We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten-free Breakfast”
Review of Novotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Lisboa
Ranked #119 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked this stay at Lisbon Novotel, via an online agent as a short break treat for my mum and Daughter. On Monday of this week I found out my flight had been cancelled. The agent and I were not able to find any other direct flight, or stop over flight without a significant delay. Despite this the hotel refused to give us any of the money we had paid back saying they have a no refund policy. I can appreciate that businesses need to safeguard themselves against people changing their mind on a whim, but my family wanted to stay at the hotel but simply could not get there. This episode has been distressing to say the least, given this is a big hotel chain...... Please be mindful of this prior to booking.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Livtoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here after optimus alive festival for 5 nights because it was a very reasonable price. The public areas are exactly the same as any other Novotel around the world (as expected), I wouldn't have liked to stay for any longer as it lacks a certain unique charm that I would usually go for on holiday..
The room was very big, clean and kept tidy excellently by the hotel staff. The bathroom was extremely nice and spacious. The staff on reception were very helpful.
The breakfast was disappointing. The cooked breakfast was limited, with no baked beans :( and it was a bit hectic and unorganised if you turned up between 9:30 and 10- you'd have to queue for about 10 minutes before being unfriendly greeted by the staff and sent to a specific area of the restaurant.
Pool area was small but nice, got quite busy after 4:30. Pool was very cold!!
If I stayed in Lisbon again I would not go back to the Novotel, only because of its location... it is 25 minutes walk from the city centre and about 40 minutes walk to the restaurant/bar area, which for me is a little too far. There is a metro station about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.. but by the time you've got on, paid and got off, it takes kinda the same amount of time as walking. Good thing about location is you can get a bus straight to airport from the bus stop over the road.
I think this hotel would be ideal for short business trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evewbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had chosen the Novotel Lisbon for our sightseeing trip. As the matter of fact, after staying in many other Novotels around the World, the one in Lisbon doesn't have anything special. Great staff, nice location, some maintenance is required. The rooms are quite big for the family of 4 persons (2 adults and 2 kids). Some cleaning / replacement of room carpet would be nice.

The breakfasts are fine. The restaurant is a bit small and mainly crowded in the morning. We could not find any fresh vegetables on the buffet tables.

The sightseeing bus stop is just across the road. There is no zebra line to pass and you have either to walk some distance to the closest traffic light, or risk you life and run across.

It takes around 10-15 minutes to reach the hotel from International Airport and taxi ride will be approximately 10 Euros.

As usually, Novotel is a good choice for a short visit to the new place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 kids ages 3 and 6 and we had a great time.

The room was clean and the kids received a special welcome surprise gift upon arrival.

They have a great kids' play area to keep them occupied during check-in/check-out and the breakfast buffet has lots of selection and is very good.

Another great thing is that the walls are fully sound-proof.

The subway downtown is also a quick 10-minute walk away and we were able to get down to the Baxia-Chiado station downtown in less than 15 minutes.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Toronto31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A really good hotel, everything clean and tidy, room was of a very good standard. The bed a little firm for my liking, bathroom excellent and modern bags of hot water. Check in was a bit hectic, we arrived after 2pm checkin time room was not ready, it took about 1hr to get everyone in order but while waiting the manager gave us a complimentary drink in the bar.
We eat in the restaurant a few evenings, which is a buffet style service, a great choice which will suit most tastes, TOP TIP THE HOUSE RED IS VERY GOOD.
All in all a very good hotel the metro station is only a short walk away about 10 mins, hotel could do with better guide on direction from station on website as we did go a little off course walking to the hotel, but other than that all fine. If you enjoy Indian food there is an excellent restaurant 3 mins walk from the hotel. directions to go out of hotel front door turn right and walk 3-4 mins and its on same side as hotel, you won't be disappointed, best Madras i ever tasted anywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 711, which was excellent, look in a couple others and look same quality, 7th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnthonyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#93 of 255 in Lisbon
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,067 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lisboa

Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 1, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lisboa is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, next to Praca de Espanha and the Gulbenkian Foundation and just 2 km from Marques de Pombal Square. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 249airconditioned rooms, including 150 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, seven meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking and a swimming pool. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisbon
Lisbon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing