We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but you pay for less that you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #72 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My experience was a few months ago. I stay just 2 nights, in a bussiness travel. The location and The services of The hotel were good, but, I expect more for a 5 star hotel. The staff is very helpfull, The room is quiet, but not very well decorated! The space it's enought for a good night, breakfast was Nice, but not incredible! I'd think in money value next time I stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesPontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here for two night in April 2013 in room 535. Complained about the amount of dirt, bodyfat and general lack of cleanliness particularly in the bathroom, but also in the main bedroom area with layers of dust on most areas. First day nothing was done, Second day there had been a cursory wipe of the shower head ( and we all know what you can catch from dirty shower heads that are not sterilized regularly), but there were still layers of body fat on the soap dispenser and marble walls round the bath room and layers of dust on upper surfaces that fell on you like snow if you gave the bathroom door a hard shut. But in fairness to the chamber maids the design of the bath area with a fixed glass panel makes proper cleaning impossible without getting into the bath. room at the back was OK (Apart from the Dust) and over priced coffee machine in the room.
They left €2 bottle of port and 5 tiny custard tarts in the room after the suposed clean to make us keep quiet. Well sorry I don't accept bribes. Photo's and videos ( after the supposed clean will be posted soon as we just got back late last night).
Our opinion they should cut down on the myriad of front of house staff and hire more chambermaids who do their best in very difficult conditions.
One other disappointment considering the lack of general cleanliness in the room we ocupied, No Hand Sanitizing facilities as you entered the Buffet Breakfast Room

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room close to a lift if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is rather past it's prime (it was probably great once). The rooms have obviously been converted and their design leaves much to be desired. Our room was very badly designed, having little storage space. We could only switch on the bathroom light when all the lights were on in the bedroom. It was impossible to reach the bath plug without physically climbing in the bath! We stayed here as part of a big group and had dinner once in the restaurant where the food was very good. Breakfasts were extensive and well presented. The saving grace of this hotel was that the beds were extremely comfortable, however, I am sure there are better 5 star hotels in Lisbon at the same price.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter, as with most hotel though the rooms overlooking the garden seemed...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Reception is lovely and staff were efficient and most helpful on arrival and departure.
Asked to be given a nice room and were told we had been upgraded to a superior room No 250
The room was quiet large with a large bathroom but old fashioned, dark and the decor was shabby and 70's.
Lovely comfortable beds and had all the neccessities iron,ironing board,safe, umbrella,toiletries bathrobes etc and plenty of wardrobe space.
Perhaps they have not redecorated this floor yet as we got off on another floor and it seemed more modern.
No walk in shower and bath area was a little grubby. If there are different standards of rooms as seems to be from other reviews ,customers should be informed and given the choice.
Buffet breakfast was good and lovely hot coffee.
Location of hotel was excellent for first visit to Lisbon, 2 min walk from Metro which you can get directly from Airport for less than €2. 5-10 minute stroll into centre of city and harbour area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is a hotel that is comfortable and so close to the main town and plazas of Lisbon, the ocean channel isn't but 20/30 minutes away from walking. Service is fast and staff very friendly and helpful, our room was on the backside of the hotel over looking another hotels garden and pool but quiet, the only thing that can be heard in this hotel are the flushing of the next rooms and upstairs bathrooms but not to the point one can't disconnect and rest, I definitely would recommend this hotel because its area is perfect for walking and shopping and restaurants...breakfast is fantastic in this hotel!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel have quieter rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMOglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The perfect hotel in perfect place. I lovr Lisbon and The Tivoli is The best choice there. Confort and a very Nice staff. Tivoli is located near the most importante atractions and restaurants and also close the metropolitana of Lisbon

Room Tip: Confort in Lisbon and a very Nice staff. Perfect for families.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked the Tivoli Lisboa instead of it's 4 star sister Tivoli Jardim and was pleased about my choice. The check-in was swift as there was 26 of us, I had emailed the hotel a week in advance so all we had to do was provide our card details and we were in our rooms within 5 minutes. Opted for a Tivoli Room which had a separate living-room area so this was more comfortable instead of lounging on the bed. The room size was double that of the standard and could not ask for more. The amenities in the room were all there, iron, huge wardrobe, big flat screen tv, ipod dock, bath tub along with a walk-in rain shower, free bottled water, wi-fi and fresh fruit. The staff all spoke perfect English and helped out with anything we needed. There is a stigma with some 5 star hotels that they think they're more upmarket than they are but this hotel was spot on in all areas. The only downside to our stay was that the Sky Bar was not open for the evening as it was being renovated, so come May, it will be open hopefully. Location wise, right on the main street if you're into your designer shops, otherwise just a 5 minute walk downtowards the harbour, you'll come across the town centre. Must say thanks to the bar staff who were always talking to us about the Lisbon nightlife and what to do and where to go. If ever I'm in Lisbon again, I know I'll definately be booking

Room Tip: Would suggest a Tivoli Room, if you don't mind paying an upgrade. Free water, fruit & wi-fi
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willis1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 253 in Lisbon
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#36 of 253 in Lisbon
1,343 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 253 in Lisbon
1,108 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £137 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, the Grande Dame of hotels in Lisbon. A true landmark, delivering exceptional hospitality since 1933. Discover Lisbon's best kept secrets with our Experience Teams, shop till you drop in Avenida da Liberdade and Chiado's luxury stores, or simply unwind by the oasis of the hotel's unique swimming pool, amidst the fronds of its semi-tropical garden. Discover the wealth and variety of rooms and views - from Deluxe Rooms to the stunning Presidential Suite, which make each stay an unforgettable experience. Wining and dining are paramount, in the best European tradition - join in the thriving and bustling ambience of the Cervejaria Liberdade or head towards the stately calm and exclusive Terraço rooftop restaurant for more gourmet offerings, to discover the best in contemporary Portuguese cuisine. For unique, seamless meetings and conferences, step across the courtyard to our palatial 19th century Conference and Events Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing