We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel in central situation”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #48 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2008

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights in a junior suite. It is an average 4* hotel but centrally located so easy to walk to all the sites. The reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely furnished but lacked the little extras of a 5* service - e.g turndown. The breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate as was the lunch. Hoewver, despite what the hotel directory said, the dining room was not open in the evnings. There were bar snacks available and several restaurants within a short distance. The main drwback is that the hotel is squeezed into a site bewteen a car park and a snooker club come dance hall. It has no view or outside sitting area. On a couple of nights the noise from the club kept us awake.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

Having traveled a great deal through Europe, but never to Lisbon and this time alone, I was careful to find a previously well reviewed hotel. That was the first smart thing I did.

This is a boutique hotel with outstanding service, old-world charm yet fashionable and gorgeous details,,, several living rooms, Port wine served as you check in and clean and neat rooms and public areas. The staff couldn't have been nicer to suggest where to try a light dinner for a tired lady traveling alone, a direction to walk in a magnificent neighborhood to take photos, or a cafe for dessert.

I don't know why but they gave me an upgraded suite, which had two rooms and more furniture than I knew what to do with. Yet I know I would have been just as impressed in my superior room, had I been given the one for which I had paid.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Luvs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Stayed at the Plaza Lisboa on a four day trip to Lisbon from the US. Rooms are nice, common areas are very nice, service is excellent, and location is good. Thought the hotel was a great value.Rreally liked Lison. Also, used a driver-guide (for a day trip to Sintra) who I would highly recommend if any reader is interested.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews and yes, we were pleased. It is in a good location, 10mins walk from the city centre but equally not loud or crowded.
The staff were all very friendly, although perhaps a little judgemental of our young age! (under 30)
The shared areas of the hotel were very nicely done, however, I would say that the rooms themselves were a little small, althought perfectly formed.
I would be happy to recommend this hotel and also think it would be worth pointing out that there is a nice and simple tapas bar on the next street where you can watch bull fighting while enjoying a beer and a snack.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank off-and-away09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Hotel Lisbon Plaza is a jewel in the crown of Lisbon. The staff, especially, Paulo were most gracious and helpful with our requests for a good fado restuarant. We were hoping to see Ana Moura and he researched our request and found Ana Moura at Casa de Linhares Restaurant. Thank you, Paulo!

Overall, the hotel provides a good location, 20 minute walk to pickup Tram #28 and the metro just a short walk. The rooms are well kept and the housekeeping staff very efficient. The complimentary breakfast was very good. We would highly recommend the hotel, in fact, we added another day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graycee_nf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

This is a lovely boutique hotel with great value for money. We stayed here 3 nights end Dec 2007. For the price we paid, we had free buffet breakfast (good spread), welcome drinks and to our surprise, a bottle of port to enjoy at our leisure. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Although the room was a little small, it was more cosy and not cramped. It has an excellent location - safe and near to lots of shopping and dining options. The metro was also very close to the hotel. Overall, the best deal so far.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrishVPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We visited Lisbon from Washington DC, for a 6 days in Dec '07. Lisboa Plaza is a lovely boutique hotel close to historic sites in Lisbon. The room was small but cozy. Location was perfect - we like to explore destinations on foot, and the hotel is close to sites such as Rossio, Baixa and shopping on Avenida Da Liberade. The metro stop is less than a 5 minute walk for those that prefer to commute. The hotel has free-wifi internet, which was a big bonus for us. The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange a car for a day trip to Sintra/Cascais, and also with suggestions on things to do in the area. We stayed at the hotel through Christmas day and were presented with a very good bottle of Port :) . Hope you enjoy your visit to Lisbon.

Point to note - this is a value hotel. If you are looking for something more upscale and branded, the Sofitel is not far from here and could be an option.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rabv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £79 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Avenida da Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor with different ambiances and the welcoming feeling. Rooms vary in size (from petite rooms to junior suites) but all of them offering up to date technologies. A rare combination of tradition, charm and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing