We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old Lisboa city views”
Review of Hotel do Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel do Chiado
Ranked #49 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great old Lisboa city views”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great location and outlook to the Castle. The facilities may not the most modern, but the other aspects of location, great staff, and fine dining are what we remember! The Hotel is in a nice part of the city, right near a Metro station, and a short walk to the waterfront and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a view of the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 588Kevin_S_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    187
    36
    19
    13
See reviews for
83
237
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It's almost possible to forget you're in the middle of a busy city once you're inside the Hotel do Chiado, that is, until you look out of the window at the amazing view.
Great location, quiet clean comfortable modern rooms.
Loved it and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We traveled to Lisbon over the easter weekend and chose the Hotel do Chiado. If you want a centrally located hotel this is the one for you. It is right in the center for town, next door to a shopping center and a few metres from many restaurants. The hotel is very nice and even has a roof top bar and terrace where you can relax in the sunshine and look out across Lisbon towards the castle.

The staff were very polite and friendly.

Getting There from the airport - Dont look for a cheaper option just get a taxi, in April 2013 it was 17 euros from the airport and 10 back.

Getting Around - The hotel is very close to the underground and you can get to most places from here. There are also tram stops very close too.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and this cane with a terrace, it is also on the rear of the hotel ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08162011g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Great location in the Chiado district; numerous great restaurants within several blocks (we enjoyed Sacramento and L'argo in particular; the hotel concierge recommended and booked both).

The lobby is small and not particularly warm; same with the elevators. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast room is a little confusing to find, but food is good. The bar is quiet--we spent some time there our last night, and wish it wasn't raining so we could've sat outside. Not much of a scene, from our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is the place to be in Lisbon. Excellent quality price ratio. Hotel centrally located, walking distance to eveything: restaurants, Metro, rossio, shopping, bars,...Safe and clean. Opt for the rooms on the top floor with an excellent view of the city and the castle.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms on the top floor with an excellent view of the city and the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krikor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel do Chiado is the place to stay in Lisbon. The location, just off the Rua Garrett adjacent to the Bairro Alto district puts you in the heart of Old Lisbon, steps away from shopping, restaurants and prime tourist sites, just steps from the Elevador de Santa Justa. Though located in the heart of a busy area, when you enter the Hotel do Chiado you enter another world, a world of service and attentiveness you might expect at a far more expensive hotel. The hotel features contemporary styling and is very clean. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The multi-lingual staff is very welcoming and attentive. But the best part is the view from the seventh floor patio, looking over the red tile roofs of the old city toward the Castelo de Sao Jorge, looming in the distance. From here you can also see the triumphal arch leading to the Praca do Comercio, Se' Cathedral, and ships passing along the Tajus River. On the first of our two stays at the Hotel do Chiado this past August we ate dinner in the dining-lounge area adjacent to the top floor patio. Here we actually enjoyed two of the best meals we had in Lisbon. This beautiful room also afforded spectacular views of the old city through floor to ceiling windows and featured excellent cuisine. It was also a romantic place to enjoy port wine and cheese after dinner. Unfortunately, during our second visit, this room was being renovated, so we do not know how the renovation turned out. But the original decor was beautiful, so we can assume the renovation was beautiful as well. Breakfast is served one floor up from the dining-lounge area and also affords spectacular views of the old city. We highly recommend this hotel when you travel to Lisbon. One caveat. We booked our stay online through SW Reservations Systems ("Strawberry World"), and when we arrived at Hotel do Chiado for our first stay they did not have our reservation! Fortunately, we were able to re-book both of our stays again, but since they had not received any reservations from Strawberry World we had to pay for our room all over again. The hotel staff gave us a discount from the original rate as well as an upgrade, and we eventually secured a credit to our account from Strawberry World for the original booking. Strawberry World informed us that they had been experiencing financial problems, so we would recommend booking through another travel service or directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter, as you don't hear the street musicians who perform every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We recently had a corporate dinner at this Hotel and, unfortunately, I could not be more disappointed... The food was bad, the service was shocking and we left with an overall sense of fiasco. On a positive note, the view cannot be missed, it is breathtaking! It is only unfortunate one cannot survive on a view alone...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PipaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#43 of 246 in Lisbon
290 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 246 in Lisbon
746 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 246 in Lisbon
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 246 in Lisbon
949 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Chiado

Property: Hotel do Chiado
Address: Rua Nova do Almada 114, Lisbon 1200-290, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Chiado is located in Chiado / Baixa, Lisbon's historic district, near Bairro Alto, Rossio Square and Avenida da Liberdade. Hotel do Chiado was built in the historic building of Armazéns do Chiado, nowadays a shopping center, which was completely restored by the famous architect Siza Vieira after the tragic fire of 1988. Located in Chiado, the trendiest, elegant and chic meeting point of Lisbon, this is the only hotel in town that offers rooms with private terraces and panoramic views of the Castle and the TagusRiver. The subway station Baixa-Chiado is located beneath the building and you can easily find taxi service side by side with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Lisbon
Regency Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing