We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #47 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank E3456
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 4,157 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently had a lovely four night stay here. Hotel very clean and welcoming. Lovely room, very, very comfortable bed and nicely designed bathroom with a fabulous power shower! Room was clean and tidy, had a safe, a (pay for) mini-bar and a complimentary small bottle of water provided daily plus a small kettle. Only a tiny gripe - and I kept meaning to tell reception - the bathroom door hinges really needed oiling!

We were on the second floor (227) at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet - no noise from the street/traffic nor from other guests; I don't know if the hotel was full but in most hotels I've stayed in, I've always been able to hear doors slamming and guests talking in corridors.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful - I am always astounded by the excellent English spoken by our European friends - and provided us with a street map, directions to the square where we were meeting up for the Lisbon Chill-Out Free tour, as well as information about transport.

Hotel location is very good - just opposite a metro stop but an easy 15 - 20 min walk to most of the city; a few minutes walk to the Elevador de Gloria. We easily walked back from Bairro Alto, down the Elevador de Gloria (5 min walk down - about a 7-10 min very steep walk up!) but we usually got the metro to Baixa-Chiado and walked to Bairro Alto from there. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but there are numerous coffee shops nearby (including a Starbucks if that's your thing whilst in Lisbon!) and quite a few bars and restaurants open til late.

A few things about Lisbon: 1. eating out - most places offer a 'couvert' ie bread, cheese, smoked ham (sometimes), sardine paste and butter. These are charged depending on what you eat eg one place charged us 1 euro for cheese, 75 cents for each bread roll. You can always decline it when waiters bring them to your table. We generally found them to be good quality but had to restrain ourselves when we ordered starters as well as main courses! 2. When visiting the Elevador de Santa Justa don't go too late - I starting queuing at 2000 and waited 30 mins to board the lift and was told the top viewing platform was closed. I still had great views but wished I'd gone earlier in the day so I could make it to the top. Also, if you have a 1 day metro pass, this will get you onto the Elevador de Santa Justa ie no extra cost. However, if you want to avoid the queues for the lift, there is a way to the viewing platform on foot so check out your street map. 3. Friends had recommended taking Tram 28 for a scenic view of Lisbon - we only stayed on the tram for about 15 minutes as it was crowded and not particularly comfortable when standing! However, I would still recommend it for the experience even if you don't stay on for the duration (although I'm sure I would have thought differently if I'd had a seat!). 3. Go to Balem! All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BossTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and preference for Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comment in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and our room facilities with the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spent last new year's eve in Lisbon, and we chose this hotel to stay.
The hotel is very pretty and well located, very close to the subway (that we didn't use, as we've preferred to walk or take the bus to go to other touristic areas) and to the main stores at Av. Liberdade.
Our only complaint, that made me rank it as very good and not excellent, was the fact that the king bed was actually made of two single beds, which kept some sort of hole between the two beds, what was not comfortable.
Bruno, the front door man, who also helps with the kitchen at night is a very attentive employee. One day, I was sick, and he managed to cook a chicken soup - that wasn't at the menu, very late in the night, besides always having a smile on his face. Very nice team at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the bed to be only one and not two put together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We were delighted to know that you appreciated our location, facilities and service provided by our Ambassador with a special mention to Bruno.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sofitel is known as an elegant brand. In this case is elegant but still friendly,
, avoiding unnecessary show off. Rooms are all equals, since the buiding is a new one. Bathroom is full of marbles and plenty room for all your toiletries. Great mirrors and a unique double door to in and out from the room while dressing. Complimentary coffe and tea, very silent rooms, our beeing facing the inner courtyard.
The only pity was the mattress, an absolute disaster, since it was worout and pushed you out of the bed. We complained and only succeded to have it changed on the second night with another, barely suffering the same result. It was something I woud not expect from a 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanobaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

Nonetheless, we understand that we have not met your all your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the mattress. We have taken note of your comments and have taken the appropriate measures to avoid future occurrences like these. Nevertheless, we are glad that your were pleased overall and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future. Thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had one night in Lisbon, between flights from Italy to the US. We picked this hotel for its proximity to the city center and the reputation of the brand, plus we got a pretty good deal on hotels. com. The hotel room was lovely, beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed. Very easy walking down elegant streets, to the waters edge, past many cafes, shops and restaurants. Very safe feel to area. Delicious breakfast offered in morning for extra charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanciface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards our rooms, facilities and our prime location. It is also a pleasure to read that we met your expectations and that you really appreciated our breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We rented a car in Madrid and toured southern Spain and the Algarve region of Portugal before heading to Lisbon. After reading umpteen guide books that say NOT to drive in Lisbon, we almost parked the car at the airport and took a taxi to the Sofitel. Glad we changed our mind! The Sofitel is located on the Avenida da Liberdade, and yes, it's the main drag into the heart of Lisbon. However, before you get to the congestion, there it is - a right turn and a quick second right turn. Pull over and let the doorman do the rest - he'll take your keys and bags, park your car underneath the hotel in a secure location, and then hustle in and take your bags to the room! You don't even need to look at your car until you leave Lisbon, because the hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main plaza. Now for the hotel - exceptional, right from the friendly check-in staff all the way to a simply wonderful, comfortable room! The beds are the best I've had in Europe, and they will even sell it to you when you leave! Unfortunately, it wouldn't fit in my compact car! The king size beds are actual king size beds, too, not a couple of twins pushed together (another common occurrence in Europe). For you Americans used to wash cloths, yes, those come standard in the bathroom, along with plenty of towels. And for everyone who travels the world and misses the small luxury of an in-room coffee/tea maker (like most hotels have in the US), you'll get the instant coffee version, but it sure is good! And lastly, the rooms are QUIET, which is no easy chore seeing you are on the heavily traveled Avenida! . . . Travel hint - walk a few blocks to the train station and buy a cheap ticket to Sintra (four trains each hour - 39 minutes each way). Wonderful palace & castle with great views all the way to Lisbon. No need to spend extra with a tour from Lisbon. There are plenty of Sintra local operators ready to greet you at the station, but better yet, walk a few yards and catch the 5 Euro Bus #434 that circles the city, including the steep hill climb to the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THOMAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Mr. Thomas,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your stay in Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your time with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you enjoyed our location on the Avenida da Liberdade.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Lisbon.

Thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sofitel Lisbon is in one of the BEST locations one can think of. It is right in the heart of the city and in one of the most beautiful avenues of Europe! It is a good walk to the Chiado, Bairro Alto and other Lisbon must go spots. If walking is not for you, the tram is close enough to the hotel.
The bar is awesome...very reasonable for a 5 star hotel and the staff are so great and helpful! We checked in early Sunday and the room was not ready so we asked if we can catch the noon Mass. The front desk directed us to this church that was sooo beautiful and very close to restaurants where we stopped for one the the best seafood in Lisbon! The very popular Cervejaria Ramiro is just a cab ride away too. Don't miss this place!

I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medici58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have truly appreciated our location, our Intra-Muros bar and service offered by our Ambassadors. Your contentment and comfort is our utmost reward, as we are constantly striving to achieve maximum satisfaction during your stay whilst keeping in mind that our aim is to surpass your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,935 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#59 of 255 in Lisbon
1,345 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
1,007 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £129 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing