We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can pay more if you wish, but you cannot do better”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #47 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is on a quiet street in an elegant area of town, directly next to the Sofitel and the stores of Emerenegildo Zegan and Hugo Boss. Service perfect in every way. Best hotel breakfast you can get, including champagne and cholocate fountain, should you want those, but broad array of everything else you could want. Beautifully decorated and very nice rooms. It's on a par with more expensive hotels and well-located for easy walking to the Rossio train(to Sintra, for instance) or the big waterfront square with excellent restaurants. I would not choose anywhere else in Lisbon. Had one other hotel in town and it was same price but not nearly as good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August 2013. Its just a few minutes walk from the Metro station, and easy to get to via train from the airport.
The welcome on arrival was warm, and the ice cold drink was welcome.
Our room was on the small size, but as expected for a hotel in the centre of a European capital city. The hotel is very central, easy walking to restaurants, bars and tram stops.
Loved the extensive breakfast in a very elegant setting.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, and we had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a nice hotel that breathes old class. Breakfast is elaborate (with bubbles and a -tacky- chocolate fountain if you like that kind of things), staff is friendly, rooms are clean. The only downside I can think of is that the hotel seems.. small, cramped even sometimes. From the lobby to the restaurant and certainly the rooms, you never get that "open" feeling. Of course, it is in the middle of the center, so I guess it's not that strange.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank frankandsofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
The Lisboa Plaza is a cozy hotel in a cozy city. Like Lisbon, the Lisboa Plaza has a cozy character in opposition to large hotels in big cities. It is the Portuguese way of life that our hotel reflects since its opening in the 50’s. There are different size of rooms according to room category starting from the Petite Room.
We are very happy that you were pleased with our friendly staff and with other features of our hotel and we would be delighted to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lisboa Palaza for six nights. For the purpose of sightseeing. It was the second stay for us and came to like this hotel more and more. Nothing was better than their warm attentions for us who had travelled from far(after 24 hours moving). The receptionists, the barman and the person in charge of dining room...all of them rememberd and welcomed us.

The reception is so helpful. When I asked about the strike of public transportation, they checked it immediately and told me in detail. Also, they know about GOOD restaurants of local dishes near the hotel.

There always are glass pitchers in front of the reception for the visitors' refleshment. They contain water with peppermint, sliced orange or lemon for each. I think it is much appreciated offer for every visitor.

However Portugal is far from our country, we do hope to visit there and stay at Hotel Lisboa Palaza again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguin_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

You don't want a five stars. Neither a dodgy grunge oozy average one. No mirror tower. No fragile antiquity. Somewhere elegant and cheerful, well-equipped and central, with smiles at the reception. The cluster of Heritage Hotels (they all have different names) is for you. Lisboa Plaza might sound dull : the place definitely deserves a better one. But there is something magic, unexpected, indeed convincing, something you will remember forever : candles at breakfast. Candles in August. In the hottest month in Lisbon. And this soft light, this comforting feeling when you wake up, is just perfect to reorder your thoughts, enjoy the food, make plans for the day, feel smooth, and alert, and blessed, and ready to swallow the city. Ready to face the broad daylight, on these extraordinary, shiny, graphic, majolique and azulejo pavements, striding as a king, or a queen.

Room Tip: Don't take any bus. Walk all the way through most lively places ro the Museu do Azulejo. Indulg...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank corinne292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed with a small group over New Year and found the hotel excellent in all respects. The spread at breakfast was amazing in its generosity and variety, and we had two buffet dinners as well which were of the highest quality. Staff were always helpful and the location perfect for city visiting on foot or by metro. The room could be set as a double or as a twin: it was a little cramped with twin beds but fine when set as a double. This is the first hotel I've ever visited with a suggestions box in the lift (!), but we didn't make use of it. There was Wi-Fi in the rooms and also a computer in the lobby where we were able to check in for the return flight and print our boarding cards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I went with my family and really liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The Hotel is old but has very good installations. Beautiful furniture and rooms. The location is also good. Close to downtown Lisboa. There is also a subway station nearby. No kid activities or pool. Price was a bit steep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
955 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £91 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Avenida da Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor with different ambiances and the welcoming feeling. Rooms vary in size (from petite rooms to junior suites) but all of them offering up to date technologies. A rare combination of tradition, charm and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing