pretty good deal on hotels. com. The hotel room was lovely, beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed. Very easy walking down elegant streets, to the waters edge, past many cafes, shops and restaurants. Very safe feel to area. Delicious breakfast offered in morning for extra charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanciface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards our rooms, facilities and our prime location. It is also a pleasure to read that we met your expectations and that you really appreciated our breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,439
    1,099
    242
    66
    41
See reviews for
653
2,039
253
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MESA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We rented a car in Madrid and toured southern Spain and the Algarve region of Portugal before heading to Lisbon. After reading umpteen guide books that say NOT to drive in Lisbon, we almost parked the car at the airport and took a taxi to the Sofitel. Glad we changed our mind! The Sofitel is located on the Avenida da Liberdade, and yes, it's the main drag into the heart of Lisbon. However, before you get to the congestion, there it is - a right turn and a quick second right turn. Pull over and let the doorman do the rest - he'll take your keys and bags, park your car underneath the hotel in a secure location, and then hustle in and take your bags to the room! You don't even need to look at your car until you leave Lisbon, because the hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main plaza. Now for the hotel - exceptional, right from the friendly check-in staff all the way to a simply wonderful, comfortable room! The beds are the best I've had in Europe, and they will even sell it to you when you leave! Unfortunately, it wouldn't fit in my compact car! The king size beds are actual king size beds, too, not a couple of twins pushed together (another common occurrence in Europe). For you Americans used to wash cloths, yes, those come standard in the bathroom, along with plenty of towels. And for everyone who travels the world and misses the small luxury of an in-room coffee/tea maker (like most hotels have in the US), you'll get the instant coffee version, but it sure is good! And lastly, the rooms are QUIET, which is no easy chore seeing you are on the heavily traveled Avenida! . . . Travel hint - walk a few blocks to the train station and buy a cheap ticket to Sintra (four trains each hour - 39 minutes each way). Wonderful palace & castle with great views all the way to Lisbon. No need to spend extra with a tour from Lisbon. There are plenty of Sintra local operators ready to greet you at the station, but better yet, walk a few yards and catch the 5 Euro Bus #434 that circles the city, including the steep hill climb to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your stay in Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your time with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you enjoyed our location on the Avenida da Liberdade.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Lisbon.

Thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sofitel Lisbon is in one of the BEST locations one can think of. It is right in the heart of the city and in one of the most beautiful avenues of Europe! It is a good walk to the Chiado, Bairro Alto and other Lisbon must go spots. If walking is not for you, the tram is close enough to the hotel.
The bar is awesome...very reasonable for a 5 star hotel and the staff are so great and helpful! We checked in early Sunday and the room was not ready so we asked if we can catch the noon Mass. The front desk directed us to this church that was sooo beautiful and very close to restaurants where we stopped for one the the best seafood in Lisbon! The very popular Cervejaria Ramiro is just a cab ride away too. Don't miss this place!

I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medici58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have truly appreciated our location, our Intra-Muros bar and service offered by our Ambassadors. Your contentment and comfort is our utmost reward, as we are constantly striving to achieve maximum satisfaction during your stay whilst keeping in mind that our aim is to surpass your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night at this very lovely hotel on way to cascias ,on arrival doorman greeted warmly reception very friendly and efficient , room overlooked avenue ,bathroom very chic all toiletries and a n abundance of towels were shown mini bar and told we could also put our own items in if wished ! Lisbon was a great stop over and after team hopping and walking decided to eat dinner at hotel restaurant which was very good, nice relaxing bar after for coffee . We gad bed and breakfast and it was a feast excellent quality and choice would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again bad again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience overall and especially pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our “MyBeds” and that the service provided by our Ambassadors met your expectations. Thank you for your comments!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan City
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you would like to spoil yourself and indulge into a "Luxury World of Hotels" at an affordable rate, SOFITEL Lisbon LIberdade, it's surely your next hotel destination hotel in Lisbon. I am an Emigrant and every time I return to Lisbon, at least the first night, I enjoy the taste of Luxury in this great 5***** hotel. Unbeatable service, excelent luxury standards!

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms if you want to get a "deep-sleep" or the front avenue rooms, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr. Miguel,

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay.

It was a pleasure to know that you have truly enjoyed your overall experience with us. Thank you for your compliments and kind words in regards to our location and service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located on Av. Liberdade which is a main street a few blocks from downtown, Metro stop 'Avenida' (Blue line) is just steps from the hotel. The area is safe, packed with fine stores and upscale restaurants. - WiFi is free, easy to connect and has excellent speed - Staff is polite - Parking in the area and hotel is expensive (€ 30 - 35/ day).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Av. Liberdade are quiet. There is only one window, mid size, noise-proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to tell us about your experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the hotel facilities and services and our prime location. We have taken note of all your comments. We take all our Guest’s opinions seriously as all comments assist us in improving our services and facilities to meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Rooms are quaint, even if a bit dark. Hotel needs some renovations as it seems to be reminiscent of the 50's-70's.

Great location. Restaurant great. Breakfast in restaurant fantastic (but room service menu is terrible).

List of problems during my stay as follows:

- only heat came out of my unit and I had to complain (too hot and slept badly first night)
- water leak in my room and at midnight I had to change rooms, after a long day at work- second morning at 8 am, there was a hammer noise coming from a room near mine that woke me up
- room service breakfast: missing newspaper asked for and extremely overpriced compared to what is offered in the restaurant
- staff overbilled me and did not respect the reservation rate. Staff bills card first and only then gives bill! When I called to be credited, they said they would call me back immediately (which they didn't. I had to call back). Then they said they would credit my card, but in a separate email asked for my credit card details by mail (should have asked me immediately over the phone or checked their records). It's extremely dangerous to communicate credit card details through a non secured medium (such as email) and hotel should know that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location and the service provided by our AdLib restaurant.

Nonetheless, we understand that we have not met your all your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the Hotel services. Nevertheless, regarding the reservation issue, we have already taken the appropriate measures to solve this question and avoid future occurrences like these.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused
during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
851 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,011 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#51 of 248 in Lisbon
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 248 in Lisbon
1,309 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing