We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Ranked #113 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the citycenter (but take the metro!). There is a stop 300m from the hotel.

This is a small apart hotel, ideal for families! There is also a mcdo in the street.

First of all, compliments to the staff, they were all so friendly!
We were upgraded to a family flat,it was so big! Two bathrooms, two bedrooms. The room was modern but quite dark, maybe some white thingq or walls will make the room bigger!

The breakfast area is really small,and not so cosy. But you can make your own breakfast in your kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of Clarion Suites is its best feature, being close to Eduardo III Parque and Avienda. Most of the staff speak English and helpful, which was appreciated, though some of the reception staff weren't particularly friendly.

Our suits was basic but functional. I thought it was pretty clean, until I saw the silverfish in the bath. The pool deck is lovely and something of a sun trap. The pool is small, you could splash about in it but swimming would be a challenge.

Breakfast was good; a well-stocked buffet (with traditional custard tarts), that you can eat in the restaurant or on the sun deck.

We stayed here because my husband was in Lisbon for work. I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel, but it was perfectly serviceable, if a little charmless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 days, family of 4, in mid-March 2014. We got upgraded to a very nice two bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a kitchen. We loved our stay here. Free wi-fi, decently equipped kitchen and very lovely and friendly staff. Our rooms were kept clean everyday. This was our first time in Lisbon and we were very glad to realize that the location was a very short walk to a central subway station (Marques de Pombal), which made exploring the city and nearby towns very easy.

During the 4 or 5th night of our stay, the building across the street caught on fire and there was a HUGE blaze, heat from which damaged some of the windows of the side of the hotel facing it. My entire family slept through 20mins of a fire alarm ringing, but the staff came up to our room to tell us to evacuate. Later we heard that everyone who was on the side facing the fire got moved to the other side of the hotel (we were on the other side all along).

Overall, lovely place, would highly recommend it for any family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great service. Welcoming staff. Clean. Two rooms plus small kitchen corner in the apartment we had - perfect with kids sleeping in one and the grownups could sit and chat in the other. Easy to eat in with short breakfast for the smaller kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel during our trip to Lisbon. The apartment was clean, plenty of facilities including a kitchenette and close to a Metro station! This is a great base for exploring Lisbon! Would highly recommend, although we did find the reception staff to be a little rude at times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emilymay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This must have been our 5th time in Clarion Suites, Lisbon. Yes we really like the city and yes Clarion Suites is at a great location. Good location combined with good price led us to choose Clarion once again for our 5-day visit in February. But maybe being regulars at Clarion gives us a longitudinal perspective that would have certainly helped the management if they cared to read the reviews regarding the property they run, alas they don't and this is obvious from the fact that nothing has changed in Clarion in the years we have been staying there. This time we arrived late at night after long connecting flights. The receptionist was busy doing something and he didn't bother to look up to greet us for almost ten awkward seconds. We had said hello and stood right in front of him but got no immediate acknowledgment for our presence. This was this gentleman's idea of a warm welcome. This may also very well be a Portuguese trade mark; it is not rudeness just a cool approach to service provision. We later laughed at our "warm" welcome and commented on how shocked Brits and North Americans would be by such behavior. During our stay we again remembered the faces of all the receptionists from the previous times but none of them expressly remembered us. Apart from Fatima of course who shook our hands and wished us a nice stay but then this was already on our third day. For this stay we had reserved a big suite with a separate bedroom. The living-room area was specious and included a sofa-bed, a television and a dinning area. The small kitchen was well equipped. When we arrived the sofa-bed was made up, and we had to undo it the next day to be able to use it as a sofa. It was then that we discovered how dusty the sofa was. It seemed as if the thick velour upholstery hadn't been vacuumed for weeks and weeks. We just used the bed spread to cover the sofa to be able to sit on it. Our biggest issue while staying at Clarion Suites, this time, was the very cold room-temperature in the suite. As there is no central heating we used the two available A/Cs; one in the bedroom and one in the living-room. The A/C gave us a pretty hard time, one moment blowing warm air, the next taking a break, and the next leaking. The A/Cs seem outdated and this was our third incidence in Clarion when the A/Cs have been leaking and water dripped onto the parquet floor. This time we used pans and towels to control the small water pool gathering on the floor. We thought that the cleaning staff would see this mess and notify the reception so we didn't bother. We also knew from the past that nothing would be really fixed just temporarily patched up. Nothing changed and the A/Cs continued leaking all through our stay. We just stopped bothering ourselves with this situation especially since we had drawn the heavy curtains to keep warmth in. The bay windows (where also the A/Cs are placed) in both rooms are definitely drafty and isolating them was our best strategy to keep our suite warm, alas dark most of the time. Clarion Suites Lisbon not really caring about its guests (sort of an auto-pilot mode) hasn't done any obvious upgrades in the suites for at least the last 5-6 years we have been visiting. We can't explain for example that there is still no free WiFi in the suites. That the plumbing in the bathrooms is malfunctioning and the washing-basins' drainage slow. That the toiletries are the same substandard kind as long as we can remember; Lux and Dove are full of harsh chemicals and if you want to listen to our advice bring your own shampoos, conditioners and shower gels. The fittings are all old and the dark color coordination in the suites shouts "outdated" - at least the beds and pillows are quite good. But of course for the right price who looks at poor details?! And quite right so. We care about improvement; however, for the right price we are also willing to live with shortcomings as long as they are not grave. BUT the management of the hotel should care about guests' comments on improvements. And again, I repeat: they don't. Have you noticed that they have never responded to any criticism expressed on this site? We think that is because nobody from their side cares to even read what guests have to say. This is already quite telling. Anyway, since we love Lisbon it is likely to stay again at Clarion Suites. Next time if no positive change is evident we will not bother writing a review - we have said what we needed to say for the benefit of our fellow travelers.

Room Tip: This time we stayed at suite 301. Based on our previous experience terraced suites are better becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank acuteobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good walking distance to Metro station that takes you to the airport, a bit outside of downtown, but you can still walk into downtown, if you are here for a city trip. If you are short on time, take the Metro and go 2 or 3 stops to downtown. Friendly staff. Rooms are standard. Unfortunately they charge you for using Wi-Fi, which is for me a no-go nowadays in a modern hotel. Did not take the breakfast, there is a McDonalds 75 m away that has a simple breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: The street in front is a dead end street, you may still want to take a room to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#53 of 255 in Lisbon
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 255 in Lisbon
1,213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
0.2 mi away
Altis Suites
Altis Suites
#122 of 255 in Lisbon
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Lisbon

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 44 50, Lisbon 1250-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#63 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#86 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Suites Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Lisbon
Lisbon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing