We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ambiance!”
Review of Restaurant 33

Restaurant 33
Ranked #1,365 of 4,123 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel Concierge and was within two to three blocks from the Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel. It is located on a corner in what was once an old home and full of character and charm.

They do not open for dinner until 8PM and we were their first Guests of the evening. We were waited on by a delightful young man who had imnigrated to Portugal some twenty years prior from New Zealand who was attentive and charming.

Our choice was easy and a favorite of ours, fresh sea bass. We included dinner bread (have to be cautious in Europe as brread will be on the table and if eaten there is an additional charge), bottle of wine and a shared dessert. The bill was 66 Euros, very inexpensive and less than we expected based upon the quality of the service nd food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieL0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    62
    20
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was recommended by our hotel just around the corner and went to have a look in the afternoon. A bit apprehensive as it was closed for lunch so could not have a look at the menu or see inside what looked from the outside a bit drab. However the reception staff at the hotel assured us that it served excellent food so we booked for 8pm. On arrival we tried the front door only to find it was locked and a notice saying use entrance further down.
Surprised to find a candle lit stairway down to a romantic and sheltered garden. The menu was varied and the food excellent as previously intimated. Service was fantastic with the waiter recommending very good wine explaining exactly where the grapes were grown and about the family run estate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank glescaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic garden in the middle of Lisbon”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Charming courtyard and top quality service. Food was very good but the real star is sitting under orange trees and the stars with birds singing all evening!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cleogreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Restaurant 33 offers a simple menu. The sea bass was especially good and the fish soup delicious. The staff were courteous and friendly and the ambiance was comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food. Great service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our hotel concierge recommended Restaurant 33 during our short stay in Lisbon at the end of February.
We had a little difficulty finding it as it is not clearly visible.
However, we received a warm welcome form the head chef who was most attentive and helpful right through our evening.
We learned that the restaurant is in operation since 1978. It has an 'old world' charm of its own.
On the night, we were two of only a small number of guests
My wife started with Spinach Crepe with goats cheese (€4.50) while I had the glorious Cream of Zuccini (€4.50) My wife was so impressed by my reactions, that she decided to try the same dish, a second helping.
My wife followed this with Cheek of pork with potato & sprouts (€15.50) and a Portuguese
white wine, while I had a succulent streak with 3 peppers (€18.50) and a beer..
For dessert my wife had Portuguese custard cream (€4.20) while I had the safe Assorted Ice cream (€5.50).
I would recommend Restaurant 33 for a pleasant evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikell311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 33 also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon District, Central Portugal
 

Been to Restaurant 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing