We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartments in Lisbon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Ranked #87 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great apartments in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

Stayed in these fantastic apartments in June with a group of friends. Had a two bedroom penthouse (not on the top floor) and a one bedroom suite. The apartments are spacious, very clean and well maintained. Some reviews have said the decor was dated but I thought it was a bit retro and loved it. Comfy beds and huge bathrooms. We didn't try the breakfast in the restaurant as it seemed pricey compared to what you could get out on the street.

On the negative side, we found it a bit short on equipment in the kitchen. There was no kettle or anything supplied for washing up which I find a bit stingy. Also the pool was out of action and seems to have been for a while. We didn't have great weather so it wasn't a problem for us.

This is a quiet residential area about a 15 min walk or 3 - 4 euro taxi fare from the centre. We found some fantastic restaurants in the streets around the hotel and there is a large shopping centre about 10 min away. The reception staff all speak English in fact everyone we met seemed to speak some English so Lisbon was a very easy place to holiday .

Taxi from the airport is around 10 euros plus one euro per peice of luggage though the driver didn't turn on the meter and tried to rip us off. He wasn't happy about taking 4 passengers but he quickly dropped the price when we challenged him.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anybody from families to groups of friends travelling together.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Kitchen supplies lacking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    296
    73
    11
    9
See reviews for
260
163
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2007

We spent one night, at the end of our holiday in Portugal, at the Clarion Suites and wished we could have stayed for longer!

The booking was made directly with the hotel, the staff speak good English and confirmed the booking immediately by email. Booking in on
arrival took all of 2 minutes as did paying up on departure . . superb!

The (manned) car park is underground, the lift will take you straight
up to your floor in the hotel so there is no need to lug your cases around.

We had booked a standard suite for two people but were given a fabulous two bedroom two bathroom apartment with huge comfortably furnished lounge and dining area. The kitchen is compact but adequately stocked with plates and cutlery etc, however, some microwaveable dishes would have been appreciated.

Despite the heatwave in Portugal last week, the pool was not in use which was a little disappointing.

Staff were helpful and courteous, and super quick to attend to any requests.

The apartments are in a great location, just a short walk to the Botanic Gardens and a few minutes to the nearest station.

All in all we felt that around £65 for such super accomodation for us and secure parking for the hire car was a bargain. We will definately be returning to the Clarion Suites.

During our day in Lisbon we visited Sao Jorge castle, we were very disappointed with the shabby state of the rendering . . yes the castle appears to have been partly (and poorly!) refurbished with concrete blocks and render! It's a real shame. To complete the modernisation there was an appalling kind of funfair/fete/market going on with lots of tents everywhere and various music genres being blasted out from all directions! Perhaps we were just unlucky, or maybe this is how the castle is used all the time. Either way, the views of Lisbon from the courtyard are great but that's all it has going for it. You can get the views for free elsewhere in the city so save your Euros!

Tip, there are tourist maps (showing the hotel) available FOC in the arrivals area of the airport at passport control.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank AtravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2007

The suite (2 rooms + bath and kit) was very spacious and nicely furnished. It looked as though had been refurbished recently. It was cleaned every day and the towels changed. The beds were exceptional, fitted with a mattress topper, and we slept like babies! So no complaints about the accommodation whatsoever, it was nice to return to in the evening.
The only reservation I would have about booking again is the position as it is a steep walk from the town and a taxi ride there and back in the evening is probably practical. We were tired after all the sightseeing in the day and ate locally but would have enjoyed the restaurant area in the town in the evening and would stay more centrally if we return to Lisbon. Taxis cheap though.
One word of advice, try the Portugese restaurant Divinus Vicius recommended by Reception which just around the corner. We thought the food was very good and visited twice.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious rooms with kitchen and comfy beds
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank carynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

The hotel is located a 20 minute walk from the town centre on a quiet residential street.

The rooms are huge-we stayed in the 2 people suite which consisted of a big bedroom and ahuge lliving room with a kitchen annexe.

The rooms are clean and the furnishings new and well maintained. I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anybody from budget travellers (you can find very good deals!) to families. The room that we stayed in, even though advertised as a double, could easly sleep 4 or 5 people (there is a big double sofa in the living room).

Taxi from the airport is anywhere between 5 and 10 euros (depending on traffic and time of day). Taxis from the centre of town (Barrio Alto where all the bars are) are between 3 and 4 euros.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank findingmywayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

We are a family of 4 (two adults and two children) who have just spent a few days in Lisbon. We stayed at the Clarion Suites.

There are many good points about the Clarion Suites. The rooms are spacious and clean. It has a pool (which wasn't open during our stay although the temperatures were 70 degrees +). The location is pretty good - just out of the centre in a quiet street ; travelling anywhere was fairly cheap and quick by either metro or taxi. There are a few food restaurants within 15 minutes walk. It is close to a lovely park and several cafes.

On the negative side, the rooms look very tired and are in need of redecoration. We had 3 TVs in our penthouse - not one of them was tuned properly ! We also had a mixed experience with the hotel staff - some were pleasant and helpful, others less so.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms
  • Disliked — The dated decor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

Quite central. McDonalds across the road, supermarket 3 min. away, and Metro <5min off lovely square. Tree-line road outside (quiet) and we stayed in 'Penthouse' overlooking small garden to rear (v. quiet).
Big bonus was size of appartment - suited 2ad + 3 children but with one child on sofa bed which gave him back-ache. General decor now quite tired though everything clean. Only 1 or 2 poor English-speaking TV channels.
Living area backed onto lift shaft which could be heard clearly 2 rooms away - don't know how my kid slept!
Small kitchenette but very poorly stocked - 4 cups, plates, cutlery etc. No kettle!! No dishwasher, tea-towel, w'up liquid etc. Asked for more of these but only got some and not encouraged by response. Staff generally unfriendly - didn't even make eye contact on occasion. Disappointing given the convenience of the hotel.
Simple local restaurant across the street (Le Parque) - solid food and cheap. Also TelePizza down the road from the supermarket was handy.
As always don't even think of making a phone call or taking from the mini-bar - at least there was some room in the fridge for your own milk etc.
Lisbon was lovely and the hotel took all 5 of us but would probably look elsewhere again - no charm there for us.

  • Liked — Took 5 in a family
  • Disliked — Coldness of staff and tired decor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtrip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#50 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Altis Suites
#110 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Lisbon

Property: Clarion Suites Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 44 50, Lisbon 1250-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#81 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Lisbon
Lisbon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing