We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for sight-seeing in Lisbon”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #47 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My family – wife, 2 small children, and I – stayed at the Lisboa Plaza during Thanksgiving week (Nov.) of 2009.
The hotel – location, for us, is always the key. We need to be in walking distance of most of the major sites, and Lisboa Plaza did not disappoint. It was an easy walk (less than 15 minute walk WITH 2 small kids) to most sites and neighborhoods, and a 5 minute walk to a major train station.
The hotel was clean and simple. The staff was courteous and helpful. The wireless system did need updating – our room had a very hard time staying connected. Our only other “complaint” was the lack of a truly full service rerstaurant – but we knew that before we went there. Breakfast was on the expensive side, but only because they charged for children. Needless to say, we ate breakfast at a nearby hotel daily, as they didn’t charge for our kids. We paid 30 Euro for breakfast for 4 every morning, and the selection there was good…. Please do not think we were unhappy with the hotel – if we went to Lisbon again, we would stay there!
Lisbon – the city was great; it’s one of my favorites in Europe. The people were very accommodating and nice to us – they even put up with my butchering of the Portuguese language. (By the way, I learned first hand that Brazilian Portuguese and actual Portuguese aren’t the same. I got an ipod app translator/dictionary that was a HUGE help…) You can speak English almost everywhere, and they all understand Spanish as well. As with any culture, I think they really appreciated an attempt to communicate in Portuguese.
As a whole, the sights were easily accessible and pleasant to see. The historical district where the explorers set out from was our favorite in Lisbon. The city is walkable, but the various cog trains helped at times. They are worth going on. FYI – we saw two muggings/pickpocketings right on public transportation – one on the tram, one on the train back from Sintra. It was apparent that the thugs were simply preying on the old/clueless. Just keep your wits about you, and I’m sure you’ll be fine.
Please, do take a day and go to Sintra. The castles there were absolutely incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strengthcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is our first time in Portugal. Fall in love with the city right away. Love the location of the hotel. It's in walking distance to oldest part of the city and right at shopping street. There are a lot of restaurants near by. Small cafe, two blocks from the hotel, is charming. We had such a great time there. Thanks....

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We spent three nights at the hotel during the week between Christmas and New Year and it was a fabulous experience. The room is comfortable, bathroom modern and location convenient, but most impressive is the variety of nooks around the hotel, including a 5th-floor outdoor bar. The newly furnished Aqua room was tastefully decorated and we spent the night sipping port and reading books there.
The only downer of the hotel is that the noise insolation is not at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

small but quite comfortable hotel, near the city centre

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank u2injesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The hotel is very confortable, especially for the lounges and the bar on the ground floor. They also offered us a glass of porto when we arrived. Rooms are small, anyway spotless. Breakfst is fantastic, with large choice and good quality. The position is OK, not in the city heart, but at a walkable distance and if you do not like walk, there is a metro station very close. Internet wi-fi connection did not work into the rooms, and it is very weak everywhere. There are two PCs on the ground floor, anyway it was hard to find them available and always had to queue.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I can fully recommend this hotel. It is just a wee gem which makes a holiday in Lisbon just Bliss. The staff are polite friendly and very accomodating. The accomodation is excellent, clean and large in size. It is positioned no more that 30 steps from the metro but a very easy flat walk from the certre of the city. There are a number of small shops near by for bottled water etc but the room comes with an excellent mini bar if the need takes you in a hurry! I was also delighted with how quiet it was at night. The windows have a very efficient triple glazing type arrangement. The hotel has also maintained a taste of Portugal in its decor unlike so many of its bigger international competetors. It is not the cheapest option but I did not begrudge it in the slightest.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileme2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed here for our annual autumn european city break. Usually moderately underwhelmed by the hotels we get in cities but the Lisboa Plaza was genuinely very good. Great room, good overall decor and atmosphere, friendly and unobtrusive staff, fantastic breakfast; and location right in the city centre within walking distance of many of the places to visit. It's so difficult to make you're mind up from all the reviews that floating around but all those that we saw were resoundingly positive - and for once I can confirm that they are true. It's not the cheapest but worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkyccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
955 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £91 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Avenida da Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor with different ambiances and the welcoming feeling. Rooms vary in size (from petite rooms to junior suites) but all of them offering up to date technologies. A rare combination of tradition, charm and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing