We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #73 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great staff, poor room”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Staff very very helpful, credit to hotel, room was clean but dated, bathroom was horrid, lots of dirt and sealant everywhere that was loose or dirty. Food at hotel good but expectantly pricey for portion sizes. Was robbed 100yds from hotel at knifepoint by Lithuanian taxi driver. Hotel very helpful in looking after me. Booked through agent to get reduced rate, would definitely go back but with eyes open.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    1,397
    421
    125
    55
See reviews for
798
1,405
112
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here last summer... loved the pool and rooms. I only wish I knew then (as I know now after living here for three months) how great the location is. Turn right out the door and you can walk straight through to the water, hitting up the best shopping, the elevador, the Carmo Convent Ruins and Praca do Comercio. Oh and there's a Starbucks within walking distance... pretty much the only place you can get coffee to go in the city! (There are several locations.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erinswanson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The hotle is located in Lisbon not far from the airport. We used taxi about 10 ero. The hotle is just near the metro station, and the big mall and stadium. There is a very nice road by the sea 3 min walking distanse from the hotle.

Rooms are fine. Not very big but ok.

Brakefast is very good.

The jim is not that greate. Better to run by the seasore nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amitgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I always stay in 5 star hotel when i travel.

The first room that it was given for us was a bad decorated from 70's and a bathtub with soap marks and faucets with the silver surface scratched away...reception customer service below ''0''. Of course after complaining first to the reception , the manager gave me the opportunity to choose between two rooms ..we chose the junior suite.
Over the room was the roofs garden bar with loud music until 02:30. Glass shower door was out of place with water getting on the bathrooms floor in amount . .. and second day being in the bathroom, part of the locker felt into the room locking me inside.
The location was the only nice ,, never again.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Service was impeccable and our room superb.
The hotel is a 5-10 min walk from a hop on hop off tour bus starting point, and to other points of interest and shops.
The business centre was handy to print out booking advices and boarding passes for other travels

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel, the other visit was 6 years ago. I was away with friends for a 3 night break and we decided to return to the Tivoli Lisboa because we were so impressed the last time. It has been renovated since our last visit but really didn't notice too much difference - o.k. the resception desk moved to another wall of the lobby, as did the bar and oh yeah you go in a different door to the Restaurant for breakfast. Nonetheless I'd return again - the bedroom we had this time was a little cosy, could do with a little more space, but it was fine and most important it was clean. They could possibly do with regrouting the tiles around the bath area as there is considerable discolouration which doesn't look good.

Our check-in was fine and went without a hitch. We were occupying on a B & B basis and the breakfast I have to say was really good. While most european breakfasts are buffet style they tend to be tepid and therefore not particularly edible however here the breakfast I found pretty good. The fruit selection was great and evidently fresh each morning.

We only had one drink in the bar and wasn't impressed at all.

All in all a good hotel - I would request a room not close to the lift as you can hear every movement along the corridor.

This hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance to a very good range of restaurants. Also a few nice bars close by too. Recommendation - don't book directly through the hotel as their rack rates are way over the top.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin6Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights , it has a wonderful location with easy access to everywhere by the underground (Avendia station) the rooms are so clean, toilet and bath were excellent, the hotel offers tea facilities in the room using their coffee machines for free.I just wish if the wifi was available for free or included in the room charge , not to be paid as an excess if used, as you even get charged per device used in the room i.e. if you need to connect your phone and laptop to internet then you pay double. The near by area contain all the luxurious brands like Gucci , L.V, Todds...etc

Room Tip: I don't have a specific recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaCairo_Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 248 in Lisbon
1,309 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,982 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#51 of 248 in Lisbon
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Property: Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 80 years of tradition, personalized service and a privileged location right on Avenida da Liberdade make the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa one of the city's most emblematic luxury hotels and the obvious choice for famous figures from all over the world. It is just a short walk from traditional Portuguese neighbourhoods such as the Bairro Alto and Chiado and close to top international stores including Cartier, Gucci, and Luis Vuitton. A weekend spent at this hotel is a great excuse to enjoy a memorable dining experience in the Cervejaria Liberdade or the Terraço Restaurant, followed by a drink in the Sky Bar with its unparalleled views of the Lisbon skyline. The luxurious gardens and outdoor swimming pool are a perfect oasis and a relaxing retreat from the hubbub of the city. For meetings, conferences and banquets, the hotel has 18 meeting and banqueting rooms, including an independent conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing