We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd recommend it for a short stay”
Review of Novotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Lisboa
Ranked #103 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I'd recommend it for a short stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I chose this hotel because it offered free wi-fi, had a pool and we got an excellent rate including breakfast. Breakfast is excellent. A really good range of choices. I liked the pool area, but it was March so could have done with a bit of freshening up. The lobby area is pleasant, the bar good, and the draught beer very nice. Staff were very helpful. Our room was nice, the bathroom large, and the TV had a lot of english language entertainment channels. My only complaint was the noisy aircon. But this is not unusual. The area is a banking/residential one. Quite smart, but quiet. There are a few nice bars, cafes and restaurants, and it's just a short walk to El Corte Ingles, the big department store. It's a little over 5 minutes walk to the two metro stations, one on the red line, the other on the blue. It's 20-25 minutes from the hotel to Chiado/Biarro Alto

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    1,451
    362
    70
    25
See reviews for
1,396
622
115
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a pleasant enough Novotel located in the main business district of Lisbon, which makes it a bit out of the way for the main tourist sights, though the airport bus and one of the open-top bus tours do stop just outside, and it’s only about a five minute walk down the hill to the metro station (though that also makes it a five minute slog back up the hill at the end of the day!)

Rooms are comfortable, well presented and clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful

Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide choice and of a high quality

Positives
Good rooms
Friendly staff

Negatives
Bit out of the way

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussy Saint Georges
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed in this hotel in Oct 2013. Rooms were decent size. we had one extra bed in the room for our son. Even with extra bed, there was enough space in the room to move. First night the room we stayed had water leak from window frame (due to heavy rain). They changed the room next day as no room was available first night. Staff was very friendly and helpful to guide us on the tourist attractions and how to reach. hotel has a small playing area for kids which our son enjoyed a lo.t HOtel is not in central area but has a metro station nearby which can take to central. There is also a hop on hop off stop close to hotel. The metro stop is 5-10 mins walk and not very closeby . If you have small kids then it could little difficult for kids to walk down to the station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RajAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you want to dinner in Lisboa go to the restaurant of the novotel. Every evening a superb dinner for only 16 euro.A good bottle of wine for only 8.45 euro and the perfect and galant service of Pedro. Fresh products of high quality at a very low price. make a choice of the cheeses and feel you in France at portugese pr'ices. To recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kameel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked a family room (two adults, two children) for 3 nights over half-term. The hotel was easy to find, there are two underground stations within walking distance, and the airport is at the other end of the (short) line. Check-in was polite and quick, we found our room to be comfortable and quiet (we didn't hear any aircraft flying over). The internet is free and of fair quality, and there is a mini;bar which was useful for keeping items cold. The TV had over 60 channels including Sky News, BBC World and BBC Entertainment. Breakfast was included and was plentiful and of excellent quality. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant on two occasions in the evening. One evening featured a fine buffet which was good value and very varied. The hotel is situated in a road with many other hotels and there are other restaurants close by, including an all-you-can-eat Brazilian barbecue. Also, the Sete Rios railway station is five minutes away, handy if you plan to visit Sintra (highly recommended). I would not hesitate in returning to the Novotel Lisboa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidGeorge126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellant place to stay with your family. Lisbon is a wonderful city!
My family spent 4 nights in this hotel and it was very comfortable. Close to metro and nearby shopping center El Cote Ingles. Ten minutes walking distance to Lisbon Zoo, which is a great place to see if you are with kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank AleksiVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What I liked: Staff at front desk was super friendly and excellent attention. No problem with early check which is wonderful after long overnight flight. Breakfast is very good and a lot of variety of hot and cold foods. Rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Internet wifi speed is slow and connection is spotty. (1.25 MBPS downlaod speed is inadequate). I think 4 star hotels have an obligation to provide a no cost and high quality internet service. They offer a paid Premium service but i find that distasteful.
Room furnishings are of a 3 star hotel and very simple/basic.
The gym is tiny and poorly equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
1.8 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#116 of 247 in Lisbon
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lisboa

Property: Novotel Lisboa
Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 1, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#82 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lisboa is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, next to Praca de Espanha and the Gulbenkian Foundation and just 2 km from Marques de Pombal Square. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 249airconditioned rooms, including 150 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, seven meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking and a swimming pool. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisbon
Lisbon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing