We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and a very happy stay - but oddly inconsistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #70 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Perfect location, beautiful public areas, outstanding Sky Bar on the roof, and a lovely clean pool. Our rooms were comfortable and quiet at night.
We could have paid for wifi in the rooms, but the computers in the Business Centre are speedy, free, and available with only a short wait at busy times.
The comments that follow are not about anything that spoilt our stay, but areas in which a five star hotel could improve.
One complaint: we wanted to eat in the Terraço Restaurant because it has the most wonderful views across the city, but there was nothing suitable for vegetarians, although we were offered 'salads'. We can't be the only vegetarians who'd like to eat somewhere special. But we found five specialist vegetarian restaurants in walking distance, most with tables in gardens, and ate very well indeed.
And one observation: service was extremely friendly and professional - but utterly inconsistent. For example, the tea sachets were not replaced and we had to ask for extras. We used the glasses from the minibar which were not replaced until we asked for them. The beds were turned down in one of our rooms three nights out of four, and in the other twice - and only on the last night did we have the breakfast menu delivered. The folder of information in the room said that if we rang Housekeeping we could have a Nespresso coffee maker in our room; after three calls and unfulfilled promises, a visit to reception established that this information was not correct, and we couldn't have one - although 'an exception' would be made, and we had one within half an hour.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tivoli Lisboa.

At Tivoli Hotel Lisboa, thrive to exceed our client’s expectations and please accept our apologies for the uneven service you have expirienced during your stay. The incidents are not a reflection of the quality of service that we endeavour to provide.

Rest assure that measures have been taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future. We will defenitly review our Menu at the Terraço Restaurant for vegetarian dishes.

Kindes Regards
Rui de Sousa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,826 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

We booked this hotel at the last minute after finding out that the apartmenthotel - Freedom Service Apartment - Marques de Pombal, where we were initially booked was not livable. After landing at the hotel we were given a room with a balcony however the room didn't have a king bed. We aksed them if they could give us a room with a king bed. They upgraded us to the Collection room on the top floor. The room was much bigger than the previous room with a very nice king bed and upgraded bathroom. The room was bigger than most European standard rooms and spacious enough for our 1 yr. old to crawl around. The view from our room was stunning. You could see the castle and all the way down to the river.

The hotel had a very nice roof top restaurant. They didn't have free internet in the room but had a 24 hour business center with internet connection. The service through out was excellent. I can go on and on about the service as I have stayed at some really nice hotels and without a doubt this hotel is right up there...Also, if you care they had complimentary shoe shine service. And the location was just perfect on Avenide da Liberdade, quiet yet close to all main attractions. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Next time we visit Liboa, without a doubt this is the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisboa-Ladoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. At Tivoli Lisboa our aim is to exceed our clients expectations and it is always rewarding to get positive feed back form our guests. We will share your motivating comments with the entire team and hope to welcome you again at Tivoli Lisboa.

Kindest regards
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I have to admit to being a little disappointed by our stay at the Tivoli. The slick black and white advertising in the hotel brochure bears a resemblance to reality, but it was not as glamorous as the photos may suggest. Everywhere (even on the embroidered bathrobes) advertises the Banyan Tree Spa which is not even open yet.

Having said that, the hotel is in a great central location, and the whole place is immaculate.

Check In was slow, and didn't give the best first impression.

We arrived at 1pm, to be told that our room was not ready. We went for lunch, came back an hour later and all was well. However, the immediately irritating thing (bearing in mind this is meant to be a "5 star" hotel) is the fact that the check in staff do not give you their attention. In fact, they seem to talk to everyone else, other guests, their colleagues etc, before finally coming around to attending to you. Maybe it was because we did not speak Portuguese, but I spent a couple of minutes on several occasions standing there wondering whether I was being seen to or not. Having said that, the bell boys were excellent with our luggage upon arrival and safe keeping post check out.

The reception lounge is quite dark, but furnished with rather lovely velvet sofas and chairs. Very smart.

Bizarrely, there was no map of the hotel layout anywhere, or directions to the various bars/restaurants or the pool.

Our room was quite adequate- the beds were very comfortable, with good quality bedlinen, and the room had a flat screen tv. The bathroom however, was quite small, and very ordinary. It was immaculately clean (which is, of course, the most important thing), but the bath was tiny, and the handrail was poorly positioned, so that you either knocked yourself against it in the bath, or when turning around in the shower. The shower had a reasonable pressure, and the toiletries were quite nice (but-again-slick advertising on the box " a glimpse of glamour"- ).

The view was over the car park and the other high rise rooms of the hotel.

I didn't eat in the top floor restaurant, but my partner did, and he described the food as (disappointingly) fairly ordinary.

I forgot the correct electricity adaptor, and so I rang reception at 6pm, who said that they could assist me, and would send one up to my room. It arrived about 6 hours later, but only after several further (polite) requests.

The swimming pool area is very pleasant & quite pretty, with a small bar/restaurant and several loungers. The pool was clean, and service in this area was very slick.

What makes this hotel utterly fabulous, however is the Sky Bar. Located on the top floor and through the restaurant is the most amazing open air bar with a fantastic view of Lisbon. Couple that with squashy cushions to sit on (or lounge chairs if preferred), chill out music, and a decent bar, and this place is almost heaven on earth. It would have been heaven if they had found some large beer glasses, because the small ones were very small indeed....(a minor point).

On balance, a good stay, and I would come back. I would definitely return to the Sky Bar!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your last stay at Tivoli Lisboa.

Following your comments after stay at Hotel Tivoli Lisboa we first like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve the quality of our services.

We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences caused we like to assure that we took necessary measures to solve this situations.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Lisbon.

Kindest regards
Rui de Sousa
General Mananger
rui.desousa@tivoliotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We were supposed to be staying at the Tivoli Jardin (sister hotel) but because of a booking error, were sent to this hotel which was not a problem - especially when we learnt it was 5*! However, there was somewhat of an extensive delay in checking in, but presumably this was down to them trying to accomodate us, given that we required 4 rooms preferably next to each other as we were there for a hen party. Eventually it was sorted out, whereby we had 2 adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor and 2 separate rooms on the 2nd floor. One of the second room floors was tiny and because of the old fashioned decor, really not to my taste. On explaining to the hotel we really did not like the room in question, Kathryn (sorry if that is spelt wrong) went out of her way to try and find an alternative room. In the end as we had numerous travel plans for the day, we agreed to move in the morning and were extremely delighted to come back the following day to find we had already been moved into a room on the 7th floor! it was beautiful and the way in which the move was handled was magnificant! Kathryn thank you for all of your help and the professional way you handled the matter...and thank you for helping us order pizza too! We had a great stay and the staff couldnt be faulted - even the maids could not have been more helpful - stopping what they were doing to open our room door becuase our hands were full was a really nice touch and credit to them!

Bit disaapointed that spa wasnt open but in the scheme of things, as our stay was quite busy we didnt really get a chance to miss not having the spa facilities.

we didnt really get a chance to use the pool as it was a bit cold outside and the pool was outdoor.

breakfast was a great spread!

By the way, if anyone from the hotel reads this review, other than passing on our thanks to the staff - can you tell us the make of your pillows please - I have never ever come across pillows that comfortable! (or beds for that matter! lol)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and for the kind words you have shared with everyone.
I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service met your expectations, despite one or two considerations, for which I thank you.

Be assured that I will share your comments with the entire hotel team.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, at Tivoli Lisboa.

Rui de Sousa
General Manager
Hotel Tivoli Lisboa&Tivoli Jardim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a fine hotel - would recommend it to anyone traveling to Lisbon. To enjoy your stay most take time to relax beside the pool and make sure you have booked a Deluxe room on the 7th floor (my apologies if I am wrong on the exact floor). Was hoping to go back again this month however was booked out, Book well in advance as quite popular. Compliments to the reception staff - they are real professionals. Eating on the top floor is prohibitively expensive for any budget - prices there one would expect in a Michelin Star restaurant but as this is not one I would avoid...
The brasserie on the ground floor is great. The oysters were wonderful -
A special note here on wine menus in general in Lisbon - I know it is an obvious thing to state but you will not find any New World wines here anywhere so best inform yourself before hand of local wines.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinbarrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor and sharing your expirience. We will certainly will pass your motivating comments on to our entire team.

We are glad you had a enjoyable stay at Tivoli Lisboa, and sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Lisbon.

Kindest regards
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

thanks so much for the meeting we had in Tivoli Lisboa.
a great service (nice staff, very helpfull and always smiling), a great organisation for meetings and cocktails.
for lunch and dinner..... the chief did something amazing.
even if the weather was not ok, I really enjoyed Tivoli Lisboa and will certainly come back for a personnal trip!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elorenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and also taking the time sharing your comments.

I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service met your expectations, for which I thank you.

We certainly will share this with our entire team, as our guests opinion are of upmost importance to us.

Kindest regards
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

pros -
amenities - free business room with internet
location - nice/posh area, near metro and train for day trips! (sintra and cacais)
near 'restaurant row' - avoid though, for tourists!
rooms - clean and well taken care of
staff - great/friendly helpful
buffet - treat yourself to add'l breakfast buffet at least once
safe area, quality bed, electronic blinds, decent sized bath.

cons - none?
newer/renovated rooms were more expensive - but ask for balcony!
barrio alto bit of a walk

**i think the cabbie charged an extra 5E for a ride from the airport (scam?)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RdSTivoli, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tivoli Lisboa for your last stay and for charing your good expirience. Our aim is to exceed our clients expectations and it is always a pleasure to receive positve feed back from our guests. Be assured we will chare your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back on a fuutre oportunity.
Kindest regards
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,476 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
1,184 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £129 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, the Grande Dame of hotels in Lisbon. A true landmark, delivering exceptional hospitality since 1933. Discover Lisbon's best kept secrets with our Experience Teams, shop till you drop in Avenida da Liberdade and Chiado's luxury stores, or simply unwind by the oasis of the hotel's unique swimming pool, amidst the fronds of its semi-tropical garden. Discover the wealth and variety of rooms and views - from Deluxe Rooms to the stunning Presidential Suite, which make each stay an unforgettable experience. Wining and dining are paramount, in the best European tradition - join in the thriving and bustling ambience of the Cervejaria Liberdade or head towards the stately calm and exclusive Terraço rooftop restaurant for more gourmet offerings, to discover the best in contemporary Portuguese cuisine. For unique, seamless meetings and conferences, step across the courtyard to our palatial 19th century Conference and Events Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing