We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff makes the difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Ranked #108 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“staff makes the difference.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i recently stayed at this hotel with the detroit anthropology group. the staff was above and beyond helpful, especially pedro and cristina. cristina could teach hospitality in any country i think.when she talks with you you have her full attention. she really knows lisbon and loves "her" city.
from that stay i am looking into other ibis or accor hotels to stay in on my next trip.

Room Tip: i kept windows shut so did not hear any street noises.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank broandsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    929
    328
    41
    20
See reviews for
456
674
183
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is a standard Ibis , which means, clean room, small, nothing very special. The staff is attentive, but breakfast could be a bit better, with more fresh fruits. It is very well located if you need to go to the University of Lisboa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rnonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRASILIA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a classic IBIS hotel: clean rooms, comfy bed, excellent shower, spotless towels, friendly reception, low price etc. Why say more? I stayed a couple of nights recently and found that the only problem was the distance from the real center of the city, which I assume is the reason people go to Lisbon. The publicity boasts "near to the Metro station", which it is if you are a young sprinter. In fact by the time you get down to the trains in the Praça da Espanha it is a good 15-20 minute walk. Late at night I also found the area to be eerily quiet when I exited the metro and I was very glad to get back into the hotel safe and sound. This is basically a business quarter, with virtually no attractive eateries nearby, and I suppose good for a short business stay or an overnight stay before catching a next-day flight, but I would hesitate to bring a family here for a week´s stay. I recommend using the plentiful taxis to and from the center rather than the metro, usually costing only 7 or 8 euros, although heavy evening traffic can cause monumental jams and push up the price. Taxi to the airport is 10 euros. The other great advantage is the proximity of the hotel to the Gulbenkian Museum- a must for anyone interested in art. I paid 48 euros a night at the hotel, plus 5 for breakfast:a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This property is a good value for money for a business stay in Lisbon. Location is decent with many restaurants to choose from the locality. Some big shopping malls are at a walking distance. Breakfast was inexpensive and elaborate. Avoid if you have to do sight seeing of the city by bus or metro. Otherwise a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddharth_Balasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Standard Ibis means ok prices and basic clean accommodation.

Best thing about the hotels is it's close proximity to the old town. Wifi is free (though coverage in the room is patchy) and breakfast is simple but only €6 per person.

It's situated up on a hill which can be painful at timed but that's most of central Lisbon anyway.

The aircon had a tendency to not cool the room enough on a hot day but it was ok as we were out mostly in the afternoon anyway.

Also had an argument with reception as I wanted to use a €40 voucher against €36 of breakfast spend and they refused to accept it because it was more than the amount even when I said I didn't need change. Luckily I thought quickly and bought 4 mineral waters with it so managed to use the voucher but found it all a bit odd.

Overall happy with the stay and would come again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnoriel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#149 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#135 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Liberdade
#111 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa

Property: Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa Lote H, Lisbon 1070-158, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#73 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa hotel is located in the city centre of Lisbon, 5 km from the airport, 300 m from the Praca de Espanha and 450 m from the Zoo in Sete Rios. Ideal for weekend escapes and longer holiday stays, the hotel is entirely airconditioned and features 211 rooms as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving snacks 24 hours, private undercover parking and 1 meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Accor Lisboa Jose Malhoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing