We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel do Chiado is indeed very well located, right in the middle of Baixa neighbourhood.”
Review of Hotel do Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Chiado
Ranked #63 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

From this hotel, you can easily reach all the touristic points of interest in Lisbon, like St. George's Castle, Rossio Train Station, Bairro Alto, Praca do Comercio, Santa Fe Cathedral etc. Our room was on 7 th floor, it was indeed very pricey, but the view was really amazing: through one window you could see St. George's Castle, while through the other window the Tejo river was flowing in front of your eyes. But keep in mind that there are different categories of room in the hotel, and some of them might not have the same view. Alos very nice breakfast. The only problem we had during our 6 days stay in Hotel do Chiado was that the building nearby was under construction, and the noise during one night was unbearable. We called the reception, but the man who was on duty didnt take any measures to stop the noise (to talk to the people from the other building). Eventually, we had to call the police, and half an hour later we could finally go to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carinaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent our first night in Portugal at this hotel. There were 4 of us flying in from 3 different countries and arriving at different times so this was our meeting place and it was perfect. We never left the bar/balcony that night as the view was really incredible and a great intro to Lisbon. We sat and had dinner and a wonderful night. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, clean and comfortable and each of our rooms had a huge private balcony! The only negative was that we only stayed one night. The breakfast was also great; a lot of options of hot and cold foods.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all of the rooms have balconies but they are definitely worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Let's see where I start - if you want a reliable internet, don't stay hear. The bed was almost as hard as rock, one of the most uncomfortable bed I have every slept in. The one nice thing I can say is, get a room with the balcony, the view of St. Jorge Castle is priceless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foollikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is the first time I have ever felt the need to leave a hotel review. However, our experience was so bad at this hotel I felt the need to do so. I have travelled for business and leisure for many many years. In that time, this was without doubt one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Hotel do Chiado was recommended to us ( me and my wife) by friends who live in Lisbon. One reason being the panoramic roof-top bar. The hotel was booked over the phone (150 euro for 1 night) 3 days before we arrived.

good points
The location is very good.
We only had to stay one night.

Bad points
We were given room 703. On enteriing the room, we were hit by a wave of heat even though the air con was on the lowest setting. The room was so small, there wasnt even room to fit a bed side table on either side of the bed. The bedroom furniture was a mish mash of odd, and in the case of the easy chair filthy furniture. The head height window, resembled that of a prison cell.

The room got so hot, we could no longer stay in it. In fairness to the hotel we asked to be moved, and a replacement room was found (707).

Rooms overlooking the street are VERY noisy upto 4am.

Panoramic Bar. We never got to enjoy the bar views, as we found there was a mesage posted in the lift saying the panoramic bar was closed from 3 to 10pm, for a private function. I pointed out to the recpetion that we had booked the hotel by phone 3 days earlier and no mention was made of this. Indeed, this was not even mentioned when we checked in. Frankly, they were not bothered.

Breakfast. Absouletly appalling for a 4* hotel.

I look forward to reading the hotels response.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, dont get a street front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foolsgoldLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel do Chiado for 3 nights this week. It's location was excellent for travelling to different locations in the city. The metro was just round the corner of the hotel which was really handy and trams and buses were very close as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the decor of the hotel was of a high standard. We had a large bedroom with bath/shower and there were views from the terrace towards the castle and the Alfama district. The breakfast was brilliant with a very varied choice of food, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, bacon etc. yoghurts, rolls, cheeses and different meats, pastries, toast and jams, a selection of juices and excellent coffee. There were many restaurants near to the hotel offering varied menus and prices for lunch and evening meals.
The hotel was very clean and well furnished as well and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the castle have their own exit to the terrace but we only had to walk a few yards to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not a Hilton type (sprawl); more European type. Contrary to other Trip reviews, we had great service by the front desk & wait staff. Yes, rooms don't grab you as new but they are comfortable & (always) clean. Recently bought anew; will take individual awhile to invest in new furniture etc. We the love central location to theater area, restaurants (hope you like fish!), pastry / coffee houses, buses/trolleys to Belem or Expo or Castle. Just great to walk the plazas. Afternoon wine on the terrace is very very soothing. If your not conditioned, be aware of the many hills Lisbon is!! For Chiado, you don't want to do hills, you can ride the escalators in the shopping centre ... Yes Chiado is on a hill! Taxi rack there too. A/C is European ... temp is higher compared to America. Weakness ... Breakfast the same things everyday. Can be nosy if you leave windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing South towards the (Tagus) river (views), assuming you booked that room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

It is a great hotel!! The location and the views of the city are unmatched!! You are within walking distance of everything! The rooms were nothing special and to tell you the truth were quite bland. The service was phenomenal! This is my first time in Lisbon and I came by myself and they helped out a lot in anything I needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgehcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
1,028 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
894 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#32 of 255 in Lisbon
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Chiado

Address: Rua Nova do Almada 114, Lisbon 1200-290, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £100 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Chiado is located in Chiado / Baixa, Lisbon's historic district, near Bairro Alto, Rossio Square and Avenida da Liberdade. Hotel do Chiado was built in the historic building of Armazéns do Chiado, nowadays a shopping center, which was completely restored by the famous architect Siza Vieira after the tragic fire of 1988. Located in Chiado, the trendiest, elegant and chic meeting point of Lisbon, this is the only hotel in town that offers rooms with private terraces and panoramic views of the Castle and the TagusRiver. The subway station Baixa-Chiado is located beneath the building and you can easily find taxi service side by side with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Lisbon
Regency Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing