We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Novotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Lisboa
Ranked #117 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2009

very luxury, nice lounge and pool, nice rooms, free internet, close to metro station

but: no restaurants or bars close to the hotels, nothing to do in the evening, need to go by metro in the Barrio Alto, every five minutes one airplane over your head when laying at the pool, breakfast and diner/supper is very expensive

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights - got a good price by booking on their webiste well in advance. Room fine although when the bed settee was opened up there was not much circulation space,spotlessly clean and a lovely bathroom. Very good breakfast - even enough choice for my daughter and her friend - both fussy vegeterians ! Pool - clean, plenty of sunbeds; yes it is under the flight path but that did not lessen our enjoyment. There is a baby pool and a small play area, that is shaded by trees so good for little ones. We found the food in the restaurant very good - buffet style; we enjoyed eating in the hotel the first night we ate there in our second night too. Very good value especially if you are travelling with kids - 10 euro each for them, the cut-off age for childrens prices is 12 however when we said our girls were 14 they still let us have the 10 euro rate - a good deal. We walked from the hotel all the way through Lisbon to the harbour side, took us about 90 mins but we were meandering and taking in the sites. Then purchased the 24 hour travel card and used it extensively. Metro very easy to navigate,we also used the tram 28 which was great. Also used the Gloria funicular to access the San Roc ( I think) church - an amazing interior. The nearest metro to the hotel is only about 3 minutes walk - come out of the hotel turn left and walk around the back of the hotel and keep left ( you are now walking alonside a busy dual carrigeway) as you walk the road curves very slightly left you can now see a bus station and the side of the Lisbon Acores hotel - the metro is directly in front of this hotel's front entrance. The Courte Ingles shopping centre is simply right out of the hotel and walk for 7 minutes there is also a metro station underneath this shopping centre. It is mainly "designer" shops but there is a supermarket in the basement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Just returned from 6 day break in Lisbon staying at Novotel.Taxi ride from Airport should cost around 9 euros we thought reading existing reviews but we were charged 18 euros, you should check with driver how much before you get in as we were 9 euros going back to Airport from taxi which sits outside hotel. Not a good start getting ripped off on arrival. Hotel and food at hotel very good, the hotels evening buffet excellent value for money at 15 euros for adults and 10 for children. Breakfast buffet also very good. We found Liz Bonne cafe good value for drink/food but closes at 8pm, it is on the other side of road from Novotel, down to your left about 150 yards. We found the metro underneath El Corte Inglis better for walking back to hotel as the other station is over some waste ground. Metro good value and we felt quite safe using it compared to some other cities but beware if offered a seat on metro as this is a tactic to separate your group, once they were aware that we knew what they were up to as they kept looking at my bag and other ladies bags they left at next stop.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pokersmygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Our family recently took an impromptu trip to Lisbon and we enjoyed Lisbon and the Novotel very much. This is a typical Novotel just outside the tourist area of Lisbon. The taxi from the airport is about 10 minutes and should cost about 9-10 euros (if you want to avoid the long lines, grab a taxi from the upper level).
We had requested a non-smoking room and were told we could not check in until noon (it was actually around 1pm before a non-smoking room was available). The hotel has a nice compact pool area and a small play area for the little ones (we did not use the pool, but it appeared to be well maintained.)
The lobby is very modern and well kept and there are two free internet computers that guests can use for 20 minutes at a time (wi-fi is 20euros a day- very pricey!). The rooms are on the large size for a Novotel and 4 of us slept comfortably. The bathroom is very large and the shower was luxurious. The room was very clean and well mantained.
The breakfast each morning was fabulous! The kids eat free and there were many items on the buffet - fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, breads, juices, eggs, meats etc. We really enjoyed this each morning and the price was only 11 euro for each adult.
Be sure to ask the front desk for a map of Lisbon and a map of the LIsbon transit system. Also we would recommend a card that you can purchase in the metro stations -good for 24 hours -I believe it is called the 7 Carris - good for trams, furniculars, busses and metro. Our took the metro back to the hotel one night around 11pm and felt safe -however, as I already mentioned, the walk to the metro is about 5 minutes -although the area seemed to be safe (the local police annex is just behind the hotel about 3 min. from the metro) I do not recommend you return alone at night (I am a very cautious person). Anothe option for returning at night - would be to take a taxi -a bit more costly than the metro, but taxis were very affordable in this city.
Lisbon is a wonderful city filled with friendly people, warmth and charm. The Novotel is a great option for families looking for an inexpensive stay in a convenient location. We will stay here again when we return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2traveltheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed Sunday to Sunday. Taxi from airport 10 minutes to hotel. Staff very nice and helpful.Recently been refurbished in minimillistic style, calm colours everywhere. Good gymnasium and swimming pool.Free access to internet for 20 minutes at a time. Bedroom very roomy and comfortable double bed. The bathroom was very stylish with a wonderful shower. Nice restaurants nearby. A visit to Setubal is a must on the train. Best selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank potterpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

From previous reviews we stayed here that is a good choice if you want a nice room & bath for a decent price for families with children or mature couples. If you're young, single, gay or in that type of group, you'll probably want a place in Barrio Alto where the action is. We paid $99 per night with advance purchase with the hotel. The Metro system is great and the Praca de Espana station is right by the hotel. Just walk around the back of the hotel and keep walking left under the overpass past the bus stops and you'll find it. It can be a little confusing as the hotel is on a hill with a bridge over the motorway. From the Praca de Espana Metro you can easily get to most of the tourist sites. If you are tired from a long day of sight seeing & don't want to hassle getting back on the Metro for dinner, you have the choice of some restaurants nearby.

Not far from the hotel is the Corte Ingleis shopping center. Besides buying anything you want, like your own beer or wine instead of paying for the mini-fridge, they have a nice restaurant with a view. There are also restaurants accross from the hotel about a block down the street. One such is Cervejeira Lusitana that is the Portugeese version of Denny's. No it ain't great but if your feet are tired from walking all day, it's close by and the food is OK. I had the Combo German that is sausage, mashed potatoes, & kraut.

For a good meal & 10 minute + walk, I do recommend Restaurante O Paco, Av. de Berna
44 B accross from the Gulbenkiam museum. They have good sea food at very reasonable prices.

All things considered, Novotel is a good choice if you don't want to pay $ 250.00 per night plus like the other good reviews for Lisbon on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Wanted to give this 3.5 but rating wont enable us to.

The room is clean and contemporary. The air con was ineffecient and needed attention. The bathroom is spacious and above average for this class of hotel. We loved the 2 different showers you could use and the daily restocked complimentary toiletries.

There was an excellent selection for buffet hot & cold breakfast (including the must try local cakes). The breakfast was included in our price as we booked with airmiles.

The location isn't really interesting, as it`s in a new commercial area, with modern buildings and hotels, though is easy to find and there is a local metro station within 10 minute walking distance.

It's a "safe choice", and we got good value for the price.

We loved Lisbon & recommend visiting the city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#88 of 255 in Lisbon
1,360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lisboa

Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 1, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £59 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lisboa is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, next to Praca de Espanha and the Gulbenkian Foundation and just 2 km from Marques de Pombal Square. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 249airconditioned rooms, including 150 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, seven meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking and a swimming pool. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisbon
Lisbon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing