We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good bed, great breakfast on the roof with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #72 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very good hotel, concierge were extremely helpful with great tips for good restaurants and good tips for where to go for Fado. We stayed in a double room on 6th level facing the Avendida and found it to be very quiet, beds were good. Bathrooms however are very poky with a very tight design. We paid $200 Euro for a booking made at the last minute when our other Hotel could not extend our stay because they were full. This was for one night including breakfast which we were happy with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear "Paul H "

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tivoli Lisboa. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed our service and facilities. Rest assured that I will share your comments with our Experience Managers in regards the insightfull tips about restaurants and Fado in lisbon ! this is very important for our team to make even better every day.
I hope to welcome you back at tIvoli Lisboa soon !

Regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,718)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 3,719 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful Hotel with a perfect location- on the main shopping street Avenida da liberdade..You can easily reach the center of the city with a 15-20 min nice walk along the 2 parks located on each side of the avenue. The staff was excellent-especially Goncalo, thanks a lot to him- very helpful and friendly. The rooms are big, clean very comfortable. Although we had little problems with our room and had to change rooms in the middle of the night (hair-drier was not working and we were unable to close the bathroom door properly) , they have resolved the problem so quickly and they made it up by upgrading us to a corner suit which was absolutely perfect. The hotel has a super lounge bar- Sky Bar with a terrific view.. I believe that’s one of the best in town. The lobby is also very large and a nice place to sit for a coffee. The breakfast was very good. The hotel was being renovated partially which means it is going to be better than it already is now. I would love to go to Lisbon again and stay at this hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir , Madam

Thank you for sharing your recente stay experience at Tivoli Lisboa. I am sorry for the inconveniences with the hair dryer and the bathroom door although we have fixed these issues it shoudn't happen in a five star hotel. Please accept my apologies.
At the same time I am very glad that you found the hotel very conveniente located in Lisbon and that you have enjoyed our facilities. Rest assured that your comments have been alreday shared with the entire team.
Looking forward to welcome you back in Lisbon soon!
Kind regards
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We came for a long weekend in April. Visiting Lisbon was a fascinating experience - it's very much a lived-in town, with tourist must-sees - St. George's Castle, Alfama, the Avenida itself, etc., where TIVOLI is located. The hotel has all the 5 Star bells and whistles - pool, panoramic restaurant, big, expansive lobby, smartly uniformed staff. The Superior, 2nd. floor room was very comfortable. But what this hotel has above all is Location, Location, Location. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saddler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear "Sadler01"

We are delighted to know that you found Tivoli Hotel very convenient located and very service oriented. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with the entire team as a positive tool for us to do even better every day .

Thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back soon in Lisboa !

regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Price quality for a 5-star was very good.
Renovated rooms (6th floor), excellent bed
Little streetnoice
Ok breakfast.
Super loungebar with view over the canal/sea
Little remarque : personal downstairs is old and grumpy, personal upstairs is young and friendly. Guess where we stayed most of the time :-)

Room Tip: 608 is a silent suite on the side of the building
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeantje71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sir
Thank you for sharing your recente stay experience at Tivoli Lisboa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us although you found the staff in our Rest Terraço ( upstairs) more friendly when comparing with the staff from our Rest. Brasserie Flo ( downstairs) . This is an important feedback for us and rest assured that I will addresse your comments with the restaurante Team in order to improve on that aspect.

We looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Tivoli .

Regards
Rui de Sousa
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped here as part of our holiday. What a nice hotel.

The lobby is large and well decorated, giving a warm feeling with large settees to fall asleep in. The desk staff are very helpful and all speak better English than I speak Portuguese.

The rooms are of good size with large TV and mini bar etc. Out room had a balcony over looking the main road but no noise at night.

Breakfast was good and plenty of it.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area and park areas.

If I was visiting Lisbon in the future I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wideparting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir, Madam

Thank you for sharing your recente stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Lisbon !

We are very glad that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I've shared your comments with the entire hotel team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Tivoli.

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

back in the mid-sixties, my father had been assigned by AID to Sierra Leone, W. Africa for a two-year tour. on the way over, we stopped in Lisbon for about a week at this gorgeous hotel (didn't have itz roof-top amenities at that time).

i was just 16, and had never had a taste of alcohol of any sort.

as our family sat down to our first sumptious meal, i asked my dad if i could have some grape juice instead of the orange?

and what did the young waiter bring me? a lovely glass of wine!

what a wonderful way to begin the day -- a fine wine and a great laugh!!!

if ever i get the opportunity to visit Lisbon again, guess where i'll be staying?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahillz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear dahillz88,
What a lovely way to remember the Hotel Tivoli Lisboa. Great memories and great moments is what we really endeavour to provide to all our guests. Should you have the opportunity to pass by this lovely city please feel free to contact me directly rui.desousa@tivolihotels.com and I would be please to assit you with your reservation.
Sincerely,
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

In fact, that’s not exactly a 5 stars hotel. This place requires URGENTLY reform, throwing all its old basic furniture away
Gym is poor and small. Just a room with a treadmill and not much more.
Slamming and slamming doors during the morning next our room.
Bar and restaurant services are extremely expensive. payable internet access
The best point is the location and the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samir m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdes, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dera Sir , Madam

I am deeply sorry to read that we failed to positively impress you with our facilities. In fact we have been through a renovation process and just finish the final two floors refurbishment and to refurbish our Fitness center now in a new área total and conveniently equipped.
I sincerely hope you will give us a new opportunity to show you our recente renovated rooms and facilities and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Lisbon soon.

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 253 in Lisbon
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#36 of 253 in Lisbon
1,348 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 253 in Lisbon
1,111 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £138 - £560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, the Grande Dame of hotels in Lisbon. A true landmark, delivering exceptional hospitality since 1933. Discover Lisbon's best kept secrets with our Experience Teams, shop till you drop in Avenida da Liberdade and Chiado's luxury stores, or simply unwind by the oasis of the hotel's unique swimming pool, amidst the fronds of its semi-tropical garden. Discover the wealth and variety of rooms and views - from Deluxe Rooms to the stunning Presidential Suite, which make each stay an unforgettable experience. Wining and dining are paramount, in the best European tradition - join in the thriving and bustling ambience of the Cervejaria Liberdade or head towards the stately calm and exclusive Terraço rooftop restaurant for more gourmet offerings, to discover the best in contemporary Portuguese cuisine. For unique, seamless meetings and conferences, step across the courtyard to our palatial 19th century Conference and Events Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing