We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think that picture is of this hotel but of the other newer one in town by this chain...This place was ok..”
Review of Alif Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alif Hotel
Ranked #186 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First room badly in need of refab & with a moldy smell..2nd much better, still with minor maintenance issue (shower apparatus functioned but was falling apart a little. Overall, once changed the room quite satisfied. Location is great...ask the hotel for restaurant suggestions, they directed us to a great place around the corner. Check on the bull fight schedule as soon as you get there, since the front desk didn't mention that there was a fight the night we checked in, but then not for out entire stay after. Also there is a huge shopping mall UNDER the bull fight stadium, you'd never know-don't miss it!

Room Tip: Don't take the first one if not satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiloBaybie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

If you book from hotels.com or expedia, etc, be sure to complain about the 1st room they give you....they give you a referbished room....once U changed rooms it was fine, but staff could be a churlish at times...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOVEnLIVETOEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were booked there recently for a conference. Being near the university, it was a good location for that type of thing. It's a decently-run, clean, modern hotel. There's a big breakfast room on the top floor, and the breakfast was good, very typical of Portugal--cold cuts, cheeses, breads, yogurt, fruit, all types of coffee, etc. There was a nice little bar on the second floor as well. Very quiet.

Our room was very small, and had twin beds, which we would not choose again, although when you are extremely jetlagged, separate beds is not a bad thing. Room was very clean, shower was good. It was also very quiet at night.

Only electrical outlet that was usable without disconnecting the TV was in the closet, which was not terribly convenient but we made it work (take a multi-outlet adapter). No other complaints about the room at all.

Except...wifi was very poor. We had to pay, and for the charge, we got to connect only ONE device at a time. Since we had 5 devices with us, that was a pain. And each time we did it, we had to re-enter the password (at least I did on my Android devices.) Signal was very weak--apparently it depended on how far you were from the elevator. Well we were close, and the signal was really bad, and frequently just disconnected.

This one thing is enough for me not to recommend this place, if that's important to you. And for a hotel that seems to specialize in academic conferences, it's a killer.

Location was very good--not in Centro, but on the edge, and a few steps to a subway (metro) station that would take you right now to Rato and thus to Bairro Alto, or other metro lines. We found a few good restaurants nearby, and there was an underground shopping mall in the Campo Pequeno building, with a Pingo Dolce, a large supermarket. Also convenient for the airport.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have best wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rancher1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel Alif is located in Campo Pequeno, across the street from the bull ring. While not located in the main tourist areas, it is only a short walk to the metro and buses that will take you where you need to go. The people at the front desk spoke English well, and I thought the service was excellent overall. I booked a "double or two twin beds" room; it turned out to be two twins pushed together, but I slept well enough that it didn't matter.

The Campo Pequeno area actually has quite a bit going on, and this may not be immediately visible as you walk through it. Under the bull ring is a small mall, which includes a number of shops and restaurants and a movie theatre. On weekends in the offseason (at least), there is a market in the main area as well.

I enjoyed my trip to Lisbon and thought the Alif made an excellent home base.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Alif, hotel is located in Campo Pequeno, safe area at 15-20 mins taxi or metro (nearby) from the city center. Very convenient, rooms are clean and enough spacious, comfortable overall. Staff was very helpful in answering questions and really reserved. Confirmed that rooms on the top floors are nicer (we switched from a room with moquette to another without - more suitable for us). Metro station is pretty near outside. Lisbon is wonderful and Alif is definetely a good starting point to reach all the attractions and the airport (15 mins by taxi)

Room Tip: Try to book on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

stayed here one night on a layover, 10 minutes from the airport- beware of cab drivers who take you on tours! bidet and very nice bathroom, definitely more than i expected for the money. Dont think it is in a very convenient location for tourists although the bull fighting arena is next door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I found my experience to be very underwhelming. I would be OK with the hotel for a night or two, but never recommend it for a vacation. The Staff at the reception seemed rude; like they were upset that they had to check-in another guest to the hotel. I had trouble accessing the WI-FI internet (which was NOT free) and they would not help me, but rather acted with dimissive disdain.

I had to use the hotel safe, and like WI-FI, it was a daily charge of 1.5 Euro. The rooms provided the minimum of comfort, but were generally cold and uninviting.

I would never recommend or go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#72 of 255 in Lisbon
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#238 of 255 in Lisbon
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#163 of 255 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turim Iberia Hotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#130 of 255 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alif Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alif Hotel

Address: Campo Pequeno 51, Lisbon 1000-081, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alif Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alif Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alif Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing