We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fine Hotel in Middle of City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Fine Hotel in Middle of City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel in Lisbon. We travelled with a group of 35 and enjoyed the central location. Some very "upscale" department stores are in the area. But, lots of closed businesses too. We were there during a festival that closed off the streets in front of the hotel for several blocks. On display were various agricultural and farming events. It was very crowded when we were there but felt very safe. Our room opened to the street and at times it was pretty noisy. All of our group seemed to like the hotel but the air conditioning seemed to be a little suspect. We ate several meals in the hotel and they were quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhowell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr. Edmond,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to know that you have truly enjoyed the little surprised we prepared for you as well as your overall experience with us. Thank you for your comments!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    1,048
    230
    60
    38
See reviews for
617
1,931
240
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent location the hotel is located in the middle of the city surrounded by restaurants and shops. I cant say enough about the hotel staff, everyone was incredibly helpful and polite (my favorite was Antone :) I reserved 3 rooms for 6 nights, each room was the perfect size and all rooms were incredibly clean....Thank you for a wonderful stay.....Madam Delurio

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to tell us about your experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the service provided by our Ambassadors, the room facilities and cleanness and our central location. We have taken note of all your comments. We take all our Guest’s opinions seriously as all comments assist us in improving our services and facilities to meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent location right in the middle of the city. It's located on a major street with lots of shopping and restaurants. No sightseeing destinations were more than 15-20min away.

Breakfast and wifi included.

Room Tip: Choose a street facing room if you can. It is not noisy and you get lots of sunlight and a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to comment about your time with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our prime location.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would have given this hotel 5 if it wasn't for the irritating clicking noise we had in our room. We were right next to the lifts so I am not sure if it was them but it was really annoying and I couldn't sleep properly because of it.

Having said that, our room was lovely and we were lucky to get a huge balcony with table, 4 chairs and 2 sun loungers. I had emailed the hotel previously and asked for a room with a balcony - they are limited so I suggest if you want one to email the hotel prior.

I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are here for a long holiday - we were there for 5 nights and we struggled for room. There is one wardrobe with a few hangers but no other storage space so we had to live out our suitcases.

There is no iron in the room - room service will provide one however you are only allowed to keep it for 45 minutes due to 'safety reasons' - never heard that before.

The mini bar is expensive - 14 euros for a whiskey.

We got 1 free small bottle of water daily - which isn't much for 2 people.

Positives - iPod dock, free wifi which worked very well, comfortable bed and great balcony.

The staff were all really friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant outside for lunch one day and it was lovely, nice sharing snacks an wine - approx. 50 euros for 4 plates, water, 1 bottle of wine & bread.

We didn't opt for breakfast as it was 50 Euros for 2.

Fab location and easy walking distance to lots of different places - the start of the open top tour bus is just 10 mins to the left of the hotel.

We paid just over 500 Euros for the 5 nights direct with the hotel so was definitely value for money.

Almost 5 star but not quite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your time in Lisbon, and for taking the time to comment about your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for your compliments regarding to our location, room facilities and service provided by our Ambassadors. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments regarding to the noise that you had in our room, rest assured we will take the appropriate measures to avoid future occurrences. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you and your partner to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Location is excellent, staff is very polite , helpfull and professional. Thanks for the advices from the concierge. Breakfast is fare , fruits are good. The elevator needs some refurbishments, very old and noisy. Rooms are clean, internet is working good. Very disapointed about the sleeping conditions. The beds are soft and the variety of the pillows are not for a 5 star hotel. Better to chose a room with a street view in order to see the natural light into your room.

Room Tip: Chose a room with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

We were delighted to know that you appreciated our location, our breakfast buffet and facilities and service provided by our Ambassador. Nonetheless, we understand that we have not met your all your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the room facilities. We have taken note of your comments and have taken the appropriate measures to avoid future occurrences like these. Nevertheless, we are glad that your were pleased overall and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future. Thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just spent 4 nights at the Sofitel, having booked flight and hotel via Travel Republic.
The hotel is easy to find, on the main boulevard, a 10 min walk takes you through Rossio square, past the shopping streets, and down to the square on the coast / river.
There is a metro station almost opposite, and the yellow bus from the airport drops you very close by.......... when it runs. I suspect we were unlucky, but on the day we arrived, there were road closures for a presidential motorcade and the bus stopped at the previous stop. we towed our cases (slightly downhill) for 10 mins to the hotel. When we left, there were road closures for a marathon, and we would have had to tow to Rossio square (downhill again) to get the bus back. As it was raining (after 4 days of glorious hot sun) we simply called a taxi which was not overly expensive.
Having saved money by repurchasing our return tickets for 9.95 Euros on the internet before we went, it turned into not such a good deal.
The hotel itself is lovely. We booked a superior room and were (told we had been) upgraded to a deluxe. It was smallish, at the back, very quiet and beautifully appointed with robes, slippers, turn down service and a chocolate on our pillows.
When we spoke to another English couple at breakfast on our last morning, they, it seemed had not been upgraded, and had a large room at the front with all the extras we had had.
That did not however detract from our enjoyment.
The check in staff / reception were delightful. Helpful, friendly and knowledgable.
The room was spotlessly clean, and one morning, when we returned from breakfast at 9.30. had already been serviced. Very impressive.
Breakfast was good, with a wide range of cold items on self service buffet, and hot cooked bacon / eggs etc. to order. I have never before had the choice of 4 different melons for breakfast.
Lisbon is a fab destination for a break with loads to do, when we return, it will be to the Sofitel

Room Tip: No tips on rooms, but if you book the bus tours, use the yellow bus who are the official operators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandPamSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to know that you have truly enjoyed the little surprised we prepared for you as well as your overall experience with and especially pleased to know that you enjoyed 4 nights of comfort in our “MyBeds” and that the service provided by our Ambassadors met your expectations. Thank you for your comments!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Despite his good location the hotel is a little bit old. The elevators are a nightmare. Please chose a room with street view , otherwise you will not benefit about the sun light ! The bath is very small and you have the privilege to stay on the toilet you can use in the same time the bidet. But despite all the things, the personnel is exemplary , the concierge is very professional and helpful, providing good information's. Breakfast is fare, the fruits are exceptional ! Good quality for amenities. Short walk to many attractions. The beds are very soft not good at all. For a 5 * hotel this issue must be improved. Good internet acces

Room Tip: chose a room with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WecoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to tell us about your experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the service provided by our Ambassadors and our breakfast buffet at AdLib restaurant. We have taken note of all your comments. We take all our Guest’s opinions seriously as all comments assist us in improving our services and facilities to meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next
visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#51 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing