We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Meninos do Rio

Meninos do Rio
Ranked #3,415 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: follow the link: http://www.lifecooler.com/Portugal/noite/MeninosdoRio
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for a great bar in Lisbon then don't go to this one. We were a little confused when we arrived as to why there were so many people working on "security". Shortly after we got there queues started to form outside and then slowly all of the "children" of Portugal were allowed in to drink. One of the monkeys working in security gave a couple of us a card each but didn't tell us what we needed to do with it. We decided to move on to another bar. However, when the first people in our group left the security chased after them by wrestling one to the ground before kicking him and chasing another through the streets. It turns out that everybody should have been given a card on entering the bar, and all of your drinks billed to it, you then need to settle up at the end of the night. It would have been great if someone had told us this before we paid for all of our drinks rather than take the over physical approach that they did. I have said it before and I'll say it again, don't go there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank York-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    19
    9
    14
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly shocking”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On arrival at this cesspit of a bar it was immediate that this was Lisbon's underage drinking haunt. Eager to push toxic concoctions of liquor rather than a simple beer, the bar staff were ill informed puppets to a large number of 'security' and 'management' types, who despite my lack of Portuguese were clearly running the show aggressively.

Not a nice atmosphere nor a particularly good location. Hit the main drag instead if you want warm friendly bars with laid back people having a good time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JPT_Northern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The worst experience in Lisbon, poor food, ran out of our drink (but offering expensive alternatives) , toilets appalling, no atmosphere, ripped off and aggressive staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely view, great service”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The view is very nice, just in front of the river and between restaurants and bars. If you just want to drink ask for a sofa close to the river. The service was very good, we were attended by the Capitan who gave us excellent service and recommendations. The food is ok, however is worth to go for the view, kind service and nice ambient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Said M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Salad not well washed ...”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The place is OK, however salad was clearly not proper (fish not so fresh, mi wife let half of it) and very slow service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zklgzklgzklg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meninos do Rio also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Meninos do Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing