We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Clarion Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Ranked #88 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Clarion Suites”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of April. We had a lovely 1 bedroomed appartment,
separate lounge area and kitchen with a flat screen TV in both.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, going to Sintra, Belem, cristo rei statue, along to the expo centre and Cascais and Estoril. We sometimes took sandwiches we had made in the kitchen. When we came back we used the pool and sunbeds in the garden area.
Befoe we went out to eat in the evening , we sat on the settees in the nice reception area and ordered drinks from the restaurant, They were brought with a dish of salted nuts.
If you cross the road and turn right outside the hotel then next left and right again, you will come to a very nice Indian restaurent and Italian restaurant next door. They were very busy by 9pm with local people, we were going in at 8.30pm
We did not have Breakfast at the hotel, but some of those that did were sitting outside the restaurant at tables and chairs overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    309
    79
    12
    9
See reviews for
267
174
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We arrived on Friday 29th at around 10am. We expected to just drop our bags, as check in wasn't until 2pm, but, once they had found our reservation (BA had put it through on my first name, not surname), we were allowed in to our room to freshen up. We had booked a studio and had been put on the 7th floor, which had a balcony which was really nice. The room had a small kitchen with table, facilities were basic, a two ring hob, one sauce pan, a chopping board and 2 plates, 2 bowls, 2 glasses, 2 of all the basics really. You couldn't make a full meal in this kitchenette, but it was sufficient to boil an egg for breakfast. The room otherwise was spacious and clean. One grumble would be the bathroom supplies, they provided handwash and showergel / shampoo from wall mounted units, which felt cheap and handwash isn't really soap and shower gel isn't great in your hair. I'm not sure why they had taken this approach (maybe green creditials?) as alongside this they had a range of other accesories including a shoe horn, nail file and comb which I'd swap anyday for a bar of soap and a proper seperate shampoo.
The location of the hotel was good, being walking distance to where the tourist buses go from and a metro. It was also only a 20 min walk to the old town and across to the main area for resturants - Bairro Alto - you may want to get a taxi back up the hill however on the way home!
There is a supermarket just across the main road at the bottom of the hotel hill - had a good range and great fresh bread. There isn't really anywhere around the hotel to get a drink (and the hotel has no bar), so grab a bottle of something at the supermarket if you like a late night drink. For breakfast / snacks there are a couple of snack bars / pastry shops in short walking distance and McDonalds opposite the hotel. The hotel does offer breakfast, but we didn't try this.
Reception were helpful (although I think the same man was working there all the time as he seemed to be there when we got up and when we got home at night) and were able to point us in the right direction.
In terms of Lisbon as a city to visit, its great for walking round and exploring. One thing we would really recommend is going over to see Cristo Rei, its a replica of the Christ the Redeemer monument in Rio and gives great views over the city and is really quiet compared to the other tourist spots (there were only 6 of us up the monument when we went). There is apparently a ferry over (but i'd imagine a big climb up from the sea), but we got a taxi over. It takes about 20mins each way - make sure you arrange for the driver to wait for you, as there aren't taxis waiting around to take you back!
Overall, nice clean modern hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Top 2 floors have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The staff and especially Ivo at the front desk were accommodating whenever we needed anything and Ivo was exceptionally SUPERB! He was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is very roomy and comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everything we could ask for. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32724Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed in the studio apartment. The location of the hotel is convenient, the neighborhood feels safer than the older parts of town at night, there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance (as rated on Tripadvisor, the amazing Bocca being just up the street from the hotel), the apartment's pretty spacious and the area's quiet at night with no noise coming from the street.
The kitchen was poorly equipped, absolutely not enough tableware. No free Wi-Fi in the hotel. Another minor thing - the way the bathroom is designed, you can't have a shower without flooding the whole floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
569 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

we had a 1 bedroomed apartment which was large and comfy with its own little kitchen area ,the location is not far from pombal square so you can walk in to the old down up n down hills if you go the back way as we did,little coffee bar /cafe a few doors down also a mc ds and a little supermarket ideal if you want a few basics to eat / drink in youre apartment,staff pleasent ,wood stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The staff:
All the staff were very helpful - we checked in to our room within 3 minutes arriving at the hotel. The staff guided us around and if you had any queries they would attend immediately
When we were leaving, the hotel arranged taxi, which only cost 15 euros to the airport (cheap!!!)

Location:
The hotel is about 15-20 minutes away from the airport
The hotel is situated 3 minutes walk from the metro, (marques de pombal) so very useful if you want to see many of at attractions of lisbon
Being situated at the centre of lisbon, there are plenty of restaurants and takeways few minutes walk from the hotel. They have got mcdonalds opposite the hotel, which is very handy
When you leave the hotel, turn left and walk down the street you will see a supermarket (really cheap to buy the basics - we realized on the last day though)

Rooms:
The rooms are very large and quite clean. The beds were comfortable so had no problem. The rooms had balcony but we were given the front rooms (where the view was not all that (street view) but that didnt bother us)
The kitchen had all the basics (mircowave, cooker, fridge, plates, cups etc) but do bring some fairly liquid and sponge.
Had a plasma in our room and used the safe (middle of wardrobe)
A cleaner would come every day in the morning to clean the sheet and provide new towels. The shower was clean and had all the essentials.
At the back there is a swimming pool (didnt swim) but did soak some sun - in the evening would come back to hotel and just relax
We never tried the food at the hotel so cannot comment

On the whole the hotel was amazing - felt like at home. I would def recommend this hotel to everyone - i have read the previous reviews and would agree.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06bubbles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This place is pretty good ! i booked a studio, but for some reason was given a 1 bedroom apartment on the top floor, which was nice, i was a smoker at the time so maybe for this reason, i don't know !! The Apt. was huge, nice double bed, all nicely furnished with flat screen tv and modern design ! The lounge area was equally as nice and spacious, again flat screen telly, big black leather sofas, which i am sure can be used as a bed and there was also a fairly large glass dining room table !! The was also a kitchen area, more of a kitchentte but with all the modcons, plus kettle and comp. tea and coffee !! there was a fridge which i stocked up with drinks and a few other bits, always handy..... The balcony was massive, you could of played 3 aside on it quite easily, unfortunately the weather was rather miserable so did'nt really use it, but i can see it being really handy on those hot summer days !!! With regards to the staff, i did'nt have much interaction other than the check in and check out, and the usual polite good mornings and goodbyes when i either entered or left the place, but can't complain as they were fairly freindly. The location is good, ok it is up a hill, but in Lisbon what isn't ? The place is built on seven hills after all !!! there is a Metro Stn. at the bottom, "Marques" and one at the top "Rato" but you can walk into the centre Chiado area in around 15 minutes, it is a lovely walk down lsbon main avenue "Av. Liberdade" !! Did'nt eat at the clarion so can't comment on the food, Lisbon has some great places to eat anyway, the food is amazing !! The Airport is a 78 euro ride away...about 10 minutes !! Have fun, i loved it !!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elusivemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Suites
#115 of 247 in Lisbon
275 reviews
Altis Prime
#48 of 247 in Lisbon
653 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
1,105 reviews
Novotel Lisboa
#104 of 247 in Lisbon
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Lisbon

Property: Clarion Suites Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 44 50, Lisbon 1250-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Lisbon
Lisbon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing