We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4Star Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #46 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at this hotel which is well located in a quiet spot just off the main avenue. There are local shops and restaurants and a 5 minutes walk takes you to the main centre of the city. Tourist bus stops and the metro are close by. We had a decent sized double room with a modern smallish bathroom The room was well equiped and very clean with a good sized fridge and television We ate a more than adequate breakfast in the dining room, some cooked items but with a really good range of confectionary and fruit.The hotel is well furnished in a traditional decor and well maintained througout and its more likely to appeal to the middle aged rather than trendy youngsters. Clearly a very well managed hotel and it shows in the staff ALL of whom were very professional and helpful.. They are clearly well trained and motivated. It makes a difference so thanks to Thomas and Andrea in particular

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a rear garden view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicmadgesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lisboa Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

A fine hotel of outstanding quality. Situated close to Avenue Liberdade and Avendia Metro station allowing a good starting point for visiting Lisbon.
Rooms are more than adequate and with top class servicing. Public rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast staff are very efficient and provide a large breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1939northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a lovely first night in Lisbon at the Plaza, beautiful entrance a great welcome as we arrived. We had a family room and the children 3 shared the adjoining room, we ate around the corner recommended by the hotel, lovely meal and a not too late night. The following morning we had a super breakfast before setting off for Castle St George, an onward trip south to the Algarve, great directions too to get out of Lisbon. The staff were all really helpful as we're the doormen who helped park the car. We had a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank AJB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We just stayed at the hotel. The room was clean but a little small. The location was good and within a few minutes walk to everything. The breakfast was large and full of choices. Overall, I would recomend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerFan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our location in the historic center.
Concerning the size of the rooms, they vary according to the room category but all of them have our special care.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Tucked right behind the main boulevard , the Avenida de Liberdade, , this hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, the Chiado district, Alfama, the old quarter, and the river. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and very clean and the breakfast is excellent.. Perfect for a great stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has everything you need for a great stay in Lisbon.The staff are friendly and helpful.The rooms are of a good standard and cleaned to a high standard.The location is excellent and if you like walking most of the city can be done on foot.Buses also stop outside the hotel and the metro is close to hand. The breakfast could not be faulted with food to suit every taste.
It is close to many excellent restaurants.For a local meal at a great price try the Floresta do Salitre
for price and quality it is hard to fault. (3 course meal for 2 plus bottle of wine was 37 euros)
In summary an excellent hotel to stay in Lisbon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is tucked away in a small street, right behind the Sofitel Hotel. It is steps away from Lisbon"s "Fifth Avenue", Avenida da Liberdade. We stayed here for 8 nights. Our group included two toddlers (4 and 2 years). We had a wonderful stay, thanks to the always helpful and curteous staff. The hotel is close to the downtown area (Rossio Square, Chiado, Barrio Alto etc.). We walked to practically every point of interest. The front desk staff were always ready and willing to give us recommendations for restaurants, provide directions and answer dozens of questions we had.

The buffet breakfast is offered in a nice dining area and the selection of items is excellent. The only gripe I had was the lack of a toaster! A variety of healthy baked goods, fruit, cold cuts, juices and dairy products is available to satisfy practically every taste.

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious by European standards. Airconditioning works fine. However do not count on any spectacular views. Our room faced the back of Sofitel Hotel. It did not matter much to us as we spent most of the time outside the hotel, visiting various attractios. The walls separating the rooms are very thin. We could practically hear everthing from the neighbouring room. A renovation of the room furnishings would cerainly make things better.

The bar and the lounge are very inviting and comfortable for enjoying a drink after a tiring day of sightseeing.

Inspite of some of the issues I have listed, this is an excellent hotel, well run and staffed with people who enjoy looking after the hotel guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
2,359 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 254 in Lisbon
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#23 of 254 in Lisbon
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £65 - £916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Avenida da Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor with different ambiances and the welcoming feeling. Rooms vary in size (from petite rooms to junior suites) but all of them offering up to date technologies. A rare combination of tradition, charm and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing