We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a 5* hotels can learn from this...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Ranked #108 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a 5* hotels can learn from this...”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is only rated 2 stars. In my opinion is under-rated !! It should be an example to those with a 5* behind their names. From the moment we checked-in, throughout our stay, and when we left, this hotel showed us what a customer service is all about.

The staff are great. They seem to truly enjoy what they do and love their customers. From the front-office, bar, to the room attendants... they are super friendly and professional.

We specially impressed with one individual working the front-desk, VERA. She KNOWS her city very well. Much better than any of the concierge you can find at a 5 * properties. Several times she gave us recommendation. Whether how to get to a place, a place to drink, a place to eat, she never failed us !!! All of her recommendations are superb.

The staff working at the bar are also very nice and professional. I really enjoy interacting with them. They showed true interest in talking with us !!!

Now to the room. It is adequate. Clean, modern, and comfortable. The only think I could think of that they might be able to provide in the near future is a coffee maker. I am the type of person who would boil some water as soon as I open my eyes and make myself a cup of coffee.. In this hotel, it's not the case. There's none. So this is merely a suggestion to the hotel management. May be they want to upgrade the room's amenities to include coffee maker.

All in all, a very satisfying stay !!! ... KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK !! and to Vera, Thank you thank you very much !!! ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    929
    328
    41
    20
See reviews for
456
674
183
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Cache, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in alot of similiar priced hotels on our trip to both Portugal and Spain, in comparable cities and locations. This one was below par. The room was so tiny you could barely move, and the bathroom was so outdated it was almost gross. They had one person working at the front desk so you had to wait 1/2 hour-45 minutes just to ask a quick question.

The night staff was, however, fantastic.

I travel alot, and do not think I will stay at another Ibis on their pricepoint. I found many hotels that were the same or cheaper and much much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This a excellent budget hotel and follows the usual great value standards of the Ibis group. Its a modern high rise building. The room was a good compact size, very clean and in very good order. The house keeping is very efficient too. All usual features are provided, TV, phone, aircon, bathroom with shower, hairdryer with built in radio! But there is no room safe provided. The staff on reception are friendly and helpful. They all spoke English. The nearest metro station is Praça de Espanha (on the red line) which is approximately 10-12 minutes walk away. The area is mostly a business district, is well lit at night and feels safe to be in. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i recently stayed at this hotel with the detroit anthropology group. the staff was above and beyond helpful, especially pedro and cristina. cristina could teach hospitality in any country i think.when she talks with you you have her full attention. she really knows lisbon and loves "her" city.
from that stay i am looking into other ibis or accor hotels to stay in on my next trip.

Room Tip: i kept windows shut so did not hear any street noises.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank broandsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is a standard Ibis , which means, clean room, small, nothing very special. The staff is attentive, but breakfast could be a bit better, with more fresh fruits. It is very well located if you need to go to the University of Lisboa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rnonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#149 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#135 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Liberdade
#111 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa

Property: Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa Lote H, Lisbon 1070-158, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#73 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa hotel is located in the city centre of Lisbon, 5 km from the airport, 300 m from the Praca de Espanha and 450 m from the Zoo in Sete Rios. Ideal for weekend escapes and longer holiday stays, the hotel is entirely airconditioned and features 211 rooms as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving snacks 24 hours, private undercover parking and 1 meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
Accor Lisboa Jose Malhoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing