We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pateo Santo Estevao
Ranked #110 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A warm and friendly welcome awaited at Pateo Santo Estevao Apartments, we were greeted with a map, and given all the information we needed on arrival, and contact numbers should we need to contact any of the team. Details that made all the difference.

The apartment itself had a great view of the city, and was clean and fresh. Located about 10/15minutes from the centre of Lisbon if walking, it was ideally located for the few days that we had to explore - and was easy to find in the centre of Alfama - close to bars, and restaurants, but still peaceful and quiet at night.

Would definitely recommend, especially given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The location is excellent in the heart of Lisbon in Alfama. The place is really cosy and confortable. We were very well received by Maria Alves who helped us with all the information we needed to make the most out of our four days in Lisbon. The studio was a bit dark but it was confortable and had everything we needed and more. I regreted initially not having paid a bit more for an apartment with views but at the end, we spent so little time in the apartment that it didn't really matter. The internal patio creates a very nice atmosphere.

The negative side was that we had may ants in the apartment, especially in the bathroom. We were also very unlucky with some Russian guests staying on the apartment above us that made incredible noise and spent hours and hours after 1am screaming and making noises in the patio making impossible for me and my wife to sleep. Since it was our last night and did not get the chance to meet Maria, I sent her an e-mail and she replied immediately to apologise for this, which we really appreciated. I guess it is difficult to know in advance the type of guests you will receive, but in general it is a very family friendly place and I imagine that we were just unlucky.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The good points:

The location is great - right in the middle of the old town! It was really lovely to leave the apartment every morning and wander through the lanes and streets which were full of local people.

The manager/owner of the apartments is very friendly and it was a pleasure dealing with her.

The bad points:

Unfortunately we discovered ants in the kitchen of our apartment. We didn't even have a lot of food lying around, but still, they were there. I can imagine that this would be a major problem for people, if they plan to cook a lot in the apartment.

We spent 8days in the apartment and in this time, it was only cleaned once ( which means, the rubbish was only taken away once. This was too little, especially considering the fact that we couldn't find a rubbish bin on the property to dispose of our rubbish ourselves.)

Room Tip: If you're a little older, then request that you do not get apartment 2 - here, there is an awkw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonimoTwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just back from a 7 night stay at Apartment 6 and cannot recommend these apartments highly enough. Firstly, Mariza was so friendly and accommodating. She was happy to accomodate an early arrival and upon arriving provided a detailed map of Alfama (more detailed than any map in the guide books we had purchased), explaining where local transport connections were and local restaurants, bars and places of interest. She also arranged a taxi for our early departure which was waiting for us and only cost €15 - well worth it. Then the apartment itself - absolutely stunning views of Alfama and over the Tagus river. Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated with all the facilities you could possibly need, including free wi-fi. Also, a lovely communal patio which was excellent to chill out in the evening before heading out to explore Alfama or Lisbon by night. The apartment is located about 5 minutes walk from the main drag i.e transport connections, but be aware, that Alfama does have some exceptionally steep steps. Although people have mentioned about the safety aspect of Alfama - ignore them. Although locals do hang around the streets, shouting and drinking beers, they are completely non-threatening to tourists - they are not looking to interact. Lots of local stores in the area to stock up on provisions and great bars / restaurants too. To reiterate, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending these apartments at all and look forward to staying there again when I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zenarcade2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here with hubby last Dec and we had a wonderful time here!

Great, attentive service from Mariza, who gave us directions to the place via email. It was still a little tricky trying to locate the place from the Santa Apolonia train station. Go by the roads with the cars if you're going by night - it's safer and you'll probably be able to spot the dog-poo better.

But the apartment is worth the effort. It's a beautifully restored apartment in the heart of Alfama where you open the door to Lisbonites staying there and children playing on the streets. We love the design and the comfort of the rooms. Mariza also provides good quality toiletries that we love. She showed us all the rooms when we left, and when we return to Lisbon, we will certainly stay at the room with the Alfama/Baixa view or the one with the river view.

It's just a short walk to the downtown Baixa area. Our private guide from Lisbon Explorer explained that the Alfama area is relatively safe. The danger comes from young people after they get drunk at about after 10pm, so he recommended us to return before that. In fact, I regret not walking around Alfama area more often due to my cautiousness. Only when we explored the area in the last evening we were there, did I realise there's so much charm to the whole Alfama area. You can find a coffee-place to sit down and eat egg-tarts and just watch the Alfama come to life with its old folks and young children playing around.

Room Tip: when we return to Lisbon, we will certainly stay at the room with the Alfama/Baixa view or the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Highly recommended. This is a gem of a place to stay in Lisbon in the oldest part of the city, the lovely Alfama. We came across this place last minute when searching for a reasonably priced accommodation option for a spontaneous trip to Lisbon, with most of the mid range hotels being either booked or prices in all the other mainstream hotels being pushed a bit too high for our liking given our booking last minute. This place is a winner if you are looking for a clean, centrally located and fully equipped apartment to make your base for exploring the city. There is a cafe on every corner in the neighborhood serving strong espresso and fresh pastries so missing out on a hotel served breakfast is no issue at all. Everything you need is here - it is quiet, in perfect condition, lovely setting and the host (Mariza) was very friendly and accommodating. We got the last available apartment set over two floors with a view from the bedroom - it was perfect. If every city we visit had an accommodation option like this we would be most delighted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivanavesela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The apartment was really clean and nicely decorated. The location was ideal to explore the windy streets of Alfama. Mariza the owner was really friendly and helpful and gave us a great welcome. We would definitely come back and recommend this place to people visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#216 of 247 in Lisbon
60 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hostel Petit Lusa
Hostel Petit Lusa
#62 of 445 in Lisbon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Palacio Vila Flor
Palacio Vila Flor
#45 of 445 in Lisbon
111 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Castle Inn Lisbon
Castle Inn Lisbon
#94 of 445 in Lisbon
17 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
#83 of 238 in Lisbon
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pateo Santo Estevao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pateo Santo Estevao

Property: Pateo Santo Estevao
Address: Largo Santo Estevao no 4, Lisbon 1100-505, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open the door to a new self catering lodging in Lisbon with our studios and apartments for rent placed in the heart of ALFAMA, oldest part of Lisbon. Even if you come for some days for vacations, tourism or stay for few months for business or work our totally furnished and equipped apartments are a pleasant and comfortable option for you. Located from few steps of the main interest and leisure points. Páteo Santo Estevão give all the privacy and comfort to make you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Pateo Santo Estevao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing