We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #48 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

The rooms and bathroom are dated and appears no sound proofing at all. If you are looking for luxury and romance - not the place to go! Though if you just want a clean basic room and are getting one of their special promotion prices then go ahead. I would not say full price room is value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLight10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, Owner at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
We thank all the feedback from our clients that help us to improve our service or to clarify some aspects of our hotel.
The Plaza is not, and doesn’t intend to be a modern or luxury hotel. This hotel is owned and managed by the same Portuguese family since its construction in 1954. We don’t want to loose the character and personality and so we try to keep some memories from the past, as in a private home, but in perfect conditions. As an example of that, all the marble bathrooms have been restored last year.
Concerning the sound proofing system, the building which was designed to be a hotel, is a solid construction of the early fifties and presently all the rooms have double glazing.
Thank you.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    560
    94
    14
    1
See reviews for
282
656
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Hotel very well situated. We booked a superior double which was ideal. Breakfast amazing. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Rooms at the back don't have any buildings directly opposite and are quiet.
Excellent in all respects.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

The hotel was nice and clean. Our room was quite spacious and the staff extremely helpful and nice.
The breakfast buffet was excellent good choice and great taste.
The first night we were a bit cold, but it was our own fault as we didn't see the heater control. However there were spare blankets on the room already.
Location was very good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend in January and was very pleased with the hotel. It is stylish, comfortable and friendly. The breakfast buffet each morning has to be seen to be believed.

Our standard room spring a leak in the bathroom on the first night, and without flinching the hotel staff upgraded us to a suite on the top floor for our remaining 3 nights.

The suite was beautifully furnished, and a decanter of port was put in there for us. The rest of the hotel is equally well finished, although i did notice our standard room had a few rough edges, but nothing to complain about.

The hotel was a 5-10 minute walk to the town center, and has very easy access via cable-car up to the Bairro Alto.

HIghly Reccomended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roman793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Loved this small boutique hotel. A friend booked it for us from the internet and I was a bit apprehensive as we drove towards it but as soon as I saw the entrance and the lobby, I knew this hotel took the time to make this stay an experience. It felt like home away from home and nothing like the usual generic, moderny feel that the big hotels have. Instead there were so many quaint and cozy places to hang out in its lobby and sitting rooms. I wish the elevators were larger but the smallness of it gave an old-world feel that was consistent with the place. The bedrooms were big enough though a little dated, but again, some people would call it quaint. Overall, though, I loved the place and would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WnaTrvelMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

My family – wife, 2 small children, and I – stayed at the Lisboa Plaza during Thanksgiving week (Nov.) of 2009.
The hotel – location, for us, is always the key. We need to be in walking distance of most of the major sites, and Lisboa Plaza did not disappoint. It was an easy walk (less than 15 minute walk WITH 2 small kids) to most sites and neighborhoods, and a 5 minute walk to a major train station.
The hotel was clean and simple. The staff was courteous and helpful. The wireless system did need updating – our room had a very hard time staying connected. Our only other “complaint” was the lack of a truly full service rerstaurant – but we knew that before we went there. Breakfast was on the expensive side, but only because they charged for children. Needless to say, we ate breakfast at a nearby hotel daily, as they didn’t charge for our kids. We paid 30 Euro for breakfast for 4 every morning, and the selection there was good…. Please do not think we were unhappy with the hotel – if we went to Lisbon again, we would stay there!
Lisbon – the city was great; it’s one of my favorites in Europe. The people were very accommodating and nice to us – they even put up with my butchering of the Portuguese language. (By the way, I learned first hand that Brazilian Portuguese and actual Portuguese aren’t the same. I got an ipod app translator/dictionary that was a HUGE help…) You can speak English almost everywhere, and they all understand Spanish as well. As with any culture, I think they really appreciated an attempt to communicate in Portuguese.
As a whole, the sights were easily accessible and pleasant to see. The historical district where the explorers set out from was our favorite in Lisbon. The city is walkable, but the various cog trains helped at times. They are worth going on. FYI – we saw two muggings/pickpocketings right on public transportation – one on the tram, one on the train back from Sintra. It was apparent that the thugs were simply preying on the old/clueless. Just keep your wits about you, and I’m sure you’ll be fine.
Please, do take a day and go to Sintra. The castles there were absolutely incredible.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strengthcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is our first time in Portugal. Fall in love with the city right away. Love the location of the hotel. It's in walking distance to oldest part of the city and right at shopping street. There are a lot of restaurants near by. Small cafe, two blocks from the hotel, is charming. We had such a great time there. Thanks....

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing