We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice interior but lacking service and towels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Ranked #116 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice interior but lacking service and towels!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The interiors of this hotel are up to standard, with a nice lobby and well kept rooms. The rooms are slightly on the small side but the cleanliness and the quality of the bathroom make up for it. The bathroom has an odd design with a door lacking a lock and a blind that is controlled from outside the bathroom... just make sure you trust the person you're sharing the room with to give you some privacy!

The main issue is the service. Firstly there is one main individual (whilst we were there at least) who dealt with taking you to your room and sorting any problems whilst you were in the room etc. So he took us to our room upon check in, explained the standard stuff and whilst explaining a few things for the TV, realised it didn't work and just said there is a TV in the bar you can use rather than offering to fix it and then waited for a tip. We didn't plan on using it so didn't bother chasing it up. The day before checkout all our WiFi passwords stopped working and they sent the same staff member to our room. He arrived stating he'd come to fix the TV, despite telling him it was the WiFi he carried on playing with the TV and left telling us to call reception AGAIN about the WiFi.

This hotel also has a SERIOUS towel problem. They do not have any spare towels and refuse to give any beach towels (first place I've been to in the world that's done this when it's by the coast). Every morning the cleaning staff knock on every door to replace their limited towels and collect yours so they can clean them asap. Even if you have a do not disturb sign up, you will wake up to the sound in the corridor on every other door unless you're a heavy sleeper. Frustrating if you like to sleep in.

Apart from this, the location of the hotel is perfect and they provide a good quality breakfast! The best preprepared scrambled eggs I've had at a hotel breakfast before, along with sausages, bacon, fruit, cakes and sometimes custard tarts... as well as the best hotel coffee I've had!

If they just sorted out their service it would be a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpg08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    584
    206
    44
    24
See reviews for
160
580
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we stood in reception for around an hour whilst the staff tried to locate our booking on the computer. They said they couldn't find it. Then when we started speaking about talking to the manager they managed to find it. At this point they then told us that the hotel was full despite us over hearing the guy checking in next to us being told that he was being upgraded, they then spent another half hour trying to find us another hotel. Then they said we will pay for your taxi to another hotel, but of course didn't tell the taxi driver, so another argument with taxi driver on arrival. The new hotel is in the same chain with a lovely view of the air conditioning unit along with the associated sounds. We have now been promised a paid taxi back to the original hotel and that we will have a room for the rest of the stay. Let's see how that goes shall we.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Av Liberdade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi there,

First of all thank you for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the misshapen that occurred at your checkin. Unfortunately the agency didn't provide all the data for your reservation.

We have spoken to them in order to improve our communication so that these kind of things don't occur to any other of our guests.

All sorted out I know everything has been resolved with fantastic service by our staff. I hope you have a wonderful stay at our hotel.

Once again thank you for your precious feedback.

If you have any other comments please let us know at moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com

Best regards.

Ricardo Vieira
More for you team

moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

a nice hotel close to the centre, close to everything interesting for a visitor. Allocated on the most beautiful and cute avenue of the city, is an ideal base for Lisbon exploration.Some meters away of the metro station, bus station and the terminal of the hop on hop off buses.Avoid the 8th floor which views on a terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SakisSymeonidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We found this hotel via booking.com and decided to stay here 4 nights from Wednesday through Sunday in early June. The total cost, which included breakfast, was 380 euros for a double room. Not bad for a 4-star hotel... or so we thought.

PROS:
- Free wi-fi in the room.
- Plenty of hot and cold foods at the breakfast buffet.
- Nice, modern furnishings and decor throughout the hotel.
- In a nice neighborhood on Av. da Liberdade, filled with fancy stores.
- Within walking distance of Marquess of Pombal Square (Praça do Marquês de Pombal), where there was a large park, Metro station, and the Hop on, Hop Off tour buses.
- Awesome shower with a rainfall shower head.
- The room automatically played elevator music when you walked in and put the key card in the electricity slot.

CONS:
- I couldn't access the hotel wi-fi outside of my room while on the hotel premises.
- The pineapple juice at breakfast was really watery. Some of the apples at breakfast looked pretty bruised and mushy. No maple syrup for the pancakes.
- The hotel restaurant (Duk) sucked. (See my separate review on the restaurant.)
- Front desk people weren't so helpful when we tried to ask for their assistance for booking a surf tour. They told us to just call from our room instead of placing a call for us.
- The elevator music in the room started getting annoying, and we had to manually turn it off each time we entered the room. One night, it suddenly turned on really loudly for no reason at like 4 am and woke us up! :(
- No swimming pool (but I think this might change).
- Not much in terms of nightlife or restaurants going on around the area. We got in really late the first night and couldn't find any place to eat dinner except at Burger King a few blocks away.
- No market or anything that we could find from wandering around the vicinity to buy water or snacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is very elegant and it is located in a great location. Walking distance to many places, metro, and bus stops like aerobus, yellow bus, or hop on and off bus. Remember to use comfortable shoes. Lisbon is very hilly. Many restaurants around the hotel and grocery store near by. The staff is very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The included buffet breakfast is very nice as well. Free wifi. What else can you ask for! We loved this hotel and would definitely stay here when we come back to Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaM922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed for 4 night on May 18th 2014 . Room are very comfy, clean and well decorated. Free WIFI in the room and it work well. Breakfast was really good with a nice selection. The location was great next to a subway station (Marques de Pombal), may restaurant around and right on Av. Libertad. So only a few minutes walks from all the action. Also you have the hop on hop off city tours stop next door. The only thing to improve would be the service at the front desk. Staff not friendly at all and not very helpfull when you ask questions. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo V, Gerente de relações públicas at Turim Av Liberdade Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi there,

We're glad you've enjoyed your holiday with us.

We truly appreciate you've taken the time to give some feedback. Thank you!

The customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities. We'll share the points that you mentioned regarding our front desk with the Hotel staff and management, and will try to improve in the future.

Best regards,

Ricardo Vieira

Any other comments or feedback reach us out on moreforyouteam@turimhoteis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I read some reviews people are whinning about unfriendly staff and small room. As a result of that I decided to stay in executive room. It turns out to be a great experience. Room is well designed. It s modern design combined with perfect lighting and soothing furniture color. Yes it is romantic. One let down is no bath up, which I dont understand. I guess for an executive room is a let down. All in all I am very satisfied. Regarding unfriendly staff, I think it is not entirely true. They are not the friendliest people, but they are certainly not the rudest.I think they are regular / normal. Location is very good. It s close from nice restaurants. I will certainly come back there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Lisboa
HF Fenix Lisboa
#74 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#41 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turim Lisboa Hotel
Turim Lisboa Hotel
#126 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#108 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.0 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Marques Hotel
Turim Marques Hotel
#133 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Av Liberdade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Av Liberdade Hotel

Property: Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 247, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turim Av Liberdade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest hotel in Turim Hotels Group, located in one of the most iconic and renowned avenues in Europe. With the main entrance in Avenida da Liberdade, nr. 247, Turim Av Liberdade Hotel has 166 rooms, with the types - Standard, Superior and Executive. The Hotel also has a restaurant Duk - Pizzeria Steak House and Gin Twist Bar Very soon will be also available Meeting Rooms, Multimedia Auditorium, Spa and Indoor Swimming Pool. Decorated in a sophisticated and modern facilities beyond described, some rooms are also equipped to receive people with wheelchair. Sophisticated environment, ideal to meet with friends or business partners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turim Av Liberdade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing