We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse great for Lilliputian Narcissists!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa
Ranked #11 of 517 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Couple in 60s booked the Penthouse because we wanted extra space and our own washing machine. The website didn't say that all the bedrooms are loft - penthouse on 6th floor. We both 6 feet or more. Lots of expletives deleted!!! The decor and layout is odd - mirrors everywhere so lots of head and leg hitting!! Plus the dryer didn't work and it was the smallest shower I've ever seen. Definitely not enough bathroom for 2 double bedrooms and 1 room with twin beds. Nowhere near enough for 6 people!! Also no dishwasher tabs supplied and no dishwashing liquid. Staff very friendly, especially Michael, but no phone contact from room to office 6 floors down so when power went out on 1st night and we couldn't get the door open to the switches at 2am in the dark it was not possible to go down 6 floors straight out of bed! Good location and not expensive but lots of irritating issues!!

Stayed: November 2012
3  Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booking via website was straightforward, and confirmed straight away (a deposit of about 1/3 the cost was taken from our card at that point). We were in the apartment on the first floor of the annex building at number 172 (the green door) just down the road from the office at number 158. Surprisingly the area was quiet at night (apart from the bins being taken out one morning, and the stairwell amplifying the sound). Check in was easy with the help of the very friendly English speaking young staff, and they stored our luggage until we could get into the apartment at 2pm. The apartment itself was large (two double beds, kitchen, living area, two bathrooms) and well furnished, and seemed to have been newly decorated and was exceptionally clean. The kitchen was fitted out with Ikea utensils and crockery, had a full stove, microwave, coffee maker and fridge: if we'd wanted to we could have eaten here every day: food supplies were easy to find in a nearby small supermarket (praca da Figueira). The main bathroom had a very good bath and shower, soaps and towels were included, whilst the only very small problem that we found was one loose toilet seat in the smaller bathroom (hard to fix for some reason). Someone visited daily to tidy and even left a plate of sweets (candies) just before we left. Overall we were very impressed, particularly with the friendly and helpful staff. There was also free wifi for the apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChileBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there 3 nights in september. All the time we were there, there was a rotten egg smell in the apartement. Although it is very well located, it is not soundproof (you can literally hear everything coming from the others apartements) and not necessarily clean. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouimet_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We, a couple, stayed for three nights in a room with two separate beds on the third floor. The welcoming at the front desk (24h) was excellent, the person advised us on restaurants and was not shy on showing us part of the way there. The the interior of the rooms and corridors is modern and stylish. the room was comfortable and clean, the kitchen had had basic equipment like microwave oven and fridge, stove, dishes and cutlery. The room offered a flat TV and excellent, fast internet over Wifi. We highly recommend this place. The only thing that we realized that on saturday, although we did not leave too late in the morning, our room service never showed up. Not too bad, but could be done to be perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, in 2 different rooms. Decor is fun and quirky, in particular the lighting and colours. The view from the terrace is fantastic. The staff, Michael in particular, was very helpful and friendly. Location is very convenient as well, 2 min walk from Baixa- Chaido metro, which has 2 metro lines. Room amenities include microwave, always useful for heating up leftovers or making a cuppa tea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garonnlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

What a funky very clean apartment, easy to make your way back to when you have been out and about. Staff super friendly and happy to let us leave our luggage there when our flight was changed to late evening. Even arranged a taxi for us, which meant that we handed the taxi driver a voucher instead of money.
Michael especially made our stay wonderful! We used the laundry facilities on level three for two euro per wash and thirty mins dryer. This was a great convenience for us, as we travel light.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 525Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The street the apartment is located is not as busy as nearby streets. We found a couple of restaurants on the same street are locals' hangouts. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Roof top terrace offers a great view. Other guests did the same thing we did, bring a bottle of wine and enjoy the view. Kitchen was well equipped. The free wi-fi was nice. We are glad we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nownow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,663 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
684 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#33 of 255 in Lisbon
950 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 158, Lisbon 1100-580, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 517 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £70 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa are located in the most central quarter of Lisbon, Baixa, between the cosmopolitan Rua Augusta, the most popular pedestrian street of downtown Lisbon and Chiado quarter.Lisbon Short Stay was designed with the objective of creating the feel of an art gallery whilst incorporating the ambience of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Short Stay Apartments Baixa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing