We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel within walking distance to everything”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #48 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel within walking distance to everything”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance to the historic Trolley #28 (which takes you to the castle), the waterfront, and many restaurants. The location is great, and the hotel is comfortable and nice. The hotel offers easy access to the airport; a cab ride from the hotel to the airport is about a 15 minute and 16 - 20 euro ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndraMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    577
    99
    14
    1
See reviews for
287
686
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The main feature of the hotel is its location which is very close to the tourist centre of the city off the Liberty Avenue. One can walk to the city centre and can access train, tour buses, restaurants, shopping very conveniently. The property itself and the rooms are basic but comfortable. Small lifts, narrow passageway and not much of a view from the windows. The spread in the restaurant is also limited but sufficient. The staff is curt and helpful. Not many other facilities but given that the hotel is most likely to be used not for staying in the room, it is not much of an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHVISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by the doorman who immediately helped us with our luggage. The desk personnel were friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. We try to stay in older hotels with character in historic districts and our room for 3 was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included with the room and it was very good with a nice variety of hot and cold food and pastries. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie143Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just a block of the main drag, less then five minutes to the metro, less than ten to the train, this charming hotel is too small to be crowded and too large to be boutique...In other words, it is just about right. Rooms a European (aka small), but we didn't go to Lisbon to stay in our room,. The staff is friendly, thorough, and extremely (refreshingly for this American) polite.
The breakfast buffet is beyond reason in offering and quality. Beware, the wine is cheaper than the water in the bar....The light dinner menu is a hit....tomato soup, best ever.
If we return to Lisbon, no question this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: try for second floor....easy walk beats slow elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel after an easy, stress-free transfer from the airport to Avenida underground station and you can almost see the hotel as you come out into the Avenida de Liberdade. The hotel is very welcoming and traditionally furnished and our room was of an excellent standard. The bedroom was of a good size and the bed was comfortable. There was a flat screen TV provided, a minibar, hairdryer and in the bathroom there was soap, shower gel, shampoo and fresh towels every day.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large choice for the visitor. There was fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, cereals, boiled and scrambled eggs, hot dog-style sausages, bacon, fresh bread etc. They also provided some sweeter options too. Fresh apples were left out for the guests every day in the foyer along with jugs of mint or lemon flavoured water. I did not use the bar but all public areas were very welcoming.

The hotel is in a great position and is a 20 minute walk to the Praca do Comercio, a short walk to Rossio and not far from Rua de Augusta. It is therefore close to all the tourist attraction (apart from Belem of course).

All staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing guests with umbrellas during a short downpour. We had an enjoyable stay, Lisbon is a beautiful city and I cannot wait to return to the city and to the Hotel Lisboa Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfoxpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICKLINGHALL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lisboa Plaza in early June at the start of a touring holiday, it was a very pleasant stay. The location at first glance may not appear attractive but it's closeness and ease of access to Lisbons main wonderful street is superb. The rooms and corridors at first glance look a little old fashioned and tired, however this is soon overcome by the feeling of quiet peaceful comfort. The breakfasts were wonderful, we looked forward to going down every morning. The hotel was very clean, we'll kept, peaceful and quiet. All the staff were top class, a very pleasant wonderful stay. We will return to the Lisboa Plaza when we return to marvellous Lisbon.

Room Tip: Some rooms to the rear may not have good views but are very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITALIOPHILE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We arrived after a long journey and although 2 hours early for check in the staff were fantastic and directed us to the bar while they readied our room, within 10 minutes our room was ready. Huge room on the 4th floor with a lounge, bedroom and beautiful bathroom. The hotel is gorgeous all round and was a joy to stay in. Breakfast choice was amazing, all staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The terrace on the 4th floor was a great place to relax for some late evening sun.

The hotel itself is in a superb location, 15 minutes walk from the main squares and shops, 10 mins from Biarro Alto and a seconds walk from the Avenida metro station.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough or Lisbon in general and will be looking to return at sometime in the not so distant future. Thanks to all the staff at Hotel Lisboa Plaza and the people of Lisbon

Room Tip: Room 410 is huge, beautiful and has the biggest bed I have ever slept in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njwilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
224 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing