We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant three day stay”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #49 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very pleasant three day stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Read lots of good reviews before we went and am pleased to be able to add to them myself. Stayed for three nights a couple of weeks ago now and have marked it for our return whenever we come back to Lisbon.

Well located and welcoming with great breakfast to start the day off. One minute walk from metro station and also pleasant stroll down the Avenida.

Reception very welcoming on arrival and helpful throughout stay - no problem with us checking in a few hours early. Room not massive to be fair but we were certainly able to watch the Murrary v Djokovic Wimbledon final in comfort.

Tips: try the Floresta do Salitre just up the road from Ribadouro for a meal (closed on Sundays) - very reasonable and enjoyable. Also Veneziana for an icecream in the south west corner of the Praca do Restauradores - at the end of the Avenida.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    568
    96
    14
    1
See reviews for
284
672
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

the hotel is well located near many attractions and easy access to the metro and cafes. the room was very clean though a little small but probably normal for Europe. there is a little leakage in noise from other rooms but not too bad. there is no clock in the room but the wake up call works perfectly. the tv is old and small but we didn't need a tv anyway. we didn't have a good view from our fifth floor room. I never saw any one use the terrace but it looked nice though currently over looks a construction zone. I think they're rebuilding a theater back there. I never heard any construction related noise.

the bar area is a nice place to relax and the port is free (two different types).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3000calories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights over the Easter period and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Location is very good - just a short walk from where the airport bus left us off. Staff on the reception desk were very friendly and helpful and recommended some really good restaurants in the vicinity. Our bedroom was a good size and looked out over the back towards the botanical gardens. As many other reviewers have commented, the breakfast was really excellent with a wide variety of food to suit all tastes. Nice little touches in the reception area like the jugs of iced water with mint leaves. Easy to walk to most places from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would have a better view. The rooms at the front are looking directly into anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gil1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I spent two weeks at the Lisbon Plaza and found it to be a very comfortable hotel. There is a huge breakfast buffet-- try the coconut buns and the N'espresso machine.

Staff speaks good English and are super helpful. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. An added bonus are several "M. Chat" portraits in the neighborhood.

The's not much lobby-life. Folks come in and go to their rooms. There's a terrace, but no one much gathers there. Probably because the view is meh.

One odd detail is that the rooms have so many mirrors. If you like staring at yourself all day, fine. If not it can actually make you self conscious. (Weird, I know.)

Wi-fi is free and easy to use. There are pitchers of cold mint water in the lobby. What's not to like!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Silver-Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We visited Lisbon for 4 days from the 1st July choose to stay in the Lisboa Plaza because of its central location. Got a taxi from the airport to the hotel was a little disappointed it was so far up at the top of Avendia da Liberdade its a bit of a walk to get to the Alfama or Bairro Alto areas where all the restaurants bars and night life is! On check in did not find the receptionist very friendly or courteous, but the young guy who showed us to our room was very helpful showed us the hotel amenities including free use of the internet in their room on the ground floor. Our room was spacious clean with a fine big en suite, well stocked with towels and toiletries. This boutique style hotel is old world in decor very *Portuguese*,one drawback ,they very much lack decent bar facilities and as i said the hotel is in a quiet area of the avenue. We really enjoyed the exceptional breakfast buffet every morning, choices of excellent juices, bucks fizz if you so desired, fresh fruits, cereals, wonderful array of breads, hot food, an Nespresso machine!! (what a treat), and to finish some divine pastries with wait for it a chocolate fountain!! An enjoyable stay in a very hot Lisbon,40* but as for the city itself it did not impress me much! Check out of our hotel was by the same unfriendly receptionist, so no ,''did you enjoy your stay with us''!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Whilst we are pleased that you enjoyed many features of our Hotel, we are most concerned that our receptionist didn’t meet your expectations. For us, it is a point of honor that all our staff transmit the warmth and friendliness of our people. We are very sorry that it was not your experience and we will keep on working to provide our guests a totally satisfactory stay.
Concerning our location, the Lisboa Plaza stands in a quiet street on the lower half of Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon’s premier promenade. Bairro Alto is located on a hill adjacent to the Avenida, so very close to our Hotel. Being a steep hill, you can take Gloria funicular, just 5 minutes from the Hotel.
Looking forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future and offer you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, easy to find and walking distance to Chiado, Bairro Alto etc. The outside, lobby, restaurant and bar look great however the bedrooms are a little out dated, but they're clean and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. It's a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel looks just like it does in all the photos. It is a real experience in a historic hotel. The rooms are a little on the small side, but they do the job. Air conditioning worked very well even though it was 41 degrees in Lisbon. The breakfast spread was great, and most of the staff in the hotel are amazing, with the exception of the staff at breakfast, who are clearly not there to interact with anyone. Internet worked well in the rooms, but electrical outlets are hard to come by.

Drawbacks: In room safe is too small for a laptop, and the hotel allows dogs, apparently, so I was woken up an hour early every morning by the non-stop barking of some tiny excuse of a dog owned by the young Japanese couple in the room next to me. If the hotel really cares about its guests, I should decide whether it wants to serve people or run a kennel. I very much want to give the hotel a 5 out of 5 rating, but because of the dog experience, the hotel does not deserve such a rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing