We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms with utterly fantastic customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #238 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Myself and nine friends have just returned from the VIP Berna and simply have to praise the staff's efforts at the hotel. The occasion was my stag party and upon arrival the check-in staff made sure to provide us with enough keys for all of us and help with locations to make us feel at home. The rooms were fairly simple but had enough toiletries and other bits to aid those of us who had forgotten!

The location was a little out of the main bar/restaurant district, but a metro station was just around the corner. The area is perfectly safe and has enough bakeries and small bars to cater for a quick drink here or there. The breakfast at the hotel is buffet-based and contains some fairly decent hot and cold food.

A special mention must go out to the hotel barman, Bruno. He did everything he could to haul us out of our Sunday hangovers with cheese toasties and a few invigorating beers! A cracking guy; see you at the reunion!

I'd recommend this hotel for couples and friends alike who want a simple base to explore the city from.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DKDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

This a good hotel if you get a good deal. It is located near the Bullfight ring, and just 2 minutes walking from Campo Pequeno underground station, which will take you to the most turistic part of Lisbon in 10 minutes.

The hotel could do with a renovation since most of the furniture and the decorations it seems to be from the late seventies, however it is very clean. Staff were professional and nice, nothing special but nothing wrong. If I am back in Lisbon I will choose this hotel again as long as they have a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011. This hotel was outdated and it could get really dark in the hallway in the evening. The room we stayed at had a reasonable size and the toilet had a tub. The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price we paid I couldn’t really complain that much, it was closed to metro station and there were restaurants nearby.
If you want a clean place to stay then this is the hotel for you but do not expect anything fancy as what they have is very basic.

Room Tip: get a room that is not closed to the elevator as it can get really disturbing while you are asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BossyMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Near the subway, in the center of Lisbon is a low cost hotel with the advantage of its location. Service is ok and rooms are regular. The main advantage is the location and price. Do not take breakfast there as outside you can easy find a nice café for it. If you want an upgrade for some more 20 Euros you can find nearby others hotels of this group with higher level of comfort

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old part of the hotel. They have a new building but not often used and you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArturVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Very pleasant hotel, with friendly staff. Nice big bedroom and bathroom. Very convenient to metro, train, airport shuttle or just a good walk into the centre. Internet access normally, but as was not working when there, you could easily use the sister hotel nearby, free.

Airport only a short distance away, via, shuttle bus, metro or possibly even walk (I guess)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

very nice situation for a few days in this very welcoming capital
simply decorated rooms with nice bathroom, very clean
reasonable extented breakfast, friendly
and very high quality for a little money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippersVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is close to airport. Take the airport bus 3.50 euro (buy a round trip for cheaper, and you buy your ticket on the bus). Get off at Campo Pequeno stop and it is right around the corner. The rooms are outdated but clean and good size. The elevator is a bit scarey at first. Free wifi in the lobby only. The metro and bus are very close, you can walk to the city center, or buy a day pass. It was 5.50 euro for 1 day and good on the bus, metro, train, and tram. If you walk in the city wear good shoes, the sidewalks are small stones that are smooth from wear. It was dry and I slipped about 5 times, lots of hills too. It must be treacherous in the rain. Didn't have any food at the bar, but coffee with milk was good and a glass of red wine at the end of the night was good and cheap 2.50 euro. I would stay again, my room was $100 usd for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#186 of 255 in Lisbon
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turim Iberia Hotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#138 of 255 in Lisbon
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#224 of 255 in Lisbon
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIP Executive Entrecampos Hotel & Conference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £32 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing