We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location to train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #230 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location to train station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is an easy walk to here from the train station. Also close to the Campo Pequeno Metro Station and an underground shopping centre.
The hotel is clean & quiet - which what most are looking for. Got a special rate so price was excellent. I didn't eat there but the breakfast buffet looked good.
As in a lot of hotels : free wifi is only available in the lobby. To get wifi in your room you have to pay- not sure of the rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    149
    237
    85
    59
See reviews for
82
183
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good hotel for the money. No unpleasant surprises, adequate staff, good breakfast. Located off center, yet nearest metro station (Campo Pequeno) is 5-7 minutes walk from the hotel.
Wi-Fi is restricted to the lobby area, however it worked for me in the 1st floor room. Keeps disconnecting though and nagging you with sign-in prompts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights in early June 2013. Price was OK for Lisbon but the room was the smallest double I have ever stayed in, even smaller than those in Residencias. Even the bath was three-quarter size. Breakfast was good and the location was good for us as we know Lisbon fairly well. The location of the room would not have been good for anyone with mobility issues as, as well as the lift, we had to negotiate some steps with heavy luggage - no help there from the staff! Room and bathroom were clean, but all very claustrophobic. Would not stay there again unless assured of a full sized room etc.

Room Tip: Book through a website that gives dimensions of the room booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Been there for two weeks, the internet is only in lobby, the breakfast is very poor, personnel are okay but not very helpful. The staff are all over the place, they are loud and noisy. The room service concluded in organizing your bed, they come whenever they want and enter without knocking! The location is very good near campo pequeno and major city hubs. To me the main advantage is cheap price only when you dont get the breakfast otherwise you can find much better in city with a little higher price. If you a get a room in first floors prepare yourself for a very thin foamy bed which it is not comfortable at all. The rooms are too small

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

It was nice finding a place walking distance from the train station. It was clean, quiet, air conditioned & with friendly staff. I didn't have time to try the breakfast buffet but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This budget hotel is in the financial area of of Lisbon.
The rooms are tiny, it is impossible to walk around the bed when the curtains are closed. You can hear people talking or listening to TV in the surrounding rooms. Breakfast is not included, but is cheap and good value. WiFi only works in the lobby but is free. The lift didn't work and we had to use the service lift to get to our room.
You get what you pay for.
If you are visiting Lisbon as a tourist there are hotels that will meet your needs in far better locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebert46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in June. It took about 10 mins by car from the airport. On our first night we were informed that unfortunately we had a twin room as all the doubles were full. A little disappointing, but the receptionist promised we would get a more suitable room the next day. The first room was on the third floor and was a little small, the view wasn't great and it was quite noisy. The next morning we were given the double room as promised and it was a world away from the first room. It was bigger, seemed lighter and we had a great view over the surrounding buildings as it was on the 10th floor. The staff were happy to answer questions, provide free wifi codes etc, and always with a smile. The room was cleaned every day to an extremely high standard, and fresh towels too which is something that happens less and less often nowadays. The complimentary toileteries were actually nice, and had good clean fragrances, again, quite unusual! The location is a bit out from the main tourit areas but there is a metro station a couple of minutes walk away, so nothing takess too long to get to. for what you pay, it definately deserves 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#155 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#228 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#140 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eduardo VII
Hotel Eduardo VII
#232 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Property: VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing