We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, rooms and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #47 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, rooms and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Great base from which to explore Lisbon, only five minutes walk from the main areas with trams and the metro handy placed if you want to go further afield. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a terrace where you can enjoy the sun in the heart of the city and it is equipped with an honesty bar. There's something for all tastes on the buffet breakfast - sets you up for the day. Plenty of top quality restaurants in walking distance too.

All of that is enough to score high marks. What makes the hotel stand out is the fantastic customer service you experience from the moment you enter. In our particular case, we had extra experience of how good it was because of an error caused by our travel agents. Due to their error, we were potentially without a room for the fourth night. We tried to resolve it through our agents without success. In the end, the hotel resolved it by getting us a room in a sister hotel at no additional cost to us. It wasn't their problem and they didn't need to sort it out but they did and it saved us considerable extra expense and disruption. Brilliant service.

For all the reasons in my opening paragraph, stay at this hotel. For all the reasons in my second paragraph, enjoy your stay with the assurance you are being looked after by professional staff, to whom great customer service is just part of who they are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilko1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    561
    94
    14
    1
See reviews for
283
658
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff have been amazing and helpful could not do enough to make our stay fantastic lemon or mint water in the foyer which I just loved!rooms not huge but great as so much to see outside! I love you can open the windows! For some fresh air! The housekeeping staff are lovely and very helpful.. And don't get me started on the buffet. Breakfast... Have been to many hotels ..... But this takes the cake and croissant and bacon and fruit and juice and eggs and that and gorgeous coffee and fresh pineapple Nd of course in Lisbon ... Portuguese tarts.... Very very good....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I and our two sons stayed at the Lisboa Plaza recently for 3 nights. The location is excellent. There is a direct bus from the airport (just outside the Arrivals Hall) to Av da Liberdade - you get off right beside Avenida metro station or you can take the metro with just one change, but we preferred the bus. We loved strolling out to the main avenue and down to the beautiful plazas, winding streets, and some excellent restaurants nearby. We enjoyed the heritage aspect of the hotel, so much nicer than the usual bland chain hotels, and it has all the modern conveniences you would expect of a 4 star hotel, including a quiet terrace at the top of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. I particularly appreciated the fresh fruit salad every morning, while my sons tucked into the very tempting Portuguese cakes! We got a very good first impression of Lisboans from the helpful staff. There is a very interesting and good quality restaurant right beside the hotel. Don't be put off by the entrance to it through the carpark - the food is mostly Portuguese and was very good, the waitress was hilarious and helpful. If you are looking for a fine experience, stay at the Lisboa Plaza.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the 4th floor, both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaelgeoir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently visited this hotel and stayed for 3 nights, it is in a good location, it is on the top of a hill but then there are hills everywhere in Lisbon! The room was very nice, a good size and was very comfortable. The only issue I had was with the sink in the room draining too slowly. Staff were helpful and the roof bar was a nice place to have a cocktail or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amour M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Lisbon and stayed at the Lisboa Plaza Hotel. I booked the hotel based on TA comments and was delighted with my choice. Check in was fast and efficient and a porter took our luggage to the room and showed us some of the room facilities. The staff were courteous and friendly at all times. The room was spacious with very comfortable beds. The AC worked very well and we could adjust it as desired. The room had a mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was really bright with lots of lights and lots of mirrors! Toiletries were replenished daily. The only fault that I could find to the room was the lack of tea making and ironing facilities so bring your own kettle and iron. The breakfast was delicious with a great selection of juices, cereals, fruits, breads, cold meats and hot food. There was a good choice of pastries and even a chocolate fountain. Food was constantly being replenished during breakfast. Breakfast was served until 11 am which was a real perk. Hotel location was excellent - just off Av. da Liberdade. It was within walking distance of restaurants, shops and a convenience store. The Avenida metro stop was very close to the hotel and a taxi rank was just around the corner. The Gloria elevator to Barrio Alto and Rossio train station were within walking distance. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandIrisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our staff, our location and many features of our hotel.
You don’t need to bring your own kettle and iron since we have both on demand. We are very sorry if this information was not noticeable. We encourage our guests to ask our staff for anything they need during their stay and we will try to help the best way we can.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisboa and provide you with a most satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I spent six nights in this hotel and overall it was a good experience. The twin room that my friend and I had was very spacious and the bed was great - very comfortable. It definitely is not a "modern" hotel, but that's not really what we were expecting. The furnishings are pretty dated and the air conditioner is an older model (but worked well enough). The bathroom left a lot to be desired as the shower/tub combo was weirdly high and somewhat difficult to get in and out of when wet. The surface was extremely slippery and caused a couple of falls that were fairly painful. (This has never happened before so it seemed noteworthy). We arrived to the hotel around 8 am and thought our room wouldn't be ready to check in until much later that day. The staff was very accommodating and got us a room right away which was a lovely surprise. We booked this hotel through a travel site and didn't learn until we checked in that our rate did not include breakfast. The breakfast buffet was pretty expensive if not included in your package (I believe it was 15 euros) so we chose to eat out at the many cafes nearby. The location of the Lisboa Plaza was really great. The Bairro Alto neighborhood is right up the hill (this city is extremely hilly - have never climbed so many stairs) and we easily walked to the Chiado and Alfama neighborhoods. Both train stations are fairly close (especially Rossio) and the metro is just a short walk. The biggest problem I had with the stay was that one night we returned after a twelve hour day of sightseeing and our room was unlocked and the door slightly ajar. We quickly assessed to make sure that no one was in our room and check to see that our valuables were secure. When I went downstairs to discuss this with the person working the desk he seemed utterly nonplussed and explained that the doors were old and sometimes didn't shut firmly. He did not seem troubled that the maid that had cleaned our room hadn't secured it. We were lucky that nothing was gone but felt the need to instruct the hotel not to service our room for the remainder of the trip since we couldn't be certain this wouldn't happen again. It was unfortunate that this incident- and the response to it- soured me on this hotel because it really was quite lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us,
We are very sorry to note that there were some issues that should not have happened. One of our objectives at Lisboa Plaza is to keep the character of a Portuguese traditional hotel but in an impeccable condition. Everything should be working fine and all our staff is aware that if something is not working well, it should be fixed as soon as possible. We regret that this procedure was not correctly transmitted to you.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity of staying with us and we will be most pleased to provide you with a most satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff is very nice and helpful, and the rooms were nice and modern. It is in a safe area, within walking distance to everything. In the lobby, there is always a pitcher of water with lemon and water with mint, which was always very refreshing upon returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing