We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,230)
Filter reviews
4,230 results
Traveller rating
2,636
1,196
275
76
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,636
1,196
275
76
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomad libhermes toiletriesexcellent locationturn down servicecomfortable bedbarrio altohotel barmetro stationmain avenuefive star hotelgreat citypastriesrooms are smallcentral locationkarimconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,980 - 1,985 of 4,230 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
The two first rooms proposed by the receptionist had a light cigarette ordor.
Finally, the third room was ok. The room was well decorated and very confortable, with a luxury bathroom. However, we found it not as big as we could expect for this level of standard.
The sound isolation could be very improved: we heard two times at night erotic sounds coming from the next room, the air conditionning systemwas noisy (even when switched off) and there was no double door to separate the room and the corridor.
The breakfast is expensive (17€/pers) but very good,with portuguese specialities.
The hotel is located just in front of a metro station, a airport bus stop, and about 10min walking from the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant. There was free internet service in the business center behind the reception area. Our room overlooked the beautiful Avenida da Liberdade, with a nice view of St. George's Castle. The room was spotless, beautifully decorated with comfortable beds. The location was perfect. We could walk to the castle through the Alfama neighborhood, shopping in Baixa, down to Comercio Square, and all places in between. Everything was so accessible. A trip to the Belem Tower and Jeronimos Monastery did require a taxi ride. Our first night we were tired, having both been up for two days; I was traveling from Chicago and my daugher from Iraq. We ordered room service and had fabulous fresh fruit, cheeses, bread, etc. Quick service.

When we left Lisbon, the hotel arranged our transportation to the airport, no stress.

We loved Lisbon and would happily return. I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guardian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I found this hotel to be pretty much as I expected based on the other reviews. The rooms are a bit on the small size and the rather odd double doors to the bathroom mean it is not as private as you may like. However, this hotel has an excellent location with the metro literally outside the door and the decor is stylish and modern. I also found the staff to be very polite and helpful. I was surprised to discover that there was no toaster at breakfast or an option to order toast. I have never come across this in a hotel before. Although the available food at breakfast was good it was a bit limited considering the hefty 17 euro price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The hotel is really easy to get to from the airport as it is on the main tree lined avenue into the centre from the north, Avenida da Liberdade. All buses from the airport stop about a hundred yards up the road. We were in Lisbon for May Day and found that due to the holidays, the local bus services into the city from the airport 44 & 45 were curtailed, so there was a bit of a scrum getting onto the limited stop aerobus as a result.

The Sofitel is much more elegant than Accord’s budget class hotels we have stayed in, such as the entirely acceptable Ibis chain. The rooms here may not be huge but they are well appointed and ours facing the avenida just above the treeline was lovely and clean and very sunny in the late afternoons after a hard days sightseeing. The king size bed was really nice and although the bathroom was a bit tight, the quality of fittings was obvious. One thing to be wary of, there are some interconnecting rooms, which we do not like at all, but reception was happy to move us into a normal room when we asked. Even though the hotel faces the main road the road noise is not too bad at all, although better sound insulation would always be welcome in city hotels.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was the usual standard for European city hotels – very acceptable but not the grand buffet like you get in some holiday resort hotels.

The hotel is exceptionally well placed for sightseeing. It was an easy walk down into Baixa and a less easy but nonetheless short uphill climb (or Elevador Gloria ride) into Bairro Alto just behind the hotel. We’ve attached a photo looking back towards the hotel from the castle.

It appears that one or two reviewers have had a bad experience at the Sofitel but they do seem to be an exception. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The Sofitel is right on one of the major boulevards of Lisbon. Centrally located, it is a 2 minute walk to the funicular that takes you up to Bairro Alto, and only a short 5 minute walk to the major plazas with all the cafes. The service was a bit slow, given that some of the reservations desk employees were new trainees. It was a bit annoying, because they had minimal knowledge regarding the area and the nearby restaurants and activities. However, the hotel is very nice. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but nicely designed. The Bacci chocolates they left on the beds were a nice touch. We didn't have breakfast included in our reservation. We definitely didn't think it was worth the 17 euros, as there was minimal selection (although the restaurant was very modern and trendy). Also, I don't recommend eating at any of the restaurants on Ave. de Libertad (the major boulevard the hotel is on, as the restaurants have poor quality food). Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agalstia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews