We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean friendly and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #47 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“clean friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff at this hotel were particularly helpful. The Breakfast was fabulous with all the Famous Portuguese pastries as well as the usual cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast.
The Bar was comfortable and friendly and the best place to use Wi-Fi which worked very well in this hotel.
There are plenty of restaurants and cafes around. Don't forget to go into the backstreets for more interesting restaurants, including vegetarian food.
There were markets in the Park behind the hotel on Saturdays that had some interesting and innovative local crafts at good prices.
Busses and trains are close by and the hop on hop off bus is too.
We had trouble with 'grayline' tours pickup and drop offs from this hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful.
I strongly suggest that those using 'grayline' tours package deals go to their depot at the top of the hill to confirm all their tours when they first arrive. Grayline Lisbon do not send confirmation of bookings and pick up to the hotels the day before the tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    583
    99
    15
    1
See reviews for
293
693
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very clean, friendly and helpful staff, with an amazing buffet breakfast. We basically ate brunch and then a late dinner and that was it. Short walk to the Rossio train station. Great location. Only problem we had was that the hotel is a bit noisy - you can hear all of the noise in the morning starting around 8:00, and the walls are thin - you can hear your neighbors. We came in late from London so were constantly a bit sleep deprived. Other than that a big thumbs up. TIP - get the Lisboa Card if you are going to do lots of sights and take the bus and/or the train to Sintra - which we HIGHLY recommend. You can save lots of money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BiginOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great base in the centre of Lisbon - charming and a little quirky, the public areas are cosy and the lounge is the ideal place to relax with a drink and a book. Rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small and the shower a little erratic although serviceable. Excellent buffet breakfast a real plus. We enjoyed our stay at the Lisboa Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Title says it all really. I cannot find fault with anything this hotel does or has to offer. Location, staff, breakfast, room (we did have a suite) with the largest bed ever, are all of the highest order. We had originally booked with one of the sister hotels for a long weekend as part of a double birthday celebration, but due to an oversight we agreed to move to the Lisboa Palace and none of us felt one moment of regret with that decision. The adage that you measure true Customer Service by the 'recovery' when something goes amiss was certainly upheld here. The hotel and manager could not do enough for us and were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Hotel Lisboa Plaza is a nice hotel just off the busy Avendia da Liberdade. While the interior is a little dated, it is a clean and spacious hotel. The service was great and the free breakfast is unbelievable. It is probably one of the best free breakfasts I’ve had at any hotel. Also at 5pm, the offer a free glass of wine. The location is between Marques do Pombal and the downtown area. All the downtown sights are within walking distance of the hotel. The subway station is also next to the hotel. Another convenience to reach the airport or other parts of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband, 19 year old daughter and I just completed a great stay at the Lisboa Plaza. From the moment we entered the lobby "wow mom, great choice" to the time we left "this was so great" the hotel was a hit. Large room and bath, great reception rooms to hang out in and have a drink, bountiful breakfast, terrific location. The only improvements I'd suggest is newer and more exercise equipment and softer mattresses.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad that your family enjoyed to stay with us and particularly your daughter, since it means that the new generation also appreciates our traditional ambiance.
Concerning the beds, we are sorry that you found our mattresses to be on the firm side. We have the possibility, though, to turn them softer or even firmer. You just have to contact our reception staff any time during your stay if you want to change the firmness of your mattress.
Thank you for your suggestion of more exercise equipment.
We look forward to welcoming your family again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is on a quiet street in an elegant area of town, directly next to the Sofitel and the stores of Emerenegildo Zegan and Hugo Boss. Service perfect in every way. Best hotel breakfast you can get, including champagne and cholocate fountain, should you want those, but broad array of everything else you could want. Beautifully decorated and very nice rooms. It's on a par with more expensive hotels and well-located for easy walking to the Rossio train(to Sintra, for instance) or the big waterfront square with excellent restaurants. I would not choose anywhere else in Lisbon. Had one other hotel in town and it was same price but not nearly as good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
247 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing