We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Lisbon”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #47 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cerritos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location in Lisbon”
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Stayed there 4 nts in Nov. 2008 at the end of a cruise. Great location, as others have said, very close to subway and bus stops on Ave. Liberdade and walkable to "downtown (about 3/4 mile). Very helpful staff, two free internet-equipped computers in lobby, good restaurant, modern lobby. My room was old and somewhat small and the small single beds were hard; however nice bathroom and flat-screen TV with many channels (but very few in English). Hair dryer in desk drawer, so don't look in the bathroom. Able to secure an E90 rate on Orbitz, which was cheaper than their own web site. If I ever return to Lisbon, I would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location, free internet
  • Disliked — Old rooms
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank srk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    583
    99
    15
    1
See reviews for
293
693
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed for a total of 5 nights. The location was great, just OFF the busy (and LOUD) Avenida Liberdade. The hotel is on a quiet, small side street. There is a Metro stop right around the corner, we were able to walk to and from the stop in about 1 or 2 minutes, even with all our luggage. From the hotel, we were able to walk to most of the Lisbon attractions, Baxia Chiado, Alfama and Barrio Alto. The hotel staff was great. They spoke English and were very helpful and their information was very accurate.

  • Liked — Location, Staff
  • Disliked — Small elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank psw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We stayed in this hotel for six nights. It was very nice. Nice breakfast , clean room, quiet at nights , close to public transport.
We found that the bed was bit hard though. I would not hesitate to recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed 3 nights in Sept 2008. It is the best hotel we ever stayed in. We mean that as we travel a lot all over the world for years and we stay in at least 4 stars or above hotels.
Its central location-close to everywhere-restaurants/taxis/nightlife/towncentre/shopping centres/tours.The excellent staff who couldnt do enough for you, great room, welcome drink. Extremely comfy and large room, Quiet location with easy to sleep in beds (we dont sleep easy). Free wireless internet in your room for your own laptop or use the hotel internet room to keep in touch with family and friends. We go to breaky at about 8.30 and there is always a very wide spread of tasty food each day to set us up for the day ahead, there is even white or red wine for wine breakfast, all you can drink, if you want to start your day like that, and the coffee is just right. The decor of the hotel is heritage-look throughout and very charming and the doorman open the front doors to welcome you in on your return. The cleaner is great, room is so nice after she has cleaned up, not a speck of dust. Heaps of powerpoints to charge your etc for the next day.
The internet is great, it even allow me to call home or anywhere-eg make restaurants reservation, on the net ph. attached to my laptop. I hear they even take special care of any special occassions eg wedding anniversaries, honeymoon couples.
I wish all hotels in the world is like this one, then it will be a real joy to travel away from home anytime.
We call this place our second home and we cannot wait to get back here the next time. Try Gambrinus, conventual restaurants. And the best tour people, insidelisbon.com, small group tour, real friendly, knowledgeable driver,flexible route and you are not tired end of the day because you are having such a good time.
Enjoy.

  • Liked — best hotel in the world
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kollandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris727
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We had a very nice stay at this hotel (and scored a bargain with rooms at 100 euros per night on expedia.com). We arrived at the hotel at 9:30 AM after having taken the overnight train from Lisbon. The hotel had our rooms ready by 11 AM and offered us the complimentary breakfast buffet while we waited (the buffet is also free the morning following the stay). The main attractions / squares are very close, however the hotel is on a quiet street which was very welcome at the end of the day and after having stayed in much noisier areas in other european cities. Also, we discovered an amazing seafood place a few blocks from the hotel - Sancho Restaurant. Check it out if you are there.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kris727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Elegant marble and tile interior, nice rooms. Within walking distance (for the energetic) of major Lisbon attractions, and right next to a metro stop. Very nice complementary breakfast buffet. Free wifi internet, though the signal in our room was weak and we ended up often going into the hall for a better connection. Very friendly staff.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

I stayed for five nights with work last week. The hotel is indeed centrally located, just a block away from Avenue da Liberdade. I had a little free time and could easily explore the city from the hotel... it only took me about 20 minutes to walk down to the waterfront and about the same time to reach the castle. One tip: from the waterfront I took a commuter train(10 min or so) to the Belem area which I really recommend!

Other positives about the hotel would be the breakfast buffét and staff. There was a lot to choose from at the buffét and all of it delicious. There was even a easy to use espresso machine. I didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel so I can't comment on that, though I had a drink and snacks in the bar a couple of times and the staff was great and the atmosphere relaxing. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful regarding directions, tips for things to do and help with taxis. There is a gym/spa across the avenue from the hotel(the name escapes me) that was very nice and recommended by the hotel... I had a wonderful massage there. Two computers are available for guests to use free of charge. Housekeeping did a good job and the room always felt and looked clean. You are given the choice of not having your towels washed every day, which is obviously more enviromentally friendly. I wish all hotels did this! Good closet space, safe in the room and strong A/C. Small flatscreen TV with many channels including CNN and a couple of film channels.

The only negative I suppose is that the hotel is not located on the prettiest of side streets... so the view out the window wasn't great but, as I said, it is only a block from the main avenue. My room was right across the hall from housekeeping's elevator. They start quite early in the moring and any noise is easily heard in the room. It wasn't a problem with me since I wasn't sleeping in.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthlm_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
246 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing